Huawei Mate X2 review

05 April 2021


Sort by:

  • Anonymous

Nick Tegrataker, 09 Apr 2021If two products share the same form factors then the design... moreApart from the extra ram I can't see what are the pros of a Z fold from a hawardware point view.

Possibly (and hopefully) Z fold 3 solves those, but until then Mate X2 is a no brainer (as long as you can find it that is, because -practically- it is a ghost of a device)

  • 786

Lmfao, only 8gb Ram.
Epic fail

My S21ULTRA has 16gb Ram

MrDong, 08 Apr 2021Seriously, how is the design poor? Like the outer screen is... moreThe best? The Mi Mix Alpha. The best officially released one? The Mate Xs.

  • Setsky

TheLastOracle, 09 Apr 2021The biggest Samsung Fold 2 ripoff, yet. Ripoff? So every phone looks like a ripoff now. X2 is a gen ahead of fold.

TheLastOracle, 09 Apr 2021The biggest Samsung Fold 2 ripoff, yet. If two products share the same form factors then the design will be naturally very similar between them, too. For instance FlexPai 2 looks like Mate Xs but wider, and all smartphones nowadays are virtually indistinguishable from each other if you hide the camera bump. There's no other logical way to design this kind of product if you want to make it actually usable and not gimmicky.

Both Mate X2 and Fold 2 have their own respective pros and cons, but personally I prefer Mate's creaseless display and wedge shaped body.

  • Anonymous

PiCosm, 07 Apr 2021Just needs a stylus, best use of that unfolded screen. Why ... moreEverything is better on big screens. Anyone who made use of tablets can't go back to their phone for real. Phones are more portable, however their screens are dingy and mostly unusable.

Foldables marry the need for tablet sized screens + portability once they mature traditional phones (we used to call them phablets, and smartphones before) will die and foldables will replace them (and we will still calling *them* phones, a bit of how we started calling smartphones "phones" and later phablets we started calling "phones", eventually we will call foldables "phones").

  • MrDong

TheLastOracle, 09 Apr 2021The biggest Samsung Fold 2 ripoff, yet. Lol it’s not 🤦

What’s the ripoff then? Look no further than the Mi Mix Fold. Xiaomi likes to imitate other brands.

The biggest Samsung Fold 2 ripoff, yet.

orgasmic, 07 Apr 2021You are wrong and you are easy to trust anyone. Mate X2 ... more"Mate X2 has the same display like Mate Xs."
.
This statement of yours is just like saying Pagani Huayra has the same, exact engine as Pagani Zonda, when the reality, it's not at all! (Huayra has the 6.0L V12 Twin-Turbocharged, Zonda has the 6.0-7.3L V12 Naturally Aspirated)

  • MrDong

joe nodden, 08 Apr 2021The hinge may be better but that doesn't excuse the po... moreSeriously, how is the design poor? Like the outer screen is just more usable than the Z Fold 2. Then what’s the best looking foldable in your opinion?

In my opinion, I like this better than the Samsung and Xiaomi. The drawback is not just the price (actual cost to import to the states), but no official support from google and the risk on how long Huawei will provide support to it.

MrDong, 08 Apr 2021Lol it is a lot better, outer screen is usable and the hing... moreThe hinge may be better but that doesn't excuse the poor design.

YUKI93, 08 Apr 2021Lol, way worse? No one likes to have half the screen folded... moreNope quite a few people prefer their screens not to break when they accidentally let a speck of dirt onto it before closing their phone.

For once, I actually like Huawei's decision not to put a camera inside the screen. When it's unfolded, it becomes like a true tablet and that is a win for me. But the Mate X2's astronomical price tag really puts me off with this foldable screen smartphone. I literally can buy a brand new Samsung Galaxy Z Fold2 and a brand new Sony Xperia 5 ii all for the same price for one Mate X2.

joe nodden, 07 Apr 2021Way worse design than the X and Xs.Lol, way worse? No one likes to have half the screen folded outside when there is literally zero protection for it during accidents.

beep bop boop, 07 Apr 2021why is the mi mix fold not listed as competition for the X2?It's still not yet available for sale at the moment, we have to wait for it.

  • K

PiCosm, 07 Apr 2021Just needs a stylus, best use of that unfolded screen. Why ... moreI think they will give stylus with next version. If they give all features with one version they won't have any features left for next version.

orgasmic, 07 Apr 2021You are so fun my friend. Do you know how looks a display?... moreProve it instead of repeating the same argument over and over again.

  • MrDong

joe nodden, 07 Apr 2021Way worse design than the X and Xs.Lol it is a lot better, outer screen is usable and the hinge is sturdier

Way worse design than the X and Xs.