Asus ROG Phone 5 review

10 March 2021


Sort by:

  • Threnode

f13dfx, 08 Oct 2021Can anyone that owns a ROG 5 confirm that you can change th... moreSorry, intended to reply in another tab.

  • Threnode

f13dfx, 08 Oct 2021Can anyone that owns a ROG 5 confirm that you can change th... moreWhen bottom port is used for charging, side port is for plugging any additional device. Asus recommends this way in user manual.

Can anyone that owns a ROG 5 confirm that you can change the bottom USB-C port’s default functionality (via USB debugging) so I can connect it to my DJI drone controller & still use the primary side USB-C port to output video to AR smartglasses like the Epson Moverio BT-40.

  • Anonymous

forhad-61, 10 Jun 2021I mean, y is everyone running for the radio? Gamers don... moreI do tbh I consider it a deal breaker for me.

I mean, y is everyone running for the radio? Gamers don't really need that.

Anonymous, 17 Apr 2021Get a radio for 2 dollars dudeLol πŸ˜†πŸ˜†

  • John

Kug, 26 May 2021Bruh we dont need it.Jokes on you, I do. A lot of regional radio stations can't be accessible using online Internet radio. Also, YUKI93 is right about online radio using a lot of data, I also experienced similar situation. No more online Internet radio for me unless if I'm using WiFi.

Kug, 26 May 2021Bruh we dont need it.Lol, I do. I don't listen to online radio as it saps up data like petrol and offline FM Radio can be used everywhere.

  • Kug

YUKI93, 16 Apr 2021It's a real shame that this year's ROG Phone does... moreBruh we dont need it.

  • Anonymous

Anonymous, 17 Apr 2021Get a radio for 2 dollars dudeGo get a life dude

  • Anonymous

Noddyjesu, 14 May 2021Is it anywhere as good as the lg v60 for headphones?.......What a silly question. Of course it is.

  • Anonymous

"Upping the resolution would have meant more power consumption, a greater strain on the CPU and GPU, potentially lower refresh rate and average frame rates and higher input lag"
πŸ€¦β€β™‚οΈπŸ€¦β€β™‚οΈπŸ€¦β€β™‚οΈπŸ€¦β€β™‚οΈπŸ€¦β€β™‚οΈπŸ€¦β€β™‚οΈπŸ€¦β€β™‚οΈπŸ€¦β€β™‚οΈπŸ€¦β€β™‚οΈπŸ€¦β€β™‚οΈπŸ€¦β€β™‚οΈπŸ€¦β€β™‚οΈπŸ€¦β€β™‚οΈπŸ€¦β€β™‚οΈπŸ€¦β€β™‚οΈ

How are you going to be writing articles for gsmarena and not know that you can simply change the resolution in display settings????
They could clearly give a QHD panel and let you change it to 1080p. Or even default it to 1080p like samsung does.

  • Noddyjesu

Is it anywhere as good as the lg v60 for headphones?.......

Dinosaurs, 14 Apr 2021 Cause your not an RoG 5 user . So you don't know the ... moreHaving had a device that partially failed Zach's durability test, which in itself is very unscientific, I can attest that it shows some indication of longevity.
My previous device was the Xperia XZ and it had a plastic frame. The device itself is very durable and it survived A LOT of falls to hard floor over my time with it for 4 years. However the frame bent and twisted during normal use when I placed the device in my pant's front pocket. The apply pressure over time weaken the frame and even the top right corner of the display popped out.

I haven't had a ROG phone, but most complains I've read on verified purchased reviews show that the series is a fragile one. Most complain about having the display broken (either externally or internally) by a small fall (even with a protective case) meaning that the display could be very cheaply made or the connections to the motherboard are crap.

I wish you good luck with your device, but I didn't want to risk it, specially in my country where I get zero support for any brand (except Apple/Samsung)... so I actually stayed with the brand I've been comfortable.

  • Souvik

What a detailed review..kudos to the team..!!! loved every bit of analysis..πŸ’

  • Pavel Bures

Does it suffer from PWM flicker?

Anonymous, 17 Apr 2021Get a radio for 2 dollars dudeLol please, no way in H*ll I'm going to buy another device just to do one thing.

  • Anonymous

YUKI93, 16 Apr 2021It's a real shame that this year's ROG Phone does... moreGet a radio for 2 dollars dude

It's a real shame that this year's ROG Phone doesn't have FM Radio support, or else it would have been a solid alternative to the LG V60 despite not having a flagship-grade camera.

  • Dinosaurs

DQ, 17 Mar 2021Not only that the 5 II with Dolby Atmos turned on sounds ve... more Cause your not an RoG 5 user . So you don't know the real thing . Just saying. Cause I'm have rog 5 right now . Not that fragile tho.