Best smartphones of 2020 - buyer’s guide

Last updated 1 December 2020


Sort by:

  • Anonymous

Lol, i find it funny that the picture for the entry level phones, is a case, a charger and a charging brick

Tejas , 13 Mar 2021battery life champion poco vs samsung m51/ f62 4700 mah vs ... moreOn paper, M51 beats F2 pro with ease but irl, M51 managed to slightly beat the F2 pro. Idk what makes the F2 pro lasts that long...

Tejas , 13 Mar 2021battery life champion poco vs samsung m51/ f62 4700 mah vs ... moreSamsung galaxy M51

  • Tejas

battery life champion poco vs samsung m51/ f62 4700 mah vs 7000 mah

  • n

Woohoo, 07 Mar 2021What are your thoughts on the Xperia 5 II? I'm not ask... morecould

  • Woohoo

AlienKiss, 05 Mar 2021I'm only interested into high-end processors + SD card... moreWhat are your thoughts on the Xperia 5 II? I'm not asking you to consider buying one (since it costs nearly twice as much as S20FE), I just wanted to know if you were shopping in that price range, would u consider it?

  • AlienKiss

I'm only interested into high-end processors + SD card slot available, so I'm going to pick S20 FE without blinking. I don't give a fly about camera quality, plastic back will never be visible since I'll buy a case from day one and a better charger can be bought. At least it comes with one inside the box, right? :))
Sorry S21U, no SD card slot = NO BUY!
As for the rest of the brands... I'll pass!

  • Anonymous

M3 is better than F2 in battery life! Please update.

How is m51 not in the battery selection !!!! It's 7000 mah

  • Alex

So they awarded Note20U as a best 2020 cameraphone and then wrote "it's definitely not the best at anything" in the long term review. Of course it's far from the best, but thanks for honoring your sponsor, Arena.

  • Saad

Crocop, 07 Feb 2021There are some good phones on this list, but Xiaomi Mi 10T ... moreAs another mi10T user, i would like to disagree with you. Mi10T is not an everyday phone. With a smaller screen they were not able to manage the weight to body ratio and i feel it heavier than Poco X3. literally solid than a brick.

There are some good phones on this list, but Xiaomi Mi 10T Pro is missing here. I'm using that one right now and for the price you pay it's the real flagship killer if you ask me.

  • Zubayer

Anonymous, 14 Jan 2021I don't think s20 fe is flagship killer it's more... moreWhat's about Note 10 lite & S10 lite from Samsung

Anonymous, 14 Jan 2021I don't think s20 fe is flagship killer it's more... moreTotally agree, and so is Realme X50 Pro. People who write these similar articles really don't know what their heads are thinkin'.

Yeah, enjoy your notches and no headphone socket! :P

Only phone worth considering is the Sony Xperia 1 II.

  • Anonymous

Anonymous, 30 Dec 2020Samsung number 1 in flagship and flagship killer. They sma... moreI don't think s20 fe is flagship killer it's more like a high end

  • AnonD-973296

Anonymous, 30 Dec 2020GSMArena is forgetting the craftsman phone category - the r... morenokia 3310 would win ALL THE TIME lol

  • LasVegas1

users reviews seems to have different opinion. I trust them more

  • TechGeek

2020 has been a very beneficial year for Samsung, so I am not surprised that they have stolen a lot of these categories. I really do think that the S20 Fan Edition was a real flagship killer, and it was probably one of the best value phones this year. I agree with the placement of the Realme 6 as it offers a lot of features, but I do think that if you can stretch your budget and buy the Realme 7 5G, it will make it worth it. It has a better chipset and is ready for the future. The Xiaomi is great value as well, especially for £150/$150.




  • Anonymous

Samsung number 1 in flagship and flagship killer. They smashed it well done