Apple iPhone 12 Pro Max review

20 November 2020


Sort by:

sa11oum, 22 Nov 2020I don't even understand the obsession with 120Hz - yes... more120hz good for android phone, so can void seeing lag when scrolling ...

  • Annonymous

Anonymous, 21 Nov 2020That's probably because the iPhone 11 Pro Max is the b... moreTrue that. I tested it in the shop, it did not impress me. They exaggerated with the size, it is very uncomfortable to hold it, while the 12 pro is too small. I think 6.5" would have been a better choice. I liked the straight lines. The lack of 120hz is embarassing, I did not expect that. Hope next year they will add that and a much better camera.

  • Annonymous

Roy-86, 21 Nov 2020I pre-ordered the day 1 and got the phone last Friday from ... moreI noticed the same in Germany in a shop, the display looked a bit yellow, even though I turned off the true tone. I had the same problem with my iPhone 11 last year and I returned it.

  • cherry

SFS, 22 Nov 2020While majority android users disable their 120hz and 5G jus... moreNah, my S20 5G stays on 120hz, it is crazy smooth.

  • nisanz

I'm using S20+ on 120hz and the battery is more than great ! All day using the phone without problems ! I want to buy an Iphone but only if it has 120hz or more ! Without that, i don't care how fast it is or anything.

  • Anonymous

sa11oum, 22 Nov 2020I don't even understand the obsession with 120Hz - yes... moreIt's a spec gimmick to make the stupid feel that they have something better than Apple or Google's products :)

  • Anonymous

Lately, it feels as if your constant reposting of DxOMark's plugs is starting to impact your own reporting. You keep bringing up the generally minimal processing artifacts in the latest iPhones, but completely ignore the worse processing artifacts and poor color balance of the Huawei and Xiaomi. I used to consider your reviews the best of any similar site and this trend is troubling and disappointing.

sa11oum, 22 Nov 2020I don't even understand the obsession with 120Hz - yes... moreFor an OLED display higher refresh rate makes for less flickering caused by managing brightness levels through pulse-width modulation (PWM) method. Some people are more sensitive to that flickering and it may cause eye strain and headaches for them. So, it's not only about smoothness. Also, if Apple implement ProMotion display with LTPO tech (for better power efficiency) and make it a variable refresh rate like on iPad Pro, it may result in better battery life in some condition e.g. watching movies and reading books on less than 60 Hz, or maybe even always-on display with lowering refresh rate down to 1 Hz (like in Apple Watch 5/6).

  • Nikunj

Shamim, 22 Nov 2020Dear iPhone department I have observation recording in buil... morePhone recording is illegal in many countries so Apple choosing not to get into any legal issues that's why not giving inbuilt call recording. Even android is allowing only incoming call recording through google voice app or a third-party app. Similarly, Apple is giving the option to purchase a third-party app from the app store.

Shui8, 22 Nov 2020'Actual proven tech' Let me guess. According t... morenah not just the verge.

ANY site, including GSMA has better ideas of which phones are great compared to the blue anonymous guy and now you.

SFS, 22 Nov 2020While majority android users disable their 120hz and 5G jus... moreI don't even understand the obsession with 120Hz - yes its obviously nice to have, no question, but is it really that big of a deal? I really don't think it is. I have an iPad Pro 2018 and an iPhone and I use both of them equally throughout the day. I only see the difference when I think about it and look for it, otherwise it's not even noticeable... Do I want it on my smartphone? Yes. Do I think it's a dealbreaker, or a feature that is on my must-have list? Not even close!

  • Anonymous

SFS, 22 Nov 2020While majority android users disable their 120hz and 5G jus... moreI am running 160hz on my ROG 3.
12hr Screen on Time.
Plz take your lies about Android users dialing down refresh rate in your Apple echo chamber.
Not here.

SFS, 22 Nov 2020While majority android users disable their 120hz and 5G jus... moreWe just got a Mi 10 ultra in our family.
My Wife hasn't touched the refresh rate setting.
She is getting around 8hr SOT with her usage operating at 120hz. Almost twice as much as her previous phone. And the battery charging speed is just insane, 35-40% in 5min.

Why would anyone dial the refresh rate down to 60hz and have a subpar user experience in 2020?

Steve, 22 Nov 2020Android is also safer if u choose not to sideload apps.True man! Sideloading apps is the way to go.

I update them every 15-20 days.
Google Play services remains frozen behind a firewall (not allowed to connect to the Internet).

Removed Google play services dependencies for certain apps using Lucky Patcher.

Privacy is in our hands on Android.Things like these are not possible on iOS.
In iOS, the system apps and others end up automatically connect to the Internet with no provision of putting them behind a firewall. And the stock firewall is terrible.

SFS, 22 Nov 2020While majority android users disable their 120hz and 5G jus... moreLol why would they disable HRR?
It hardly costs them 10% more battery.
And with ultra fast charging, refilling the battery is super quick unlike IPhones where you are plugged to the charger for hours.

  • MrHong

SFS, 22 Nov 2020While majority android users disable their 120hz and 5G jus... moreThat is actually correct. Regular users will just enable Power saving mode. Only demanding but few users actually realize that their phones have HRR.

Still, I expect iPhone to have HRR panel. It's a shame the A14 is extremely powerful but locked behind a 60Hz screen.

  • SFS

Anonymous, 22 Nov 2020Wow. It's almost 2021 and Apple is still stuck with 60... moreWhile majority android users disable their 120hz and 5G just to save battery.

  • Anonymous

Anonymous, 22 Nov 2020Wow. It's almost 2021 and Apple is still stuck with 60... moreYou do not onow if cpu can handle 90 or 120.
A14 is inferior to A12z of ipad pro ...

  • Shamim

Dear iPhone department I have observation recording in built call recorder, it's expansive cell phone but don't have in built call recorder please think about this topics,

Thanks for understanding

LoveSunsets, 21 Nov 2020No one has mentioned the Zoom capability for regular photos... moreLol please, that 10x and 30x zoom is still purely digital. The 2.5x zoom in this phone is a pure zoom since it has its own sensor.