Android 10 Q beta review

22 May 2019


Sort by:

  • Dometalican

Nick, 23 May 2019Still looks like garbage. Google will never make the quality jum... moreSearch up:

/e/ OS

and there's your answer. It's Android without Google and essences of F-Droid and Lineage. That could very well be a good OS for ya. Heck, Huawei may have to jump to it.

LG Superfan, 23 May 2019I switched recent and back positions by mistake it should be bot... moreStill, sounds like it would have a learning curve

TheGoldenMellifluous, 24 May 2019Will Xperia 2 be the first phone to be shipped with Android 10 Q... moreIf it's released in IFA, then yes

Kajzi, 24 May 2019Someone has to ask the question, I'll do it: Who the f@ck wants ... moreFully agree. As I said already, gesture navigation is horrible. It's very counter-intuitive, has zero discoverability and thus violates the "10 principles of good design".

The only reason you find this gestures crap pretty much everywhere now is that crApple decided to force it onto people, if they like it or not. It's the same with that awful fat, huge notch, you could suddenly fin it everywhere. Just there, after massive complaints, it disappeared again, to be replaced by the tiny waterdrop notch, and now eventually no notch anymore due to popup camera.
I would be surprised however if Apple didn't boneheadedly insist to stick with that awful fat huge notch, they never care about what people want and always ignore any complaints, e.g. about the notch, or about the removal of the headphone jack, or whatever else.

Someone has to ask the question, I'll do it: Who the f@ck wants gesture navigation? Why would anyone want it over navigation bar? Why does anyone think that people want that?

  • Jfhjikhgffghj

Yawn...

  • Anonymous

I don't care about design and features. Just make it blazing fast and give us regular updates.

  • Anonymous

TheGoldenMellifluous, 24 May 2019Will Xperia 2 be the first phone to be shipped with Android 10 Q... moreWho cares? No matter what version of android, it will still sucks lol.

Will Xperia 2 be the first phone to be shipped with Android 10 Q out of the box before Pixel series (just like XZ3 with Android 9 Pie and XZ1 with Android 8.0 Oreo)?

  • googlepixeluser

im loving it. thanks google.
programmer here.

  • Zero

joe nodden, 23 May 2019Too bad I'm never getting this officially on my LG V30. Because ... moreLiterally ending on the same ship as Huawei?

This "Smart Reply" is a horrible idea and just a poor excuse by Google to read all your notifications, to get rid of the last shred of privacy you still have, and which it hates so much.
So you're using Signal for its privacy features? Not private anymore, since Google will still be reading all of your messages by means of the notifications. Really hope you can turn that crap off.

Gestures, as a whole, are just plain awful, and no sane person would ever want to use then. They're extremely counter-intuitive, and have no discoverability whatsoever. Simply put, a gross violation of the "10 principles of good design". Then again, when has Google ever had good design? XD Apple however really went down the drain there, too, with that disgusting notch, and also those awful gestures.

Having more space with gestures due to no navbar is a stupid argument. On my Mate 20, I can put a hide button on my navbar to hide it when I don't need it, so it doesn't take up space, and I don't have to put up with those awful gestures. Perfect solution!

The only good thing here is a dark theme, which was long overdue. I think Google deliberately waited until now to add it, so they have at least one thing that would have people want it - because the rest is either garbage, useless or horrible (Smart Reply).

What's still sorely lacking is a feature that enables you to remove all of that Google garbage bloat that's entirely unwanted (Google Mail, Maps etc.), because there are much better alternatives (e.g. maps.me based on Openstreetmap), which additionally don't rape your privacy in the ass.
I have great hope in Huawei there, to bring an Android version without Google garbage bloat. They already have this in China and just need to bring it to the West (hopefully!). It's fully compatible, you can install apps from the Huawei store or other app stores, or you can simply download the apk from apkmirror etc. - no problem whatsoever.

  • Anonymous

Windows mobile and blackberry os ended in 10 version. Due to google ban to huawei and the possibility of the birth of new os from Chinese or Asian company, android might be end at 10 too

Alex, 23 May 2019Oneplus made the gesture for the first time...not the IphoneNo Palm did.

Too bad I'm never getting this officially on my LG V30. Because LG just loves having terrible update support. Why can't they be more like OnePlus or Essential or Google or Nokia or literally anyone who isn't careless when it comes to updates?

Anonymous, 23 May 2019I used samsung's one ui gestures and I found that swiping from t... moreI know swipping from right or left edge is easier but it will cause problem with side menu and if you are left handed swipping from right would need some getting used to so I decided this

Walter C. Dornez, 23 May 2019Parts of that sound like the Samsung one, the others seem a bit ... moreI switched recent and back positions by mistake it should be bottom left for back and bottom right for recent and split screen can be swipe up and hold from bottom right and screen pinning is rarely used so imo its fine

  • Andy

tested on One plus 6t - Clash of clans wouldn't work so had to remove

  • Anonymous

i am so excited, love it

i tried it on my xperia xz3 couple days ago, it has nice features but it's not recommended for daily use as it has some bugs... just i was curious to test it... until the official release, i think it will be much better than the Pie