Asus Zenfone 7 Pro review

1 September 2020


Sort by:

Why the review is finishes to early. Where is the 4k@120fps samples? And can we switch ultrawide camera while we recording 4k@60 on main camera? Can we use telephoto while recording 4k@30 (some upscaling may be), or is it only switchable in 1080p up to @60 videos? Which modes we can use all the cameras while recording? The slo-mo videos are also missing in the review.

  • muimui

how about switch display whatsapp call,,, is it turning automatic?

  • Anonymous

Anonymous, 01 Sep 2020Having an AF on UWA is a welcome especially when you use it... moreFixed AF will keep more of the scene in focus than having AF.
With AF, cam will focus in the center while leaving ppl near edge parcially out of the focus.

  • Indotan

AnonD-945200, 01 Sep 2020the non pro version only has two cameras. that's too b... moreNo, Both Pro and Non-Pro versions in zenfone 7 have 3 cameras.

The pic shown for comparison is of Asus Zenfone 6..

  • Anonymous

Essen, 01 Sep 2020So, it's way larger than the Zenfone 6, 40 grams heavi... moreNon-integrated 5G modem, larger cameras, third camera and larger body.
This is why it is heavier than zen6.

  • Anonymous

Emi, 01 Sep 2020Why can't Asus make their rog phone flip camera.. and ... moreBecause ROG has dual front front speakers.
With dual front speakers, you have at least 6mm bezels.
This way, you can have front camera there.
Making the flip cam system not necessary.

  • Emi

Why can't Asus make their rog phone flip camera.. and erase this zenphone line ... Then the rog will become ultimate all round

  • Essen

So, it's way larger than the Zenfone 6, 40 grams heavier than the Zenfone 6, which is a significant amount of heft, does not have a headphone jack, which the 6 does. And the 7 ha a marginally lower battery endurance than the 6. I wonder if Asus's decision to incorporate fast charging had anything to do with the increased weight. I recall both the Zenfone 6 and Rog 2 were staying away from fast charging so as to use the space for increased battery capacity. I thought that was a good call. Unless you salivate over the latest and greatest SoC and camera, the Zenfone 6 makes a better a buy at this point.

  • Anonymous

Anonymous, 01 Sep 2020So , no mention the GG3 rear panel as con. Component from ... moreHaving an AF on UWA is a welcome especially when you use it for group selfie..

It already 2020, why need to keep complaining about not having a 3.5mm adapter in the box? That thing is really cheap.. Plus it is clear that Asus remove the jack, so their customers can start using wireless earbuds..

And nothing wrong with gorilla glass 3.. It not like the GG6 is unbreakable or something.. Not a deal breaker.. Most importantly asus did not sold this over $1000.. So cutting down those specs are totally fine.

  • DAB

Is it possible to be recording a video with the camera at the back and then rotating the camera to face front? That would be cool.

  • Anonymous

So , no mention the GG3 rear panel as con. Component from 2012 that even few low end do not use anymore.
Nor the fact no earphones or adapter in the box.

I do not understand this fetish for AF for UWA, at this FL everything will be in focus.
Do not come with macro excuse, any 24-26mm main camera can do it.
I have done it for years, my phone is from 2015.

I am positive bout asus phones.. own one and never let me down.. but for the rpice of this phone I can also buy the xiaomi mi 10 ultra.. and then it get really difficult.. I like super fast charging and wireless charging...

if the price would have been 550 or so it would have been no brainer but for the same price as the ultra I think I am going for the ultra.

  • Anonymous

AnonD-945200, 01 Sep 2020the non pro version only has two cameras. that's too b... moreThe non pro version also has 3 Camera just without OIS. You probably misunderstood zenfone 6 as the non pro version.

GSMArena - OLED is not a "Pro" , its an option. LCD and OLED have some opposite sets of benefits and problems. there are LCD panels from 1990 working perfectly and OLED panels that are tainted with burn in after 6 months. OLED can be flexed but is destroyed if it touches oxygen/air

if you guys can't see the point of LCD for people with high usage (e.g. disabled users) then maybe you have too much access to a string of review units :)

AnonD-945200, 01 Sep 2020the non pro version only has two cameras. that's too b... moreThe non-pro (vanilla) has 3 cameras without OIS.

I would agree with all the cons expect the fingerprint scanner. It's fast, supports gestures, more secure (as compared to optical one). Why would you put your personal opinion in a professional review?

  • AnonD-945200

the non pro version only has two cameras. that's too bad for that asking price 👎👎
otherwise it's a good device with a compact form factor 👏

  • MrLong

Looks like a pretty good phone compared to the last Zenfone 6 this time, especially with the OLED panel. Software is quite unclear, and seems the price jump will be big this time.

  • Anonymous

No headphone jack and too expensive.

That's a well-balanced phone with all the necessary bells & whistles. The camera performance is actually quite solid, especially when you use it on the front.

ASUS has delivered once again. Both their ROG & Zenfone lineup is on the right path.