Huawei P20 Pro review

12 April 2018
Huawei was among the front-runners in the dual-camera race with the P9 and then the Mate 10, so who better to take things to the next level? The Huawei P20 Pro one-ups all current major players and comes with three cameras on its back, each unique in its own right.

Sort by:

  • D
  • AnonD-1042141
  • nMS
  • 16 Jul 2022

Anonymous, 05 Jul 2022You should stop spreading misinformation. The P20 Pro did n... moreIt has OIS, stop spreading misinformation yourself.

    • ?
    • Anonymous
    • pQr
    • 05 Jul 2022

    AnonD-1042141, 22 Jun 2022It has OIS, learn to read and stop spreading misinformationYou should stop spreading misinformation. The P20 Pro did not have OIS according to Huawei. Back then, some journalists just expected that there would be OIS and didn't look at the official specifications. Ifixit only assumed that there is OIS hardware inside. It was speculated that it was disabled by Huawei, if there were really elements of OIS hardware. According to Huawei's official specifications, the main camera did not have OIS.

      • ?
      • Anonymous
      • pQr
      • 04 Jul 2022

      Basti, 14 Jan 2022The main camera has OIS. No, that's wrong. The specs from gsmarena are wrong. Huawei's official specs did NOT mention OIS. It was the company ifixit who just assumed (! ! !) that the hardware contains OIS hardware. See dpreview.com/news/7664960957/ifixit-teardown-reveals-ois-on-all-three-cameras-in-the-huawei-p20-pro

      "In the official Huawei specifications, only the tele-lens with 80mm equivalent focal length is listed as optically stabilized, while the RGB main camera and the the monochrome secondary unit rely on the Kirin chipset's neural processing unit for ensuring sharp images."

      "which makes us wonder if there are plans to activate this hardware via a firmware update at some point in the future."

      Ifixit: "Officially, only the little 8 MP telephoto cam gets hardware OIS"

      So, the P20 Pro main camera does not have OIS. Huawei even never confirmed that there are elements of OIS hardware inside.

        • D
        • AnonD-1042141
        • 0Pf
        • 22 Jun 2022

        Anonymous, 21 Nov 2021The P20 Pro main camera didn't have OIS.It has OIS, learn to read and stop spreading misinformation

          • B
          • Basti
          • 35%
          • 14 Jan 2022

          Anonymous, 21 Nov 2021The P20 Pro main camera didn't have OIS.The main camera has OIS.

            • I
            • Inga
            • 0mL
            • 29 Dec 2021

            My huawei20pro 3.5y and still working perfect even many time felt down..and batter kept half of day if use internet non stop..

              • ?
              • Anonymous
              • gBV
              • 21 Nov 2021

              The P20 Pro main camera didn't have OIS.

                Been using it for over 2yrs and its still as fast as lightning and battery is still at 93% health after all the usage I have give this phone now that is special.
                I am still waiting for the latest android up date which is arriving shortly am told, and then I am going to try and get another year or two out of it.
                Well done Huawei.

                  • H
                  • Hsmrdx
                  • IWS
                  • 23 Aug 2021

                  Sam, 18 Jan 2021My phone continuously freezing.In my opinion there are bett... moreSame problem here

                    • S
                    • Sam
                    • EFT
                    • 18 Jan 2021

                    My phone continuously freezing.In my opinion there are better less expensive phones out there.

                      • L
                      • Lucky
                      • 39x
                      • 25 Jun 2020

                      Great phone upgraded from samsung and its paid off the battery is awesome and charges 45% in half a hour. 128gb more memory to fill.

                        • e
                        • easy projection
                        • tZj
                        • 23 Jun 2020

                        why wgen phone sleep, projection(video) view didnt play?

                          • ?
                          • Anonymous
                          • Nue
                          • 07 May 2020

                          I bought p20pro and its been telling me that all the system has stopped automatically and once its start showing that the phone will not work again how do I do it?

                            • D
                            • Dog
                            • nRI
                            • 10 Feb 2020

                            My wife purchased a p20 pro can we buy the upgraded sim slot for either an extra sim or put in a nm memory card cant find any information about it

                              • Q
                              • Qureshi
                              • MP1
                              • 05 Jan 2020

                              i am i phone user 1st time ever i used p20 pro its amazing battery timing, camera, over all performance i realized its better then i phone x

                                • ?
                                • Anonymous
                                • I@H
                                • 05 Jan 2020

                                my p20 pro camera always blurd

                                  • ?
                                  • Anonymous
                                  • phr
                                  • 28 Jul 2019

                                  Mine🤗, 19 Jul 2019Huawei 20 pro Has an sd card slot???? No

                                    • V
                                    • Viedcht
                                    • xTk
                                    • 26 Jul 2019

                                    jamil, 08 Jul 2019hey if you like spying then p30 otherwise p20 proSpying? 🤔

                                      • M
                                      • Mine🤗
                                      • 0wq
                                      • 19 Jul 2019

                                      Huawei 20 pro
                                      Has an sd card slot????

                                        • j
                                        • jamil
                                        • FT6
                                        • 08 Jul 2019

                                        Mati.D, 19 Apr 2019Hello everybody, I need help deciding between these two ph... morehey if you like spying then p30
                                        otherwise p20 pro