Samsung Galaxy Watch review

10 September 2018
With its new Galaxy Watch, Samsung has combined design cues and durability from its Gear S3 and Gear Sport smartwatches while appealing to an even wider audience by making it available in two sizes and three colors. It's also embodied with new health, fitness and smartwatch capabilities. Is this enough to make it the Samsung’s most appealing smartwatch offering yet?

Sort by:

  • HMysteri

Mike Mo, 12 Jun 2021My Galaxy watch is a year old and won't last 1/2 the d... moreAgree! Samsung 4 [40mm] Watch does not even last a day. Disappointment for such an expensive watch. Thinking of taking it back. :(

  • gigilmoako

galaxy watch esp. active 2 is not worth it... for using just for a few months... try to go for wareanty but they said not covered for warranty as it just totally shut down... in the end theys aid its the mother board is damage... and it will cost you more than half of the price of a brand new one... better not to try any samsung wearables...

  • Lloydee

Mike Mo, 12 Jun 2021My Galaxy watch is a year old and won't last 1/2 the d... moreMine the same spends more time on charge than I wear it. Has to be charged daily.
Utter Rubbish...buying a fitbit today??? Galaxy offered no help at all poor poor customer service. Never again

  • Mike Mo

My Galaxy watch is a year old and won't last 1/2 the day on low power mode. Extremely disappointed.

  • Ry

Anonymous, 31 Jan 2021probably fake watchNo.

  • Anonymous

Anonymous, 27 Sep 2019I just received a 42mm watch for my birthday 2 weeks ago. I... moreprobably fake watch

  • abuSya

Bob S, 08 Aug 2019I don't know how you got 4 days and 5 hours of battery. It ... moreis it 46mm?

Ghassan Eid, 05 Nov 2020I have set the stress and heart beat monitoring on my galax... moreHi,
I got simmilar problem with Galaxy Gear S3 Frontier - a continuos use of the heart monitor burned a square hole in my skin 2-3 mm deep (1mm x 2mm x 3mm) - it was a slow rost so no bleeding. I have noticed it cose of a pinching pain on the wrist. It cured itself after 2 weeks with a little scar remained (just to scare Samsung !!!).

I wrote Samsung a message but nobody answerd. Since I have covered the sensors (lenses) with a permanent ink pen, switch off the heart app, otherwise happy with the watch.

I have just bought Samsung Watch (46) as a Xmass20 gift to myself (sale !) as it has an imbedded SIM - but the very first thing was to switch off a heart app and to cover bottom lenses of the watch with permanent ink and a little round sticker to prevent any burns/pain.

There are many simmilar 'Galaxy' complaints on the net !!!
I did not searched other manufacturers/brands for a simmilar problem - but I thing it is common as the sensing laser technology is the same/simmilar.
Perhaps not everybody is reacting in such a sensitive way - although few is enough.

The puzzling question is why Samsung with all its huge reseach budget did not do anything to fix the problem they are aware off for long time by now.

Is there anyone to experirnce the same with an Apple Watch ?????

I have set the stress and heart beat monitoring on my galaxy watch to automatic to get continuous readings during one day and started feeling the heat after few hours to discover that the back led green light caused me a 2nd-degree burn. I sent several complaints to Samsung via the wearable application but still haven't received any explanations

  • Dania Saadeh

I h have another problem
I just wanna you to confirm it

On Android there was an option to not receive notifications while the mobile is open
. I can't turn it on on my iPhone

Right??

  • Wilcee

marty, 21 Dec 2019It should be noted. And this is a very valid point, which p... morenot correct!

  • Wilcee

Anonymous, 21 Oct 2020Connecting with the phone through bluetooth seems so hard. ... moreNot correct, simple to switch from android phone(not samsung) to iphone, i use mine on both systems, depending on which phone i use, no problem, there is menu " Switch to new phone" just tap it,

  • Anonymous

Connecting with the phone through bluetooth seems so hard. So for better connection we may need to use samsung phone.

  • Dude

A.ism, 31 Mar 2020How many time should i charge the 46mm watch !? If i use i... moreone time, until its charged

  • A.ism

How many time should i charge the 46mm watch !?
If i use it for notifications and as a clock ?!

  • marty

It should be noted. And this is a very valid point, which prompted me to return the Samsung Smartwatch..

Basically, Samsung health has adds! This is how Samsung developed, you purchase a AU$450 watch and the primary app has in add offers!

2nd the wear app, the Samsung connector require all these conditions to be met if you do not allow all 7 the wear will not connect. They are: FULL ACCESS TO: call logs, call history, contacts, SMS, storage, photos, calendar.

Cannot turn off and simply use GPS and toggle music as the above condition of not allowing something as mundane as call logs, the phone stops syncing and access to the wear APK if prohibited..

Rubbish watch!

  • Anonymous

Mohammad, 27 Apr 2019How does the e-sim work??cell phone number is paired and mimics the sms and calls when not connected via Bluetooth.

  • Anonymous

Bob S, 08 Aug 2019I don't know how you got 4 days and 5 hours of battery. It ... morethose were not the same settings. 2 days with the always on display is great, also your other settings add battery drain.

  • Anonymous

JB007, 12 Nov 2019The watch supposed to be waterproof, but somehow my watch s... morewaterproof is not saltwater proof. Swimming in the dead sea or any salt water is not what is certified for waterproof. also you need to rinse it with fresh water after using a pool too. you can't just swim and go, 5 times then problem occurred is penalty for not rinsing.

  • Anonymous

Anonymous, 12 Sep 2018Gsmarena, any word about the stupid eSIM at LTE version ?? ... moreWhen you connect a Samsung phone to the cellular model, it clones your phone number to the watch