Sony Xperia 1 review

08 June 2019
Sony has completely revamped its Xperia series yet again, and this year the common denominator is the cinematic screen. Every new Xperia smartphone gets a 21:9 panel for the most immersive viewing experience, but the Xperia 1 is special. It is the Xperia Premium reborn, with a large 6.5" OLED 4K HDR display and today we'll get to know it better.

Sort by:

  • Anonymous

Denis Thomas, 30 Jun 2019He complained about battery life with a couple of screenshots wi... moreNo. Do you ever fully read and comprehend what you are replying to? You literally misquoted almost all of mine and the other persons comments every time you reply.

Read it again. They were not complaining about battery life. They were in fact bragging. Saying they didn't understand why they were claiming not that good of screen time because there's was good. And posted screen shots to show they were getting what they think is better results.
Though they didn't really show much to prove it was bad or amazing.

You just needed another excuse advertise how amazing you think the device is...

Anonymous, 29 Jun 2019What on Earth does that have to do with their post at all?He complained about battery life with a couple of screenshots with 3 hours of Netflix watch time.
In case you missed it.. because you know.., he posted screenshots and everything..?

Do I really need to explain the most of basic things to you??

  • Anonymous

Denis Thomas, 29 Jun 2019Maybe because you watch videos in 4k for 3 hours? I don't know... moreWhat on Earth does that have to do with their post at all?

Sensination, 27 Jun 2019I have no idea how are they getting such bad SoT. Here are my re... moreMaybe because you watch videos in 4k for 3 hours?
I don't know, doesn't that sound like it needs some processing power?

Sensination, 27 Jun 2019I have no idea how are they getting such bad SoT. Here are my re... moreDoes look great on me considering you are mainly on Wifi and don't do any 3D gaming.

  • Anonymous

Sensination, 27 Jun 2019I have no idea how are they getting such bad SoT. Here are my re... moreAnd where do your results differ so much? Aside from being lower because yours is normal usage versus their straight run specific use?

  • Sensination

I have no idea how are they getting such bad SoT. Here are my results from couple of days ago:

https://imgur.com/a/XpzXBWZ

  • Viedcht

That sure is one long phone. Looks odd in the hand, not huge but long.

The rating of 4.2 is a bit disapointing after reading the review actually.

Anonymous, 25 Jun 2019Oh. So you tried taking some high horse when you actually we're ... moreAgain, I don't choose either side, be it Sony fans, Samsung fans, etc.

This whole arguing is pointless, because everyone will stick to their opinion.

However I admit that it was a little rude from my side, therefore I apologize for that.

Peace.

  • Anonymous

BliTTzZ, 25 Jun 2019It's even more funny that you think I'm defending one side or an... moreOh. So you tried taking some high horse when you actually we're acting out of bias. So you were on the wrong either way. Typical

Anonymous, 25 Jun 2019Oh but you would never correct anyone or defend facts on any mat... moreIt's even more funny that you think I'm defending one side or another.

People choose and buy what they like and don't bother to flame on forums for the sake of arguing.

So you in my eyes like many others is just trolling and flaming here. Good day, sir.

  • Anonymous

BliTTzZ, 24 Jun 2019Wow, it's really funny to see all this arguing. All of you guys... moreOh but you would never correct anyone or defend facts on any matter yourself? Hypocritical.
And only one is arguing. The others are just calling out and proving wrong. It's funny actually

BliTTzZ, 24 Jun 2019Wow, it's really funny to see all this arguing. All of you guys... moreI'm done with them. Sony posts have trolls all over the place since years ago.
This is exactly what I said but apparently Sony bad Samsung good.
It's sad if you think about it. Arguing about phones.. I won't do it again.

Wow, it's really funny to see all this arguing.
All of you guys should just stop and buy whatever phone you think best suits you.
Like a kindergarten, really...

  • Anonymous

Anonymous, 24 Jun 2019HDR should retain texture and detail, Samsung S10 HDR tend to ma... moreFalse. Samsung just did much better in HDR and Sony just sharpened more.

[deleted post]While the Xperia 1 videography is undeniably great, the skills up to the beholder. And dont forget there are still cons on Cinema Pro app as per gsma mentioned. Eitherway credit to Sony as at least there are various improvement from their previous phone.

Check out this Cinematic Video taken using Huawei Mate 20 - https://youtu.be/M9rhRhgOThk

VectorR, 24 Jun 2019I'm an experienced Android user who like to make great effortles... moreThen you are not experienced.
You still don't get it do you son? You are talking about the app, not the camera itself. Any flagship can take awesome footage if you go for it.
Stop trolling enough is enough.

  • Anonymous

[deleted post]HDR should retain texture and detail, Samsung S10 HDR tend to make it flat means find no shadow no hightlight. A HDR should have some tolerance shadow and highlight WITH texture and detail retained!
Samsung take softer image because it has more software algorithm to smear out the texture and detail, it is no way a DSLR will do like this. Furthermore when it is preview in Whatsapp the compressed image from a smeared image will even lost more detail if you zoom in to watch it.
While the Xperia 1 isn't over sharpening the image but with more detail and texture are retained!

  • Anonymous

[deleted post]You're troll. And I never said it was bad. You keep twisting everyone's word to suite whatever claim you want to make.
And you are again avoiding the fact that the link you provided in fact proves my words correct and yours incorrect.