Sony Xperia XA2 Plus review

14 September 2018
The Sony Xperia XA2 Plus is seemingly a successor to the XA2 Ultra, bringing about a few subtle but important changes. In fact, the Xperia XA2 Plus might have been called an Ultra had it been released half a year ago. But today, it's merely a Plus in the XA2 lineup - a testament to the change in perception consumers are undergoing.

Sort by:

  • carlloo

HeavenlyShroud, 24 May 2019I hope I could still buy this despite stopping of Sony's ph... moreyou can buy at shopee

  • HeavenlyShroud

I hope I could still buy this despite stopping of Sony's phone production here in the Philippines. :(

  • Anonymous

Anonymous, 20 Sep 2018Exactly, and Sony XA2 Plus makes the Galaxy A8 Star (with S... moreDid you try before comment?
Try both, sony more durable than samsung(mine made in viet)
Is fair expensive better quality

  • Anonymous

Sony Xperia M5's design is way sophisticated and elegant looking than this model. The old models looks better than the new ones. It made me sad :(

  • Cali

Sony XA2 has really nice screen.

  • Anonymous

Does anyone knows the aqua wallpaper in the review if I can get it somewhere?

  • Anonymous

Anonymous, 20 Sep 2018Exactly, and Sony XA2 Plus makes the Galaxy A8 Star (with S... moresony's mobile division is dying so the need more revenue

  • Anonymous

I don't understand why did they have to make it so ugly after they've finally returned to their distinguishable design with XZ2.

  • Anonymous

Anonymous, 18 Sep 2018XA series should be compared with the A series, which are c... moreExactly, and Sony XA2 Plus makes the Galaxy A8 Star (with SD660) look like a value for money champion.

Sony is competing with LG to see who can offer the most outdated junky hardware at exorbitant prices. Check out the LG Q Stylus+ with MT6750S chipset for $370

I am impressed with the battery life, dissapointed with the photo samples.

Shanti Dope, 17 Sep 2018So because of a mid ranger, Sony now cannot compete?? In o... moreLG's K series phones are the worst of the three actually. ;)
More expensive than Samsung's J series and Sony's, very underpowered specs, and little to no freebies on the box. (At least some flagship features like a decent DAC is there, but meh)

  • Anonymous

xformer, 18 Sep 2018despite having a smaller screen than the Sony Xperia XA2 Ul... moreXA2U is plastic, XA2+ is metal body.
Screens with different brightness.
Environmental temperature can change battery endurance..

Shanti Dope, 18 Sep 2018If you're after the highest screen-to-body ratio, then you ... moreI agree. Even though my XPERIA SP died 2 months ago, my current oldest high-end flagship XPERIA Z1 is still working perfectly fine. There's a reason why I'm fond of collecting their smartphones

  • JJ

Fabulous screen on thus mid ranger SONY.

  • Eh

I have XA1 plus and it got update recently, battery is amazing, I noticed when the battery is charging in qnovo mode it lasts twice than normal charge ;) I also use Poweramp music player, it has experimental hi res audio mode, similiar to sony flagship hi res, XA1 plus is midrange and states that it has Smart Amplifier, and oh my good, this device blends so good with poweramp music is so clear and loud.. I think its almost the same as sony hi res feature but I like sony studio audio effect on its original player, but the bass is not my taste vs poweramp bass eq :)

  • Leo

Was waiting for this review : D thanks , nice device

If i can't get a F1, I might go for this one , hard to beat a 845 and 128gb at a lower price.. xiaomi is nuts haha

  • Anonymous

Shanti Dope, 17 Sep 2018So because of a mid ranger, Sony now cannot compete?? In o... moreXA series should be compared with the A series, which are competent phones.
The equivalent of Samsung J series in Sony is the L series, of which the less said the better.

  • Dan

$470 for a Snapdragon 630 phone, you'd think they can at least offer an OLED screen. Unbelievable.

It's not the successor to xa2 ultra, but the xa1 plus from last year.

  • Anonymous

Kriegsherr, 18 Sep 2018Have you ever heard the word "reliability"?Yeah right...