Google Pixel 4 XL review

29 Oct 2019
The Google Pixel 4 duo was not Google's best-kept secret. We saw pictures of the phone weeks before the event, and we even learned about Face unlock while Google teased the Motion Sense features ahead of its event. The Google Pixel 4 XL represents everything that Google has learned in the first four iterations of the Google Pixel, including a mid-cycle and mid-range Pixel 3a which was very well received.

Sort by:

Anonymous, 02 Nov 2019They get confused on iOS rather than on Android. because on... more"They get confused on iOS rather than on Android"
"iOS will always be a joke when it comes to end user experience"
"Nobody wants to use a restricted piece of tech in 2020"
Speak for yourself kiddo.

Now you revealed that you're just another Apple hater who don't hesitate attacking people who oppose you, even if they are existing Android users. I don't need you to tell me what devices I'm not supposed to use, I'm happy with my Galaxy S10 and P30 thanks.

  • dazed1

Why was the location changed? now we have no reference to compare with!

  • Anonymous

Nick Tagataka, 02 Nov 2019You'll be surprised to see how many people actually don't k... moreThey get confused on iOS rather than on Android. because on iOS you require more steps to do a task compared to Android.
Plz don't bother using a smartphone, you probably belong in 1920s clueless about technology.

Users deserve freedom, you can go buy your slave phone. iOS will always be a joke when it comes to end user experience. Nobody wants to use a restricted piece of tech in 2020.

Nick Tagataka, 01 Nov 2019I'm a long term Android user and I never gave a single damn... moreI think EUMI Huawei and Honor mobiles offer best of both worlds. Actually, some areas like assistive touch Huawei mobiles implemented far more practical use cases than iOS. iOS beyond cameras bit stale in many areas in terms of ease of use. Currently, I cannot select URL using select all option in the browser. WhatsApp sharing pictures with caption from chat is not available (though it is probably specific to the app), apps and sites load far more faster than my iPhone 11(same sites and apps), android auto users/password in browsers more intuitive than faceid interfering with a pop up behaviour...are some of the minor irritants! But iOS pioneered touch interface with iOS now not leading the industry is my opinion based on my experience! Having said that iPhone Pro & Pro Max May offer different experience which I have not used so far

Anonymous, 01 Nov 2019You might not want to change your home screen, you are free... moreYou'll be surprised to see how many people actually don't know how to move the app shortcuts to the homescreen from the drawer menu, or even finding the app drawer in the first place. The sad reality for you is there are also billions of people around the world with little to no knowledge about technology (what you call "people with a single digit IQ") and they prefer to use what they have been provided initially instead of spending time on confusing so called customisation processes.

One of reasons why iPhone users prefer iOS is that it's FAST and SIMPLE. Only stock vanilla Android comes close to iOS in terms of simplicity, and if you're happened to use phones from any other Android OEMs, good luck with going deep into the settings menu and discovering features (some of which might irritate you if you don't know about it).

S Yu, 01 Nov 2019"Google has cleaned up the noisy remnants we used to often ... moreIt's most likely caused by the way HDR+ handles the exposure - even though it stacks up to 9 frames (and 15 frames in Night Sight), all frames are severely underexposed to protect the highlights from blowing up, and since the software needs to lift the darker parts of the image in post for better shadow exposure it inevitably introduces a lot of noise even at base ISO. iPhone 11 Pro's Smart HDR is the "real" HDR algorithm that involves the fusion of images with different exposures, so naturally it captures wider dynamic range and lower noise in the shadow areas than HDR+.

"Google has cleaned up the noisy remnants we used to often see on the Pixel 3"
LMFAO?! Shadows look very noisy at what the EXIF says to be ISO61! The 11 only just caught up to Pixel 3 in general but with Pixel 4 performing like this (by impressions alone it looks more like iPX grade) it's hard to say who comes up on top this year.

Hello Life, 01 Nov 2019Me? How did you guess I am using an Apple phone as my daily... moreYou insinuated I'm a 10 year old kid but then claim I'm bashing you? lmao. What's it like being a hypocrite?

Also you use an iPhone so my "customization" point remains. All that text and you've proven nothing.

Nick Tagataka, 01 Nov 2019I'm a long term Android user and I never gave a single damn... moreGood for you? I'm not really sure what the purpose of your post was.

  • Anonymous

Hello Life, 01 Nov 2019Me? How did you guess I am using an Apple phone as my daily... moreAndroid can look like iOS or Windows phone or Ubuntu or windows 10 or any other OS.
You can completely change the look of your device where you'd think you are using a OS from the future.

While iOS well, you can't make it look like Android or anything for that matter.

If I had to rate customizabilty for OS on a scale of 1-100,

Android gets 80-90 depending on OS, skin, etc.
Rooted Android gets 90-100.
iOS gets 5-10
Jailbroken iOS gets 15-20.

  • Anonymous

Nick Tagataka, 01 Nov 2019I'm a long term Android user and I never gave a single damn... moreYou might not want to change your home screen, you are free to not change it.
But there are billion other users who want to and they appreciate the option available to them unlike iOS where you are stuck with the same thing.

So Android meets the requirements of the ones who want to customize as well as the ones who don't while iOS doesn't meet requirements of all users.

And yeah Android is way more simple and flexible along with deep customizabilty than iOS so plz stop lying. Only people with a single digit IQ get confused.

Crackling Doom, 01 Nov 2019Couldn't disagree more. I love setting up my home page/s... moreI'm a long term Android user and I never gave a single damn about "fresh"ness of my home screen. When I got Galaxy S10 and P30, what I did on those phones was put shortcuts for the apps that I frequently use on the home screen, set the wallpapers and that's pretty much it. I don't want to change them frequently, I want them to be as static and consistent as they can so that they won't hinder my typical workflow on my phones. And most people prefer simplicity over confusing flexibility, that's one of the reason why they prefer iOS over Android.

  • Anonymous

Hello Life, 01 Nov 2019Me? How did you guess I am using an Apple phone as my daily... moreThe truth is that you can make an Android phone look like an iPhone or Windows phone or Ubuntu or Windows 10 or whatever you want
But your iPhone can't do that even after jailbreaking.
Android allows deep customizations even on a 100$ device.

If we rate customizabilty of an OS on a scale or 1 to 100,

Android will be at 80-100 depending upon Operating system, rooted /non rooted etc.
iOS will be at 5-10
Jailbroken iOS will be at 15-20.

Crackling Doom, 01 Nov 2019Couldn't disagree more. I love setting up my home page/s... moreMe? How did you guess I am using an Apple phone as my daily driver?. Infact I use an android. Iphone 6s barely.. as a secondary device.. amd an ipad pro. I really prefer the ios as much as you love your android phone. See the customisation isn’t really a functionality but a preference. As for widgets, apple has them, better at that. Regarding customisations, Apple has better customisations actually. The only thing apple doesn’t have is home screen. But that makes it unique. We never want 2 OS to be exactly same. What’s the point of that? Do you go and bash all the people around you because they aren’t a clone of you?

nomercy, 31 Oct 2019Google and security patches ? you joking right? here is go... moreAnd that is why I never used Google Photos for online "backups" of my photos. I'd rather lose my private data than expose it to Google employees or random strangers.

I even use Google Drive only for storing media files only.

  • derp

I'll be getting the Pixel 4 beacuse it's finally not a huge phablet, and it's not weaker than the XL version
more companies should do a smaller, compact version of their flaship models.

  • pkmn

Why is there no indoor lab camera test this time (US dollar, doll)?

Hello Life, 31 Oct 2019Lol... that stops mattering after 1 week of owning a new ph... moreCouldn't disagree more.

I love setting up my home page/s to look however I want and keep it fresh, new and exciting. You, on the other hand, get stuck looking at the same app covered screen with your background wallpaper barely seeping through. lulz

Slayer, 31 Oct 2019Why so salty? Not sure anyone is forcing you to buy it...! ... morePointing out facts =/= salty.

It's fine if you like the phone, but I don't. I think it's a rip-off that sacrifices too much. Don't try to shove your opinion down my throat by invalidating mine with petty insults.

  • Anonymous

Pixel XL 4 is great, 31 Oct 2019Motion sense is not unreliable at allFace unlock is very reliable on the Pixel 4XL. It's very fast too. I couldn't believe it.