Samsung Galaxy Tab S5e hands-on review

06 Aug 2019


Sort by:

Ok, maybe it could have a better processor and memory, but i bought this for watching TV, WRC, Formula, NBA and other stuff like that and i must say it's perfect for that. Beautiful screen and good battery i think.

ProJames-CHM, 15 Aug 2019The Surface Go is underpowered (dual core 14nm Pentium?! gross. ... moreI was actually comparing the Surface to the iPad. But isn't the upgrade to full Windows free, tho? That's what I heard at least.

What really puts me off with the Tab S5e is the lack of S Pen. Seriously, I much prefer DeX UI over One UI like in Tab S4 or any other Pie running Samsung, but Samsung's decision on not putting S Pen is a no-no.

  • Jeramia1982

I've had the tabled for just over 6 weeks. and I think its a great tablet, for the price, and what I use it for. general web surfing, videos and emails. display is responsive, display is clear and its very light. wifi is great [as long as your wifi router is good].

For all those complaining on performance, this isn't the tab for you. you'll need to get the s6. more power and speed. and obviously near double the cost.

for what it is, and basic use. I would highly recommend it.

Jun1250, 14 Aug 2019A more detailed review: https://mynexttablet.com/samsung-galaxy-... moreThe Surface Go is underpowered (dual core 14nm Pentium?! gross. In benchmarks it is weaker than the SD670), heavier, has a lower resolution display, Windows 10 Lite (S) and the 128GB version is pricier than the S5e's 128 (although with 2 more gigs of RAM). But if you are dependent on a specific Windows app and are willing to pay extra to have a full OS, then the Surface Go could have a certain advantage.

  • Xbasit

Josh, 13 Aug 20192019 and a tablet still rocking 4gb, 64gb. Steupsss come on nah ... moreActually this 4g/64g is different u see processor are not the same even if they have the same memory and storageas time goes on its ability/optimisation is improved even if they have thesamevalues.

A more detailed review: https://mynexttablet.com/samsung-galaxy-tab-s5e-­review/

I doubt an iPad actually beats this in value and a tablet's actual usage case (e.g. Battery life, display, portability, multimedia). Besides, whoever's looking for portable productivity and gaming while not instantaneously considering a Surface Go is just insane.

  • Anonymous

iPad users keep on bragging about the iPad's superiority in terms of raw processor speed, software update support and the best tablet optimized apps, but really, what do 99.9% of these iPad users do with their iPads? Watch photos, watch Youtube videos, download Netflix movies for offline viewing on the go, read news, ebooks and Facebook feeds, browse and shop online, in addition to playing Candy Crush and other low processor intensive games on their tablet.

In short, what 99.9% of tablet users (including iPad users) really needed was a tablet that provides unlimited media enjoyment: a tablet which has a huge, gorgeous high resolution screen, a capable processor and a huge battery, excellent audio from quad speakers, expandable storage up to 1 TB, a highly customizable operating system, and a file system where there is ease of file transfer and sharing of their media files to and from tablet to PC's and TV's: in short, an upper midrange to premium android tablet like the Tab S5e and not those overpriced crippled iPads that are nothing more than kids toys.

  • Josh

2019 and a tablet still rocking 4gb, 64gb. Steupsss come on nah samsung..

  • Anonymous

When will the review go live? And can you please include full in depth display analysis. Thank you.

  • Bartosz

Anonymous, 10 Aug 2019Wow, such nitpicking review by Gsmarena team on a great affordab... moreExactly!

  • Anonymous

prasad-gsma, 07 Aug 2019You're right in thinking that the iPad is in a different league,... moreGreat. So the alternative to this landfill-material tab after 2 years is a product that treats all it's users like kindergarten students?

What a messy world.

nothing , 07 Aug 2019Exactly my complain with Samsung tablets likeTab s3, the securit... moreThey are working on Pie for the Tab S3, which is why you don't have anything more recent than April (since that's when they started working on it)

I've been using the tab s5e for more than a month now and i have no regrets whatsoever, it's been able to meet my expectations, this review is just too negative and doesn't do justice to the tablet, it's a great tablet and for every day use is more than capable of delivering, I run several apps on it, for games, well, I don't have that time, i would prefer to read or study, if that's what a person would want this tab for then of course it's not for you, but if it's to watch movies, study, read, work, running programs such as excel and all that, then its worth it

  • Anonymous

Wow, such nitpicking review by Gsmarena team on a great affordable tablet! I've never been a fan of Samsung as a brand being frequently overpriced than other brands for the specs. Also, as a matter of choice, I will always pick IPS display anytime over Samsung's AMOLED even if the IPS display were as expensive as the AMOLED because I simply want the display to last 3x longer and to have the display retain the quality when it was brand new for so much longer (not the forte of OLED-based displays).

But to claim that this tablet is no good compared to the crippled iPads or iPad Pro, I beg to disagree strongly. I will NEVER EVER WASTE SO MUCH money on such a crippled Apple device with outdated, suffocating, restrictive, jurassic operating system. iOS and the new iPadOS can claim to have the 'best phone and tablet optimized app collection' in the entire universe, but it will still NEVER be good enough for me. That suffocating, rigid, zero customization, zero storage expansion, zero file transfer and file management capability and zero seamless transfers and compatibility with various other devices (PC's, tv's, etc) without making the task stupidly convoluted and long winded, is enough for me to avoid Apple's iOS and iPadOS devices like the PLAGUE.

I want to enjoy my media (movies, photos, music, etc.) without limitations and no Apple based operating system can give me that. If I want productivity on the go, there's my ultra portable, convertible Windows laptop for that, which seriously will put any iPad to shame.

To the Gsmarena team, you are missing out an entirely essential point why BIG Android tablets continue to sell. They continue to sell not because they are being used for productivity - that's the realm of convertible laptops, but because they do so well with what they are very good at: media consumption! For that, you need huge storage with up to 1TB micro sd expansion, a 10" or bigger high resolution screen, and battery power to make your enjoyment unlimited. You don't need the superfluous bionic processor for that that seriously is more of bragging rights than being truly useful. Now if you add the stupid iOS or iPad OS limitations on the iPad, the choice is crystal clear: Android all the way. iPads are for bragging rights and I have never seen an iPad user using it for other than Facebook, Youtube, or Movie viewing, browsing, or Photo consumption. At least with android tablets, I've seen it being used to project wirelessly, Microsoft Powerpoint slide show presentations which an overpriced iPad Pro can't quite do on all smart tv brands without resorting to wired connection or buying an overpriced Apple TV.

  • Jess

StahuPoland, 09 Aug 2019Hello guys. I would like to very shortly share my experience. ... morethanks for the positive idea...it will be very useful

Johan, 08 Aug 2019Did your review a different tablet? I am typing this post on thi... moreThe cheaper way is to get a Tab S4 then this mediocre overpriced Tab "S5".

  • StahuPoland

Hello guys.
I would like to very shortly share my experience.

I was previously using iPad Pro 2016 that lost his pixels only weeks after one year warranty expired.
I used to experience many weakness like useless finger print scanner. closed system (if you know what i mean, it was the biggest loose - disability of connecting mouse or just easily transfer files in decent easy enviroment - windowesque file manager, i cant say that about iOS.

In few words - as a concious person in digital life (and concious about some s5e issues like non flagship processor or just finger print scanner - same shit like ipad pro) i gain much more pleasure using this tablet everyday than using iPad Pro 10.5 2016.

  • Johan

Did your review a different tablet? I am typing this post on this tablet in Dexmode and have like 20 open apps. No major problems with huge stutters and lag like the review states. I also have used the Tab S4 which is a bit faster but that is probaly due to much faster storage and not the processor. Got the 64 Gb LTE model. If you use your tablet for reading and watching media, it works just fine. It is the same chip used in the Pixel 3a.

Comparing with an Ipad when it comes to price is in a way comparing apples to oranges. Sure, the Ipad air is close in price, but please, where else do you get an OLED screen in a Tablet in this resolution and size? If that does not matter, obviously this tablet might look expensive compared to any tablet with an LCD as it uses a much more expensive screen. If you want an OLED screen in something larger than a phone, this is the cheapest way to get it.

  • Anonymous

I’ve just gotten an iPad Pro 2017, 10.5”, 512 gb, entirely new for $500. Four speakers, pro motion screen, Geekbench 4 score 4000 single 10000 multi.