Sony Xperia XZ Premium review: The showstopper

12 May 2017
The Sony Xperia XZ Premium has a gorgeous 4K display. Better yet, a 4K HDR display! The latest Snapdragon 835 chipset is pulling the strings and delivering lightning-fast LTE while the Adreno 540 is firing up millions of pixels in a heartbeat. With or without the mirror finish, this is one of the classiest designs around and waterproof, too.

Sort by:

I am using it now. Enabled the 4k screen resolution all the time. Works pretty well. Perfect for movies.

    • N
    • Nick
    • YTx
    • 08 Apr 2021

    Anonymous, 18 Nov 2020My phone(expira premium xz) was switch off and kept for abo... moreIt was probably discharged when you stored it so the battery might have drained below 0%. You should leave it changing for a few hours, if that doesn't work it means the battery is dead and you need to replace it. Here's a tip to prevent this from happening again: If you're planning to store any gadget with a battery for a long duration (more than a month) you should charge it to around 60% before storing it.

      • T
      • TunasGang
      • 8ZY
      • 18 Mar 2021

      Anonymous, 18 Nov 2020My phone(expira premium xz) was switch off and kept for abo... moreIf your phone doesn't charge, then it might have an issue with the USB C port, I highly suggest to replace it

        • V
        • Vee Jay
        • vaS
        • 28 Nov 2020

        Anonymous, 18 Nov 2020My phone(expira premium xz) was switch off and kept for abo... moreCharge it for a while

          • ?
          • Anonymous
          • Nue
          • 18 Nov 2020

          My phone(expira premium xz) was switch off and kept for about 6 month and refused to come up again even, not showing charging when charging it. What could be the problem? What should I do pls.

            • ?
            • Anonymous
            • r3H
            • 23 Sep 2020

            The Sony xz premium Is a very good phone the camera is so sweet the selfi camera is so clear the best part the phone 4k is super good Sony did a great job

              • I
              • Ismail
              • gFx
              • 01 May 2020

              I having a Sony experia zx premium
              Quite fine this device battery display
              But having lot of error for audio, poor quality, no external speaker works with meeting and conference call, and phone calls, wondering that,, it extern audio work with medias, such like YouTube, whatsup video and audio, some time it not get audio, needed to restart the phone, any one how this problem, and solution

                • L
                • LesterG5000
                • Kuq
                • 02 Dec 2019

                Pas, 29 Jul 2019Any know any ways to improve battery life on this phone? W... moreYou can turn on STAMINA mode in the battery settings. This makes your scrolling not look as smooth and slick but you do get much improved battery life. Hope this helps

                  • ?
                  • Anonymous
                  • sxs
                  • 22 Nov 2019

                  Makk4096, 10 Apr 2018Man what phone do you use now? I also owned Xperia L & ... moreHi dude. Sorry, i know this is a very late reply some time after 19 months later since it's only this time i was able to read your question.

                  I'm currently using a vivo v7 which is my main smartphone for almost two years now. And after almost five years, the xperia l is still with me because i still have some precious documents there.

                  I've been considering upgrading it into an xperia xz1 but i still have to find a solid one in the used market.

                    • P
                    • Pas
                    • IP1
                    • 29 Jul 2019

                    Any know any ways to improve battery life on this phone?
                    Would be appreciated.

                      • P
                      • Pas
                      • IP1
                      • 29 Jul 2019

                      Any know any ways to improve battery life on this phone?
                      Would be appreciated.

                        • J
                        • Jijs
                        • LeP
                        • 08 Feb 2019

                        Using for one month. Initially it took a bit to familiarise. Very nice look and feel. Really fast. Not able to assign calling from a SIM to specific numbers. Also feeding contact by taking business card photo. These functions are available in most of today's midrange phones.
                        I love the phone.. I am a first time user of Sony.

                          • S
                          • Sohail Raza
                          • 0C$
                          • 10 Jan 2019

                          Dears
                          Is sony Experia XZ G8142 supporting 4x4 mimo and Band 8+Band 20 CA?

                            • m
                            • m2k
                            • gWE
                            • 31 Oct 2018

                            Got this phone for a week now for a now decent price. What can I say? It's a great phone. Bezels don't bother me much. This is true sony styling. Battery has surprised me the most with 7
                            -8 sot. Of course, people that own this phone knows it's the fastest phone of 2017!

                              • M
                              • MASTERY
                              • 7Au
                              • 28 Jul 2018

                              Truthandblunt, 23 Jul 2018I have no idea why people even like this shitty brick of a ... moreOnly a blind follower wouldn't be able to comprehend why this phone was at the top when it came to SD 835 devices. The XZ Premium's software is by far one of, if not the most efficient, back that up with best processor at the time, and you get a phone that is unrivaled in speed and performance compared to those with the same specs. I have no idea what you're saying about the looks, this phone has one of the most appealing designs that I've seen.

                                • T
                                • Truthandblunt
                                • KAv
                                • 23 Jul 2018

                                I have no idea why people even like this shitty brick of a phone. No technology aspiration and aesthetics whatsoever. Just increasing the megapixel doesnt make a good camera, you have to work on the software part as well and dont even make me start on the looks of a phone, the only way those edges can be used is for making a good trouser/denim get a ripped look around pockets. God knows when technologically illiterate people will understand this. I still have no idea how can a device from sony be in the top voted smartphones by user.

                                  • ?
                                  • Anonymous
                                  • m6C
                                  • 21 Jun 2018

                                  Hello. I would like to know , if the phone really supports Mirror link. I have read here in the review that it does, but there are many users which say it does not, I want to connect it to my Kenwood car-radio, have anybody the mirror link tried ? Thanks.

                                    • ?
                                    • Anonymous
                                    • CGH
                                    • 14 Jun 2018

                                    I just bought it yesterday and I can't find my way around it ....the camara is always turning on with out me doing anything and the camara and the picture is turned upside down .I need help

                                      Anonymous, 05 Jan 2018Wow, this is probably the most dramatic comment I have ever... moreMan what phone do you use now? I also owned Xperia L & currently running on a 2&half year old M4 Aqua. Average phones at best.
                                      I would like to know what phone are you using right now.

                                        • ?
                                        • Anonymous
                                        • 6jq
                                        • 12 Mar 2018

                                        AnonD-521587, 28 Feb 2018Weird how the xzp didn't sell well when the xzp has been re... moreReviewers often don't get what is needed on a phone.


                                        This one looks positively ancient, gimmicky, with small battery life.

                                        Critics should slam all those, but they often play favorites which is why they are so often wrong. It ddn't sell well because it is not that good of a phone.

                                        There is a reason why the chinese are in vogue. They qctually try. Packed phonnes, modern designs. The Japanese and the Koreans are very conservative to matter anymore...