OnePlus 8T hands-on review

14 Oct 2020


Sort by:

You know what we'd have loved to see in the OnePlus 8T? MediaTek Dimensity 1000+

  • Shaurya Sharma

OnePlus smartphones are amazing in looks, really classy. But I think this device could have been much better.

  • Ayush Nair

The phone looks impressive by its looks but the performance review is not that good.

Typical S865, from every companies, unlike Samsung who always goes above all to use the + versions off s865+.

  • Botzer

Lohit, 15 Oct 2020I'm definitely getting this one because the Indian pri... moreWhat about Realme x7 pro or waiting for the player edition ?

  • Botzer

matuka, 18 Oct 2020No reason to get the 8T rather than POCO F2 Pro? Lmao... 60... morePoco's camera is better. 686 vs 586 difference is noticeable with Gcam

  • Botzer

matuka, 18 Oct 2020I think this is my next phone, I'm buying a OnePlus 8T... moreMy OP3 has lots of dust in the selfie camera, but it should be fixed in the new OnePlus phones that dont need IP68 to be water resistant.

  • Botzer

pufanu, 18 Oct 2020The 8T seems like a no brainer if you live in Europe. Thoug... moreNot really no brainer, the only difference noticeable is 120 hz and faster charging. But the photo, even for 450-500€, is worse than its competitors. In my country I can buy it for less than 515€, but I won't because of the photo segment (old IMX 586, no telephoto, no improvement...) and the new Oxygen OS 11.

  • Botzer

matuka, 20 Oct 2020Oh wow you're using a OnePlus 3T in late 2020, cool. I... moreBut an IPS display.... And 120 hz / 144 hz isn't that noticeable.

  • Mel subsuban

I help me about cellphone ai..need..me give your cellphone..please i give me you cellphone me no..cellphone me please..help help me

  • venus

Anonymous, 19 Oct 2020I like wireless charging, as it save on wear for the USB c ... morei think it would be cheaper to get the usb c port replaced if it wears off.

Okay after doing some research on Xiaomi phones and other competitors... I still think the 8T (8GB/128GB) at 599€ is the best choice for me if I decide to upgrade from my S9+. I could just scrimp along with my S9+ until 2021 and perhaps get a 1+8T Pro or 1+9/9 Pro. We'll see.

pufanu, 18 Oct 2020The 8T seems like a no brainer if you live in Europe. Thoug... moreOh wow you're using a OnePlus 3T in late 2020, cool. I had a 1+3 back in the day. Exactly, the 8T seems like a no-brainer in Europe. But now that you made me look at Xiaomi, the Xiaomi Mi 10T Pro 5G seems amazing for the money. It's releasing in 2 days and you could've even gotten an electric xiaomi scooter for free if you pre-ordered it early enough :D that's crazy. The scooters reserved for the early pre-orders have run out but the phone seems superb.

I'm just not sure how Xiaomi is, not sure if they're trustworthy and if their UI is good. Need to do some research. The 10T Pro also has an IR blaster which I like, I want them to make a comeback. The 10T Pro has an adaptive 144hz(!!!) screen and a 5000mah battery. 33W quick charging. It's 649€ while the 8T is 599€. This makes my decision harder. But yeah wireless charging is nice to have, for me it's mainly a gimmick though.

  • Anonymous

8T is substantially cheaper than the S20 FE 5G in the UK too (£549 vs £699). The OP8 seemed to suffer in its review here with weird price comparisons too - "40-50 euros less than the S20+", it's always been 50% less than the S20+ 5G here. OnePlus may be more expensive than they once were, but if you want decent software then they are still the value choice IMO.

Kadri, 17 Oct 2020Oneplust 8T Can have inbiuld automatically call recording... moreAren't there plenty of apps that can do this in playstore?

  • Anonymous

pufanu, 18 Oct 2020Wireless charging is nice to have but not an essential feat... moreI like wireless charging, as it save on wear for the USB c socket.

Obviously not an issue if you use wireless headphones, but I'm still on wired, so worth bearing in mind if anyone does the same frequently.

  • Anonymous

pufanu, 18 Oct 2020The 8T seems like a no brainer if you live in Europe. Thoug... moreYou can buy the Mi10 (256gb) for less then £430 in the UK.

  • Caveman

Ben Tulloch, 18 Oct 2020Oneplus nails OS, so much better than Samsung. Oneplus pho... moreDoesn't really matter since they don't support 120hz. My tab su can go full 120 in most titles

Anonymous, 18 Oct 2020I can see dat AMOLED tint from here Oneplus nails OS, so much better than Samsung.
Oneplus phones are consistently only just below full blown gaming phones in the benchmarks.

The "side black bars become gray while playing hdr" issue is present on the 7t too. Can confirm