Sony Xperia 1 review

08 June 2019
Sony has completely revamped its Xperia series yet again, and this year the common denominator is the cinematic screen. Every new Xperia smartphone gets a 21:9 panel for the most immersive viewing experience, but the Xperia 1 is special. It is the Xperia Premium reborn, with a large 6.5" OLED 4K HDR display and today we'll get to know it better.

Sort by:

Is it you Pro, 20 Jul 2019AI camera always oversaturated especially capture people. I can confirm its not. Both on Mate 20 and P30. The only scene its oversaturate images using Master AI is 'food'. Eitherway u can always turn off Master AI just less than a second, so the food looks natural.

Shui8, 15 Jul 2019Mate 20 & P30 does not produce oversaturate photos. S10+ is.AI camera always oversaturated especially capture people.

  • Zibby

Anonymous, 17 Jul 2019I have the note 9 is it worth upgrading to the xperia 1 or am I ... moreNote 9 is one of the best smartphones. Xperia 1 has no chance in front of the Note 9.
Peace !!

  • Anonymous

I have the note 9 is it worth upgrading to the xperia 1 or am I best just sticking to the note 9?

Is it you Pro, 14 Jul 2019Natural or not natural photo is personal preference just like so... moreMate 20 & P30 does not produce oversaturate photos. S10+ is.

Shui8, 14 Jul 2019What did i said before? Of course its shaky, P30 Pro the only ph... moreNatural or not natural photo is personal preference just like some people heavy makeup with loose powder but some with light makeup looks more pure fresh clarity and refined, more powder used the sense is different, the extra loose powder would be "oversaturated".

Anonymous, 13 Jul 2019Or there is some software issue which switching between lenses w... moreIts normal for a camera smartphone. When there is not enough lights to be captured, it'll switch to main lens digital zoom automatically as it has faster f1.6.

Is it you Pro, 13 Jul 2019I can't find out the video I've seen before on YouTube but I fin... moreWhat did i said before? Of course its shaky, P30 Pro the only phone that can zoom up to 50x, learn some physics. If Xperia 1 can zoom up to 50x, it will shaky as well, but at the moment it doesnt has that capabilities.

Zoom to 5x optical, it doesnt has that super shaky as got OIS. And about the natural or not natural photos, depends on preference. And i wont discuss further about it, after remembering back your bad taste satay photo lol.

Shui8, 12 Jul 2019With or without gimbal, P30 pro zooming capabilties still superi... moreI can't find out the video I've seen before on YouTube but I find the another one refer to source: https://youtu.be/9or-Uk6Y9xk
It show the Huawei P30 Pro videography zoom in is a bit shaky (I know the owner already try their best to stable the device) therefore just don't overrated it.

How about the mouthful AI Camera from Huawei, it is similar as the Superior Automode since Xperia Z1 (5~6 years ago), but I prefer Sony natural (true to real life) color over the Huawei's AI camera because AI camera hit the ends of super oversaturated (not real at all). If I want something like that I will edit myself but I definitely won't do that because it is not real as life.

  • Anonymous

Anonymous, 11 Jul 2019We have serious problem guys with our Xperia1... According to... moreOr there is some software issue which switching between lenses when the telephoto lense is chosen.

Now I noticed that some of the photos taken with telephoto are with f/2.4 and some others are with f/1.6.

It looks like failure of camera software and sometimes it uses 2x lense magnification from telephoto and sometimes switching to 2x digital zoom of f/1.6 wide lense while being in telephoto camera settings.

Is it you Pro, 12 Jul 2019Anyway without a gimbal the Huawei's super zoom in would be a bi... moreWith or without gimbal, P30 pro zooming capabilties still superior than just 2x optical on Xperia 1, u cant deny that.

All that mouthful stuff u mention is just gimmicky, end result of it is just meh. I do agree about Eye AF though, Sony ahead for that. Three camera composition? U mean finally rite? Others has done it way before already. Wasnt u overprotective about Sony using single camera lens before? (Triple camera P30 Pro more superior, heck even older Mate 20, S10+) P30, Mate 20 & S10+ has superior stabilized 1080p video as well, mind you (Xperia 1 better in low lights). That video link u share is way too repetitive already.

Enough with the diversion, my opinion to that guy just about zooming, and P30 Pro superior than Xperia 1 on that regards, its a fact.

Shui8, 12 Jul 2019Its superior in terms of zooming capabilities. Clear 5x optical ... moreAnyway without a gimbal the Huawei's super zoom in would be a big flop.

Xperia 1 has upper hand on capture people and life capture because it has Predictive Capture, Camera smart launch and now with the Eye autofocus auto-exposure features with burst shoots and 3 type camera sensors for better photography composition, moreover the cameras works great with videography as well! For sure the 1080p videography is top notch even without a gimbal, let's no forget when we pause the video each frame stay sharp and clear, refer to source: https://youtu.be/SOeu3mPhU3I

Is it you Pro, 12 Jul 2019Periscope is not superior but as for few more features added. Th... moreIts superior in terms of zooming capabilities. Clear 5x optical with aperture mode as a bonus, combined with the 40mp res to creates 10x hybrid zoom, which is easily makes it the king on smartphone zooming.

Goes beyond that, agree with the unstabilized thing without gimbal. It looks digitalized anyway, and if a person makes a videography using that range, definitely use a gimbal.

Shui8, 12 Jul 2019Both Xperia 1 & P30 Pro telephoto has OIS, should be no prob... morePeriscope is not superior but as for few more features added. The super zoom in will need a gimbal that means no gimbal no best image. Super Tele-photography without gimbal/tripod is still not coming yet, it super shaking especially for videography.

Is it you Pro, 12 Jul 2019Huawei super zoom in for videography is useless, it without imag... moreBoth Xperia 1 & P30 Pro telephoto has OIS, should be no problem at 2x optical (X1) & superior 5x optical (P30). Goes further u need gimbal to stabilize it. Its physics. But u cant deny the fact that P30 pro periscope camera is superior than any other phones right now.

Shui8, 11 Jul 2019For telephoto/zooming purposes, no other phones can beat P30 Pro... moreHuawei super zoom in for videography is useless, it without image stabilization.

Anonymous, 11 Jul 2019We have serious problem guys with our Xperia1... According to... moreFor telephoto/zooming purposes, no other phones can beat P30 Pro periscope camera.

  • Anonymous

We have serious problem guys with our Xperia1...

According to the official specification telephoto 52mm lense supposed to have F2.4 aperture value.

I bought this phone mainly for this telephoto camera and its high aperture for outdoor daylights portraits to capture shallow depth of field. I noticed that something is wrong with the overexposed pictures and blurr. 

Then I checked the detailed description of the taken photos...

Xperia1 52mm telephoto lense has aperture of F1.6!!!

You lied SONY! What now? This is serious for the quality brand and product which cost me more than 1000$.

  • oxTimox

Whats the international version from this phone

Killerspintt, 26 Jun 2019The rating of 4.2 is a bit disapointing after reading the review... moreWas 4.6 but was kicked down without a valid response...