Redmi K20 Pro vs. OnePlus 7

09 Sept 2019


Sort by:

Anonymous, 10 Sep 2019Yes, OIS is not a rocket science that requires rigorous study of... moreDoesn't change the fact that your average smartphone buyer has no concept of it ;-)

Anonymous, 10 Sep 2019That would have no relevancy to this test whatsoever - those are... moreYou're mistaken.
Both the K20 Pro and the OnePlus 7 are Upper-Midrange devices. That is to say they aren't Flagship/Luxury phones.

The OnePlus 7 Pro barely passes for a flagship because it has some low-grade water resistance. But none of Xiaomi's devices have a removable battery, or some waterproofing. So speaking truthfully, even the most expensive Mi Phone does not qualify for that title.

Next year we should see OnePlus devices get better, and start competing harder against Apple and Samsung. We might even see Xiaomi's first foray into this category

But when thinking of the K20 Pro, the limited options that I listed are decent competition. Against the K20 Pro, the options of Moto One Zoom, Moto G7 Plus, LG G7-One, Pixel 3a, Pixel 3aXL, and the Nokia 8.1 seem to be the best match.

vahidpgsm, 10 Sep 2019yes, redmi phone made for 1 year use , after 1 year u throw it a... moreRedmi is offering 2 years of warranty on some of its device. I dont think that's made for 1 year of usage.

  • JTatufo

Ex User of Samsung S8.
I went for OnePlus 7 and the disappointment in the camera department haunts me every day.
I dont get how my S8 is after all these years still superior in every photo scenario you can think of...
Really disappointed, I would sell it in a heart beat.
But with Exynos as the processor in all Samsung phones in Europe i cant no longer go for an S10 .
If you compare the new Snapdragon with the new Exynos you will get 20% down in speed and 20% (at least) more battery consumption with the Exynos processor .
Deal Breaker for me, If you are going to sale me an S10 with an Exynos at least dont charge me the same as with the Snapdragon variety .
(Sorry for my English not my native language.)

sriganesh, 10 Sep 2019I expected GSMArena to be non biased and geniume but this compar... more??You can have two Redmi K20 Pro for the price of 1+7Pro..

  • Just an amateur

I don't know what OIS means and I don't need it.i am not a paparazzi.. stereo loudspeakers? For what use... we are not in eighties were people bring there stereo on their shoulders and make everyone listening to the jacksons...... snapdragon 855 with pop up camera.. that's something powerful and stylish for 400 $... definitely the xiaomi is an assassin rather than a killer

  • Anonymous

stinkfist, 10 Sep 2019For a normal user OIS aint crucial and i can almost promise you ... moreOn contrary, OIS is extremely useful for normal user. You do not have to "opt-in" OIS, as it is already on by default and thus benefit all normal user.

Anonymous, 10 Sep 2019That's kind of your personal opinion and you are willing to sacr... moreyes, redmi phone made for 1 year use , after 1 year u throw it away... i think compare oneplus phones with redmi a.k.a admi is bull shit.

  • Anonymous

sriganesh, 10 Sep 2019I expected GSMArena to be non biased and geniume but this compar... moreBy what you are saying, might as well compare to Note10+, P30Pro etc, since most of the spec are similar. Idea here is to compare 2 flagship level phone with price point there is very close

  • Anonymous

sriganesh, 10 Sep 2019I expected GSMArena to be non biased and geniume but this compar... moreThat's kind of your personal opinion and you are willing to sacrifice one night shot out of fifty, but when there is better option out there not everyone will be like to sacrifice that. A picture captures the moment. Sure you can buy shiny good looking phones when ever you want but you can't recapture that past moment that you captured with a potato grade camera. That's why not everyone go for the looks of a device but rather long term usability of device.

  • TECHVLOGGGER

k20 pro ... hahaa if its come from any other brand exept xiaomi i wiil choose it above my one plus 7 .. idiots how could u compare miui with oxygen os .. redmi phones made for 1 year , after 1 year u throw it into waste.. this article is bullshit compare redmi aka admi with the oneplus...shit

I expected GSMArena to be non biased and geniume but this comparison looks biased to me.
You should have compared this phone to oneplus 7 pro. Apart from the fancy display and other things mentioned in this review both are pretty same in terms of specs and for half the price user could get premium flagship experience.
Just because oneplus has OIS doesnt justify the price, How many of us see people posting pictures at night, may be 1 in 50.

  • Ben

Only REDMI K20PRO can beat in all features than OnePlus since 2 years.Here low price mid-range mobile with premium quality features needed and to buy means Redmi k20pro......

  • Love the Community

K20 Pro wins because it still has the integrity to keep the headphone jack.

  • Anonymous

Marco M, 10 Sep 2019You're assuming that the normal user knows what OIS is . . .Yes, OIS is not a rocket science that requires rigorous study of many prerequisite courses.

Anonymous, 10 Sep 2019No OIS is more important for a normal user, not everyone is expe... moreYou're assuming that the normal user knows what OIS is . . .

Anonymous, 10 Sep 2019Easy winner...Oneplus 7 because oxygen OS.... Oneplus must be pr... moreIt would be an easy choice here for me as well, the K20 Pro. Though in reality I'm keeping my Mi Mix 3 :-)

The reasons I'd easily choose the K20 Pro over the OnePlus 7 that it has no notch and I prefer MIUI over any other. That's the thing with preferences, they are individual and mistaking ones preference for being relevant to everyone else is silly.

MIUI is ad free in my region btw, as it is in most regions. As far as I know it only has ads in India.

Comments such as "The only reason to buy a (fill in product here) is if you´re short on cash,otherwise i´d choose a (fill in alternative product here) anyday" are such pathetic master suppression techniques that I'm embarrassed on your behalf.

I could just as easily say that "The only reason to buy a OnePlus 7 is if you´re short on cash, otherwise I´d choose a (any device at a higher price, including the 7 Pro) anyday.
Meaning that the goal for all of us humans must be to obtain the most expensive phone, and the only reason not to is because one is short on cash." Silly.

Will still go for k20 pro though

  • Anonymous

stinkfist, 10 Sep 2019Ofcourse proper hardware is good but every phone nowadays have t... moreNo OIS is more important for a normal user, not everyone is expert on manual mode to compensate OIS, and I am not claiming that it is possible to compensate OIS entirely by tweaking some settings on manual mode either. OIS will always lend a helpful hand on night time photography to a normal user and pro user. Even a photographer not carry around bulky and heavy DSLR all the time but usually a phone is always with everyone.

  • Anonymous

Anonymous, 10 Sep 2019Easy winner...Oneplus 7 because oxygen OS.... Oneplus must be pr... moreI ditched oneplus and choose k20pro because of notch.