Sony Xperia XA2 Plus review

14 September 2018
The Sony Xperia XA2 Plus is seemingly a successor to the XA2 Ultra, bringing about a few subtle but important changes. In fact, the Xperia XA2 Plus might have been called an Ultra had it been released half a year ago. But today, it's merely a Plus in the XA2 lineup - a testament to the change in perception consumers are undergoing.

Sort by:

Anonymous, 18 Sep 2018In Sony's case here, again and again they just fail at the ... moreHave you ever heard the word "reliability"?

  • Anonymous

Anonymous, 17 Sep 2018DREAM ON. The period when we gave up floppy disks for CDs i... moreThat is a ridiculous comparison. CD is an actual advancement in technology since CDs can store so much more than floppy disks. One the other hand, OEMs are just claiming we will get superior audio on USB-C compared to 3.5mm headphone jack. I am still waiting for the superior audio.

Even if their claim was true, most people listen to mp3. Therefore, the audio superiority of USB-C is null. There is no reason at all to remove 3.5mm jack. Also, it is very cheap to add it.

  • Anonymous

"reason to phone home about" :)
That is a good one gsmarena. I appreciate that you add subtle jokes to your articles.

despite having a smaller screen than the Sony Xperia XA2 Ultra (99.2 cm2 on Sony Xperia XA2 Ultra vs 92.9 cm2 on Sony Xperia XA2 Plus) but same specs and battery capacity, the XA2 Plus' battery life is quite low. how did it come? And look everyone, both models have 6" diagonal but the 18:9 ratio is 6.3 cm2 smaller than the 16:19 ratio. basically the 6" diagonal with 18:9 ratio is as wide as a traditional 16:9 ratio 5.5" display.

  • Anonymous

michaemia, 17 Sep 2018I do not mind the 3.5 mm jack being removed. Instead lets e... morelol, in the past many phones comes without 3.5mm jack, so users need to plug their earphones (comes in the bundle) which need to be plugged to the charging port, this annoyed the users, thats why manufacturer put 3.5mm jack to the phone. Now removing them is just making us back again to that era, and you call this advancement? Removing 3.5mm jack is a way to cut down manufacturing cost to improve profit margin also clever way to force consumers to buy their accessories like dongle or their expensive bluetooth devices, deeper digging to consumers' pocket.

JJ, 18 Sep 2018Nice screen ratio SONY, keep it up and you will rise to tops. If you're after the highest screen-to-body ratio, then you should just buy a display for yourself.
The only nice thing about Sony is that their products are built to last the longest. I'm so sorry that our Xperia Z is still in perfect condition, while your Galaxy S4 is pretty much f*ck*d up.

  • Anonymous

In Sony's case here, again and again they just fail at the simplest of things; e.g the battery capacity for starters. The moment they underspec a single aspect and yet manage to make it overpriced against the competition (regardless of the brand's cachet), they shot themselves in the foot period. This is why we keep reading about them considering to exit the mobile biz altogether.

  • Cali

Should be four stars GSM.

  • JJ

Shanti Dope, 17 Sep 2018So because of a mid ranger, Sony now cannot compete?? In o... moreNice screen ratio SONY, keep it up and you will rise to tops.

Tonberry, 17 Sep 2018I'm all for technological advances, but for now there are t... moreSony has a solution to the wireless audio quality problem, at least, with the LDAC codec. The XA2 Plus supports hi-res audio with headphones that also support the LDAC codec (such as Sony's own hi-res headphones). It's a market push more than anything, but the option is there.

  • Anonymous

9.6mm thickness and only 3580mah?? my honor 8 pro has 4000mah in 7mm thickness!!

Anonymous, 17 Sep 2018It has been obvious for a while that Sony, HTC, and possibl... moreSo because of a mid ranger, Sony now cannot compete??
In other case, Samsung also cannot compete since their J series is even worse.

  • Omega

Anonymous, 17 Sep 2018I don't get how so many people like the massively tall scre... moreIt's preference I think, my reason would be that when watching videos its more visible to make this out, certain gestures in mobile games becomes easier to execute, that's about it.

  • Anonymous

It has been obvious for a while that Sony, HTC, and possibly LG cannot compete in the Smartphone market, although Sony and LG may continue to operate as component suppliers.

  • AK

BrendonF, 17 Sep 2018Hey Mike, the differences you mentioned are very minute dif... moreAlot of generalized comments and opinion..which specific phones from xiaomi and Samsung have you used comparatively?

michaemia, 17 Sep 2018I do not mind the 3.5 mm jack being removed. Instead lets e... moreTechnological advancement? Is there any successor to it? Nope. CD is the successor of floppy disk, that's what I call an advancement. This? More like technological regression...

  • Anonymous

michaemia, 17 Sep 2018I do not mind the 3.5 mm jack being removed. Instead lets e... moreDREAM ON. The period when we gave up floppy disks for CDs is TOTALLY DIFFERENT to headphone jack removal. It is because CDs were MEANT TO BE a SUCCESSOR to floppy which almost all of us ACCEPT.

  • Anonymous

Seriously why can the XA2 Plus have a better fingerprint position than XZ2?

Sony you better implement new in glass fingerprint scanner in your flagships next year if you want to survive in the market

  • Tonberry

michaemia, 17 Sep 2018I do not mind the 3.5 mm jack being removed. Instead lets e... moreI'm all for technological advances, but for now there are two alternatives to a jack:

1. USB to jack adapter

2 Wireless headphones

Neither of them is actually better than a jack. An adapter is an annoyance, since you need to remember to bring it with you, and it doesn't give any advantages when compared to a jack. Wireless headphones have some advantages (lack of cables), but also require charging, and the sound quality isn't as good as when using a jack, since the sound data has to be compressed.

xXENDER FREAKXx, 17 Sep 2018If you're thinking Sony fanboys as a whole, you're wrong, b... moreI do not mind the 3.5 mm jack being removed. Instead lets embrace technological advancement just like when we gave up on the floppy disks for CDs then for flash disks!