Sony Xperia 5 review

18 Sept 2019


Sort by:

  • An

Anonymous, 18 Mar 2020Is anything less than 7mm of width called "compact" now???? You ... moreWhat does the thickness have to do with the screen size? Yes, bring back smaller phones, but seriously, I don't mind smaller phones being thicker as that enables for a futureproof battery. Look at the first Generation of the Motorola Moto G for example, or the Xperia XZ2 Compact.

  • Anonymous

Is anything less than 7mm of width called "compact" now???? You have got to be kidding me. And no, it is nowhere pocketable. Give me back my 4.5" phone, then we can talk.

  • rishi

dpes anyone still buy Sony xperia mobiles ?almost a decade back i bought 5 MP xperia ...good to look at but useless in camera etc then no brand value

FN, 02 Mar 2020I don't see how a device 158mm tall is consideren anything close... moreAgree!!! That is not compact.

  • FN

I don't see how a device 158mm tall is consideren anything close to compact. There was no new compact device, just hueg phablets... Guess I'll wait for the Pixel 4a and if it ain't a compact I'll have to settle for S10e

  • An

Captain, 18 Feb 2020i were waiting a phone compact . i hope what they make a phone c... more+1

18-19,5/9 aspect ratio is totally fine and would bring the size of this phone down significantly, by leaving all the other dimensions the same. Although I wouldn't mind the phone being thicker (even if it were 10mm) to accomodate for the loss in battery size.
Something like ~140mm x 68mm x 10mm (L x W x T) would be perfect and I'd be sold.

  • Captain

i were waiting a phone compact . i hope what they make a phone compact in that MWC. I like sony

  • Anonymous

Steve H, 04 Feb 2020Sony needs to learn how to make bezel less phones, as they are l... moreNo they do not. The bezels on these phones are absolutely fine and make it easier to handle. Sony's designs are superior to the stupid notches and holes of the competition.

All Sony need to do is to bring back the 3.5mm jack.

  • Kenyp


how much are the bezels?

Anonymous, 16 Jan 2020Wireless Bluetooth buds can sound great. Just try Anker Soundcor... moreThere are literally no high quality audio formats for Bluetooth audio right now due to power consumption limits, the need for radio interference tolerance, and latency constraints. You can find a few BT headphones with good tonal quality but they will occasionally suffer from noticeable bandwidth deficits.

  • Steve H

Sony needs to learn how to make bezel less phones, as they are lacking...
Also battery life is very poor, need to make good battery life for android phone.
Camera resolution is not great compared to Huwawei and Samsung.

  • Nice

Sony will always be best phone 📱 for me no matter the design

Ive been using my Xperia 5 for 3 months and I have to say I am very happy with it. I have the white one, which looks amazing. The software is running smooth, never a freeze down. The camera..hmm . I never understood this 30-40mp and once I am seeing the photos on my laptop they looks awful. This camera is amazing. Even if it is only 8mp the quality is perfect. I dropped the phone once from about 1.5 meter and not a crack or scratch. When I dropped my iphone x from about 80cm the phone looked like a broken glass. So my overall opinion is xperia5 is a top class phone which is really underrated.

  • Lijo George

It's high time to replace the product designer Sony, still living in the past. 6.1" display with 8 MP FF Camera..WTF??

  • Anonymous

Anonymous, 29 Nov 2019Can this model perform WiFi calling trough network settings or o... moreUnlikely. I saw this thing on Pixels and Galaxies only.

  • Anonymous

Just got this phone. It looks very nice, unique, feels good in the hand. Also I have Galaxy Note10+ and Google Pixel 4. Only one must stay. Regarding the camera, Pixel 4 makes better shots to my opinion. Xperia 5 is somewhere in between two others. Still deciding what to keep because all these phones aren't perfect.

  • Anonymous

kevinmcmurtrie, 05 Dec 2019I've never heard Bluetooth sound good. I can tolerate it in a m... moreWireless Bluetooth buds can sound great. Just try Anker Soundcore Liberty Air 2 Wireless Earbuds or even Samsung Galaxy Buds. You might be surprised.

  • Suresh

All of the above features are fabulous except battery , battery should be around 4000- 5000.

  • Zer0_C00L

When will this be available in South Africa????

  • Tuxsen

Tusxen, 23 Dec 2019I can't to use this device 🤞👌I can't wait to use this device.... When is it gonna be Available in South Africa?