Xiaomi Mi 10T Pro 5G review

09 Oct 2020


Sort by:

  • Anonymous

Anonymous, 10 Oct 2020Well, as long as it has nice colors and over 60 Hz refresh ... moreIndeed

  • Anonymous

Ry, 11 Oct 2020The screen makes a massive difference. It should be one of ... moreMy point was, you can get excellent examples of both.

Dissmising a screen based on the technology used seems a bit daft to me if you've not even used the thing.

Real world uasge is all that matters. The technology is largely irrelevant.

Saying that, I don't think I could go back to using a 60hz panel 🙄

  • Anonymous

Anonymous, 10 Oct 2020Don't call them. No need for someone who'd never ... moreLCD died years ago on phones , soon on TV's too.

  • Anonymous

Anonymous, 11 Oct 2020Repeat after me, Miniled is not LCD... Miniled is NOT LCD (... moreIt is LCD you are confusing in mith Microled. Mini LCD is still backlit !

  • Anonymous

Ficus79, 11 Oct 2020I have a Xiaomi Mi-A2 Mi6x for 2.5 years now, and I'm ... moreHad 2 of these phones and they both fell to pieces also the software was bad which kind of defeats the purpose of and Android One phone.... Never again

  • Anonymous

LCD and expensive Xiaomi , is April 1st already ?

  • Anonymous

Why on earth would I buy this over a OnePlus ? The trashy add ridden OS ? Xiaomi's bad international service (non existent) ? , Tradition of being unreliable ? Can live with that on a 250€ phone but this much AND an LCD... What are they smoking ?

Anonymous, 11 Oct 2020This is the consensus "That being said, screen burn... moreAdding smaller more power efficient back plane transistors and connection's (newer back plane IGZO on OLED or IGZO LCD) douse help regarding organic layer life spin (producing far less heat) but over all OLED reached it's scaling (down) abilities long time ago.

Ficus79, 11 Oct 2020I have a Xiaomi Mi-A2 Mi6x for 2.5 years now, and I'm ... moreMi A2 has one of the lowest peak brightness and given that it's Android One, it does not have any boost improvements in brightness. Mi A2 in GSMArena only tops as 420 while Mi 6x has 461 cd/m(squared) in as peak. The issue with your statement was that your old phone based on one of the cheapest Xiaomi with known brightness measured in 420 nits represents as proper sample for the Mi10T 5G (which maxes-out at 650 nits) for your decision that LCDs are no good in bright sunlight. lol.

If you really want an AMOLED then it's fine, just don't drag down IPS panels using disjoint justifications.

Anonymous, 11 Oct 2020This is the consensus "That being said, screen burn... moreBurn-in and color tinting reports were mostly found in forums in Reddit, XDA, even in Samsung's own forums to name a few. I don't expect it to see in major articles though, even in here (GSMArena), since S8's tinting issues which samsung claims as "as appealing and natural".

https://www.gsmarena.com/galaxy_s8_red_tint_is_no_big_deal_consumer_reports_says-news-24699.php

Their fix was adding manual color sliders for the users to compensate manually, it's not a fix but just a patch, it does not resolve the inherent tinting issue, it only hides it until the degradation became obvious again to a point that the warranty runs out.

It's easy fo any "reviewers" to say that burn-ins rarely happens but the fact was that they swap smartphones most of the time, their smartphone turn-over period was very short and most smartphones they review end-up inside their storage to be used again for revisiting or "long-term" review.

If you want proof that burn-ins (worts case) and color tinting (when the user is careful but keeps devices in-use daily for 1 or two years), check the forums or even Youtube and not review sites. As easy as that.

  • Anonymous

Anonymous, 10 Oct 2020How they managed to do the screen cutout for the cam if it&... moreyou kidding me? my 2 years old Honor View 20 has a LCD and punch hole camera...

  • Sheshirdzhija

But s20 is even cheaper. Not fe, but regular one.

  • Anonymous

IpsDisplay, 10 Oct 2020Yeah they use OLEd because of how fast it depreciates ... moreThis is the consensus

"That being said, screen burn in isn’t something that should concern many users if they’re looking to buy a new OLED smartphone. Modern panels have much longer lifespans than early OLED smartphones, and even then burn in was rare. Just don’t leave a static image on the screen 24/7 with the brightness set at max and you can enjoy your displays for years without issue.

The bottom line is that you should be looking at several year’s worth of work out of a modern smartphone display before any screen burn in will be noticeable. "

And arent people keeping their phones more longer now due to higher prices than years ago?? Guess we be seeing alot more burn in articles lol

  • Anonymous

Moo3, 10 Oct 2020"Samsung, Huawei and Apple" use it because when y... moreKinda crazy how my Note 4 works to this day ;)

So back in the days when Iphones used LCD in flagships they were no degradation to it or disadvantages right???

  • Bdg

You can't compare it to S20 FE 4G that has Exynos.

  • Annas

Very nice review

  • Ficus79

I have a Xiaomi Mi-A2 Mi6x for 2.5 years now, and I'm super happy with it. The Android One on it is awesome. That's a mid-range cheap phone with lots of specs. The only thing that it lacks is a good amoled screen. The LTPS screen is good but outside in the sun is crap. You can't see on it and have to move to the shades... This 10T pro packs a punch but lacks again an amoled. So I would have to pass and when I will change it I will do it with a phone with amoled. The cameras on the Mi-A2 are not crap but sincerely the single 13mpix cam on my previous Asus Zenfone 2 Ze-550KL is much better than the Mi-A2's... So, amoled next for me...

Stop the OLED hype which I fell into with the S8+ (so is the glass backs vs plastics). I was looking into one wallpaper on my phone I took at a beach with a hazy, blue slight gray sky but the OLED display shows it with some grain, tiny bits of noise (younger, better eyes can see it more than me). Simply, the colors are not smooth and so is the resolution because of the Pentile/Diamond config.
LCDs are cheaper and the slightly higher power consumption is offset by larger batteries greater than 3500mah.
OLED can be best in a dark room with HDR video content but it is a rare type of use for me

  • Anonymous

IpsDisplay, 10 Oct 2020Yeah they use OLEd because of how fast it depreciates ... moreRepeat after me, Miniled is not LCD... Miniled is NOT LCD (do it 10 times please) and why would gsma profit from faster deprecation of display of all components, especially since battery will degrade wayyy before that? Has that extra bright LCD blinded your brain too?

  • Ry

Anonymous, 10 Oct 2020Am I the only one who couldn't give a toss about what ... moreThe screen makes a massive difference. It should be one of ur top priorities.. I mean the phone is basically almost 90 odd percent screen and the refresh rate and color/contrast capabilities are hugely obvious when doing.. ANYTHING on ur phone. I have a pixel 2xl and a 4xl and the 4xl absolutely demolishes the 2xl in screen quality. Watching Netflix between them even with non hdr titles is a night and day difference.