vivo NEX S and NEX A hands-on review

12 June 2018
It's rare to see a concept device go into mass production without losing its coolest feature. The vivo NEX does just that and it even comes in two versions, NEX S and NEX A, so you can have the bleeding edge or the more affordable alternative.

Sort by:

  • haider

hi every body just want you to know that i just moved from samsung note5 to vivo nex a phone ..
what i want you to focus on that the nex a :
1- there is no indicator led
2-not very clear sound from earphone , speaker is great
3-OS system is not stock android , its customized and look like IOS
4-no memory slot
5-a little heavy

if you good with all of that .. then its very nice phone ..
am still use it already one week ,i think i start like it
....

Kiyasuriin, 19 Jun 2018It's not hatred for them. It's hatred for the size. I'm a compac... moreThe only other company aside from Sony I see really love making mini phone is ZTE. Just telling you incase you looking for compact flagship mini phone. Apple and Google too makes mini flagship but rumor from both side this year said they not doing small phone anymore. It just hard to find compact phone nowadays. Most oems moving away from mini and rename it as lite version instead because the bigger screen cant be call mini anymore.

  • SangSuantak

Flagship or wannabe, for me, camera quality will be the decider.

Anonymous, 19 Jun 2018You can't have the same performance in a smaller package by usin... moreAs a 27 years old woman. I can safely say my hands won't get any bigger.(just for the comparasion, When putting gloves, my size is Medium) There are girls that have MUCH MUCH smaller hands than me and grab phablets of Note 8, iPhone 8+, snd so on. So it's not the issue of hand size or whatsoever.
I do agree about the first part. Larger devices have better preformance. But as for phones. Flagship chips are the smallest among chip, even midrange, so that breaks a bit the myth... It's absolutely plausible to make a phone that is 4.7inches and have a flagship specs (because these come on that tiny square thing called SoC) but in the same time limits space for battery, components and so on. Why Sony is the only sane company that makes excellent petite sized company?
That's what annoys me.

Anonymous, 20 Jun 2018Sony compact is the way to goHm. But then again XZ2C doesn't have 3.5mm jack. And I won't sacrifice that bit.

  • Antidumb

Dear GSMARENA

PLEASE! Do the bezel measurement for top, side and buttom bezel.

sincerely your loyal reader.

  • Anonymous

Kiyasuriin, 19 Jun 2018It's not hatred for them. It's hatred for the size. I'm a compac... moreSony compact is the way to go

  • Anonymous

Kiyasuriin, 19 Jun 2018It's not hatred for them. It's hatred for the size. I'm a compac... moreYou can't have the same performance in a smaller package by using the same components. Desktop computers have better performance than gaming laptops, while these have better performance than normal laptops, while these have better performance than ultra portable laptops, while these have better performance than netbooks, and so on.

If you want the current state of top notch performance, but in a smaller device, wait a couple of years until technology evolves and allows for that. But then again, the performance of the bigger devices two years from now will still be better than what a small device will output.
It's either this, or you need to get some bigger hands.

ANIMAL, 18 Jun 2018That's Yours not Theirs. So shut that hate out and ask your 1+ t... moreIt's not hatred for them. It's hatred for the size. I'm a compact user and I am starting to feel I am forced to go bigger. I'm also a flagship lover so if I want to have flagship specs I am forced to carry a mammoth sized phone.

  • ANIMAL

Kiyasuriin, 13 Jun 2018Too frigging LARGE!!!! Make a Nex A Mini with 19.3:9 5.7inches, ... moreThat's Yours not Theirs. So shut that hate out and ask your 1+ to make one for you.

  • Lu

Guys, am I the only to notice that the photos from the sample section are catastrophic?
Otherwise it's a beautiful device (when the screen is off)... but when the screen comes on the icons in the upper corners are really ugly placed and are almost hitting the rounded corners, that needs to be adjusted really. Also, the clock on the lockscreen is sooo 2008...

  • Anonymous

Anonymous, 14 Jun 2018Just another iPhone X copy made "affordable" for the masses. All... moreSONY to start with

  • Anonymous

Notchsux, 15 Jun 2018Left pop-up front camera - Vivo Nex Middle pop-up front camer... moreit'll be in the same place the headphone jack should be

  • Notchsux

Left pop-up front camera - Vivo Nex

Middle pop-up front camera - ??

Right pop-up front camera - ??

So which position Apple will claim as it's next big revolutionary innovation?

  • Anonymous

Anonymous, 15 Jun 2018And you don't then? Not really. I have used and still use more than one phone. I currently even have a Lumia 950XL that I still use every other week. And three Android phones (Pixel XL 2, the S9, and a Huawei P20 lite ), and an iPhone 7 and the iPhone X. I can never settle, I guess. Even so, I have no preference on either of these phones or operating systems whatsoever. And it's hard not to notice how everyone is getting "inspired" (to say the least) by Apple's designs and concepts. Well, except for Windows phones.

  • Anonymous

Anonymous, 15 Jun 2018You just have a biased opinion towards phones and phone manufacturers.Ouch! The truth hurts, doesn't it? :) That's the truth about many iphone owners who, are really trying hard to afford an overpriced phone for the prestige and image of owning one, never mind if they have to default on other monthly obligations/monthly payments. In fairness though, there are truly rich iphone owners, (not just those Hollywood stars and music artists) but they frequently don't bother posting in these Vivo forums unless they are secretly envious a Chinese brand has outclassed their iPhone X by coming up with a beautiful, gorgeous, futuristic looking, truly notch less, bezel-less screen, an underscreen fingerprint scanner, and a huge 4000mAh battery to boot, for so much less than their highway robbery priced iphone.

  • Anonymous

Anonymous, 15 Jun 2018You just have a biased opinion towards phones and phone manufacturers.And you don't then?

  • Anonymous

Anonymous, 15 Jun 2018There's nothing 'attractive' about the crippled iphone user expe... moreYou just have a biased opinion towards phones and phone manufacturers.

  • Anonymous

Anonymous, 14 Jun 2018Just another iPhone X copy made "affordable" for the masses. All... moreThere's nothing 'attractive' about the crippled iphone user experience. No dual SIM, no sd card expansion, no FM radio, no IR blaster, intentional slow down through software updates when the iphone is old, crippled user interface riddled with cluttered icons you can't hide in a drawer, a ridiculously overpriced phone that can't even screen share on smart tv's via wifi direct without buying an outrageously priced accessory (Apple tv), a stupidly expensive phone that doesn't even have a basic dark theme, doesn't allow seemless file transfers from PC to phone and vice-versa via usb or bluetooth and a sluggish phone interface that hides stutters and lag by disabling any attempt to adjust the sluggish animation speeds. The only thing good about the iphone user experience is the bragging rights for owning a $1000 phone, never mind if the phone battery is already worn out requiring multiple times charging in a day, long before the user is able to fully pay for the 2 year monthly amortization and after sending a promissory note to the apartment collector for not being able to pay the monthly rent on time.

I like vivo- very innovative. ;-)