Google Pixel 4 XL review

29 Oct 2019
The Google Pixel 4 duo was not Google's best-kept secret. We saw pictures of the phone weeks before the event, and we even learned about Face unlock while Google teased the Motion Sense features ahead of its event. The Google Pixel 4 XL represents everything that Google has learned in the first four iterations of the Google Pixel, including a mid-cycle and mid-range Pixel 3a which was very well received.

Sort by:

Hello Life, 01 Nov 2019Me? How did you guess I am using an Apple phone as my daily driv... moreYou insinuated I'm a 10 year old kid but then claim I'm bashing you? lmao. What's it like being a hypocrite?

Also you use an iPhone so my "customization" point remains. All that text and you've proven nothing.

Nick Tagataka, 01 Nov 2019I'm a long term Android user and I never gave a single damn abou... moreGood for you? I'm not really sure what the purpose of your post was.

  • Anonymous

Hello Life, 01 Nov 2019Me? How did you guess I am using an Apple phone as my daily driv... moreAndroid can look like iOS or Windows phone or Ubuntu or windows 10 or any other OS.
You can completely change the look of your device where you'd think you are using a OS from the future.

While iOS well, you can't make it look like Android or anything for that matter.

If I had to rate customizabilty for OS on a scale of 1-100,

Android gets 80-90 depending on OS, skin, etc.
Rooted Android gets 90-100.
iOS gets 5-10
Jailbroken iOS gets 15-20.

  • Anonymous

Nick Tagataka, 01 Nov 2019I'm a long term Android user and I never gave a single damn abou... moreYou might not want to change your home screen, you are free to not change it.
But there are billion other users who want to and they appreciate the option available to them unlike iOS where you are stuck with the same thing.

So Android meets the requirements of the ones who want to customize as well as the ones who don't while iOS doesn't meet requirements of all users.

And yeah Android is way more simple and flexible along with deep customizabilty than iOS so plz stop lying. Only people with a single digit IQ get confused.

Crackling Doom, 01 Nov 2019Couldn't disagree more. I love setting up my home page/s to l... moreI'm a long term Android user and I never gave a single damn about "fresh"ness of my home screen. When I got Galaxy S10 and P30, what I did on those phones was put shortcuts for the apps that I frequently use on the home screen, set the wallpapers and that's pretty much it. I don't want to change them frequently, I want them to be as static and consistent as they can so that they won't hinder my typical workflow on my phones. And most people prefer simplicity over confusing flexibility, that's one of the reason why they prefer iOS over Android.

  • Anonymous

Hello Life, 01 Nov 2019Me? How did you guess I am using an Apple phone as my daily driv... moreThe truth is that you can make an Android phone look like an iPhone or Windows phone or Ubuntu or Windows 10 or whatever you want
But your iPhone can't do that even after jailbreaking.
Android allows deep customizations even on a 100$ device.

If we rate customizabilty of an OS on a scale or 1 to 100,

Android will be at 80-100 depending upon Operating system, rooted /non rooted etc.
iOS will be at 5-10
Jailbroken iOS will be at 15-20.

Crackling Doom, 01 Nov 2019Couldn't disagree more. I love setting up my home page/s to l... moreMe? How did you guess I am using an Apple phone as my daily driver?. Infact I use an android. Iphone 6s barely.. as a secondary device.. amd an ipad pro. I really prefer the ios as much as you love your android phone. See the customisation isn’t really a functionality but a preference. As for widgets, apple has them, better at that. Regarding customisations, Apple has better customisations actually. The only thing apple doesn’t have is home screen. But that makes it unique. We never want 2 OS to be exactly same. What’s the point of that? Do you go and bash all the people around you because they aren’t a clone of you?

nomercy, 31 Oct 2019Google and security patches ? you joking right? here is google ... moreAnd that is why I never used Google Photos for online "backups" of my photos. I'd rather lose my private data than expose it to Google employees or random strangers.

I even use Google Drive only for storing media files only.

  • derp

I'll be getting the Pixel 4 beacuse it's finally not a huge phablet, and it's not weaker than the XL version
more companies should do a smaller, compact version of their flaship models.

  • pkmn

Why is there no indoor lab camera test this time (US dollar, doll)?

Hello Life, 31 Oct 2019Lol... that stops mattering after 1 week of owning a new phone. ... moreCouldn't disagree more.

I love setting up my home page/s to look however I want and keep it fresh, new and exciting. You, on the other hand, get stuck looking at the same app covered screen with your background wallpaper barely seeping through. lulz

Slayer, 31 Oct 2019Why so salty? Not sure anyone is forcing you to buy it...! Uncon... morePointing out facts =/= salty.

It's fine if you like the phone, but I don't. I think it's a rip-off that sacrifices too much. Don't try to shove your opinion down my throat by invalidating mine with petty insults.

  • Anonymous

Pixel XL 4 is great, 31 Oct 2019Motion sense is not unreliable at allFace unlock is very reliable on the Pixel 4XL. It's very fast too. I couldn't believe it.

  • Anonymous

Zteam, 31 Oct 2019Probably to make sure the Battery Endurance Rating is as accurat... moreThat would be "real world testing" though.

Anonymous, 31 Oct 2019You comparing these phones to iPhone and pixel lol. Mate 30 pro ... moreGoogle and security patches ? you joking right?
here is google and thier so called "security" https://youtu.be/hLjht9uJWgw
They steal you info and they do not even protect your privacy. your privacy is all online for everyone to see lol. no security what so ever. So yea have fun with you Google spy/malware apps.

  • Ash

I also get around 1and half day of usage on my pixel 4 XL phone.
I have been using the phone for a week and have found no issues with the phone.

  • Slayer

Crackling Doom, 31 Oct 2019So many cons and you still give it a 4/5 stars? lol wow. And ... moreWhy so salty? Not sure anyone is forcing you to buy it...! Unconvinced about the review as using the 7T Pro which whilst aesthetically very pleasing I can't really connect to other for basic functional purposes. Will be getting the Pixel 4XL tomorrow, hopefully. P.S. I do not find the battery on my Oneplus7t Pro exceptional, see link below, it ran out quicker than the P 4XL in real time test...

https://youtu.be/gLXO-jeJlTQ

Don't always believe what you read...!

  • Anonymous

Very good review, especially the conclusion and the pros and cons.

However ,no way does this phone deserve a 4/5 rating .Makes me think Google paid for that rating (rating only ,not review) or maybe GsmArena are scared of the consequences of giving this phone a 2.5 or 3 rating which is what it deserves.

  • Zteam

XHalcon, 31 Oct 2019Why are they using a app to test for battery?! Why don't they ac... moreProbably to make sure the Battery Endurance Rating is as accurate as possible.If they dit it manually it would be very easy to end up with slight variance in numbers of calls, screen on time and so on.

  • XHalcon

Why are they using a app to test for battery?! Why don't they actually use the phone? Real life people aren't using an app to see how long their battery last!

I'm on day two of using the Pixel 4XL and I get about 16 hours battery life. I haven't turned on the battery draining features yet, but I do use the phone for about 6 hours of navigation, 6 hours of music, internet here and there and an occasional video or game...

Start testing the phone in real life... You're suppose to be testing the phone... Not an app.