Best smartphones of 2021 - buyer’s guide

Last updated 30 November 2021


Sort by:

  • Squareballz

I'm using the mi 9se for 4 months now. Superb phone for its price. And most importantly. It's compact form factor.

Very satisfied with the new format! Great job!

I was really looking for a new phone and this is exactly what I need.

Thanks gsmarena!

  • johnq

where is p30 pro?? the best phone of the year!

  • AnonD-754814

patoka, 22 Nov 2019I'm sorry but there are 2 better flagship killers than the ... moreI don't think only EU people read this website.

  • AnonD-754814

Whackcar, 22 Nov 2019You wrote Mi Note 10 as the No.1 Camera Phone? That's just ... moreThey enlisted mi note 10 because what you are paying to buy that phone is mostly for those cameras not other stuffs. You can buy 2 mi note 10s with the same price of iPhone 11pro. So, if note mi note 10 even come close(actually it has better main camera than iPhone/Huawei) It deserves to be enlisted.
That's MHO.

  • AnonD-754814

WAPC1, 23 Nov 2019My preferred phone don't exist 1. Expandable storage dedic... moreMan ! I also would love to have a Small size flagship which can perform same as note line or S line,

  • pan

i only agree with the #1 gaming smartphone... but again that is just my opnion...

Whackcar, 22 Nov 2019You wrote Mi Note 10 as the No.1 Camera Phone? That's just ... moreThey are talking about money for value.

WAPC1, 23 Nov 2019My preferred phone don't exist 1. Expandable storage dedic... moreThere is actually a phone that fulfill all your requirements. It is Samsung S10e.

It has even dropped down in price. It will get even cheaper when S11 series releases.

You're welcome.

My preferred phone don't exist
1. Expandable storage dedicated
2. Headphone Jack
3. Full Hd Screen
4. IP 67 min rating
5. Dual Sim
6. Less than 145mm tall, preferably less than 140mm
7.
My biggest gripe atm is the size of phones and price, I refuse to buy big phones and doublely if theirs no headphone jack and expandable memory.
And the price they are asking is stupid.
I'm exercising my consumer right spending my money else where.

Whackcar, 22 Nov 2019You wrote Mi Note 10 as the No.1 Camera Phone? That's just ... moreAre you nuts? Ni note 10 got highest number at DXO... That's why it's here..

I have been using the OnePlus 7T from over a month now and I wholeheartedly agree with Gsmarena on this one. This is the best and the fastest phone I have ever used hands down. The cameras are decent, the battery life is good, the performance is blazingly fast and OnePlus's resale value is good too. Very nice deal at $529 or Rs38000 in India

  • dfv

yup pretty much agree with the list here less a few differences on the mid range part.
Now if only my wallet would agree with my mind sometimes but it is rather stubborn 99% of the time. Then again it helps keep me in check.

Palmu, 23 Nov 2019Pretty much on the same boat here. Except no need for wirel... moreCharging ports break far too often and require (sometimes a pricey) replacement. Also it's a whole lot easier just to put your phone somewhere instead of plugging it it.

Of course, if you're swapping your phone every year or two you'll never notice that.

  • Palmu

The Voice of Reason, 23 Nov 2019The best smartphone of 2019 doesn't exist. It's a phone ... morePretty much on the same boat here. Except no need for wireless charging.

But everybody has their own opinion of best smartphone.

  • Note9 User

Great, just in time for Black Friday/ Cyber Monday.

All buyer's guides, useful for anyone looking for an older model:
https://m.gsmarena.com/reviews.php3?sSearch=buyer+guide

The best smartphone of 2019 doesn't exist.

It's a phone with:
* headphone jack
* a 90-120Hz refresh rate AMOLED screen with 16x9 ratio and FullHD+ resolution
* dual SIM
* stereo speakers
* no notch nonsense
* wireless charging
* at least four years of guaranteed updates
* a large battery (at least 4500mAh)
* user-replaceable battery which is easy to buy

Some come close but nothing matches these requirements. Everything on the market today exists to make you buy a new smartphone sooner rather later.

  • patoka

Btw, I just saw that the EU warehouse oneplus 7T just sold out on giztop and is on pre-order now. If someone else decides to jump on that ship or another thing they're selling, don't forget to use the "gtre4" code for additional 4% discount

Whackcar, 22 Nov 2019You wrote Mi Note 10 as the No.1 Camera Phone? That's just ... more100% agree. Hands down both Mate 30 Pro & Iphone 11 Pro Max is the king of 2019 smartphone camera with their own respectable forte.

Mi Note 10 is close, but no way its quality surpass those two.

  • patoka

I'm sorry but there are 2 better flagship killers than the realme x 2 pro, especially given that you comment about EU availability. First, the oneplus 7T 8/256 model can currently be bought for around 445 euro (shipping included) from the European warehouse of Giztop in Germany, so no customs taxes and such and is better deal than the realme given its software experience. And also the ROG 2 can be bought for around 460 eur again available in Europe - yeah, with global version of the software that doesn't support OTA, so you have to update it manually, but still that's a ROG 2 for half the price of the global version.