Sony Xperia 10 III review

4 June 2021


Sort by:

  • Anonymous

blue.sun, 06 Jun 2021Sony does not have to be afraid about ending like LG or oth... moreTell this to samsung costumers.
Samsung removes stuff from phones, they keep buying.

The A series used to be IP68 and Gorilla 5. Now plastic and IP67.
Flagships without sd slot, no jack, no accessories, weaker screen.

  • Anonymous

Anonymous, 06 Jun 2021No phone loses 100mah/year. That would literally make Xper... moreStop crying, your crap redmi note does not have IP68 to survive all your salty tears.

Chinese phones use batteries from same company that sells to Apple.
None of them make own batteries.
Among cellphone makers, only Samsung and Sony have own batteries. I do not count LG because they are gone.



  • Leon

blue.sun, 06 Jun 2021The fact that Sony does not pack any high tech, just a few ... moreGo for Xperia 5 series bro.

  • Freedom Lover

blue.sun, 06 Jun 2021In my country Xperia 10 III is about the same price as A52 ... moreThere is a good reason if you want to run an operating system that is Google, Apple or Microsoft. Linux Sailfish is designed for security and anonymity. It only runs Sony phones, 3 in particular. Xperia X, xperia Xa2/plus and xperia 10. So there is a very good reason.

  • Anonymous

blue.sun, 06 Jun 2021In my country Xperia 10 III is about the same price as A52 ... moreI haven't seen 10III nor I care about it and I will never bother to use it but I seriously doubt it's any worse than A52 5G which is nothing spectacular. That display spills rainbow colors over light backgrounds when you tilt it, colors have no punch or depth but they are saturated, like saturated and washed out at the same time. Colors are just thin through out which is really disappointing for OLED display. XZ2 Compact LCD has better richer color reproduction than A52 5G and I know that cause I have A52 5G as business phone. Camera output is overdigitized, too sharp with too many digital artifacts and ghosting is present at the edges. It's not a bad phone for the price by any means but I just can't see how Sony 10III can do any worse than that. I've seen camera samples from this review and output is softer with less detail, it has some fringe so it's just like A52's camera but on the other side of the axis while the middle would be a sweet spot.

YUKI93, 06 Jun 2021You don't have to do such a lengthy way. You can just ... moreI mean with the SD card in my phone, I can still use a USB cable to transfer. I have no idea why they want to make it seem longer than it's supposed to be.

Anonymous, 06 Jun 2021But you're not using a wire. You're transferring ... moreWhat??

I use a USB cable (which is a wire) to transport my photos from my phone to my computer, how does that take longer?

  • blue.sun

Anonymous, 06 Jun 2021I am surprised high the Amazon price is, local MediaMarkt i... moreIn my country Xperia 10 III is about the same price as A52 5G, but the Sony is inferior to Samsung in every aspect. The 4G version of A52 is 25 % cheaper than Sony and still can very well compete against it. There's absolutely no reason to buy Xperia.

  • Anonymous

I am surprised high the Amazon price is, local MediaMarkt is selling it here for €379.

Anyhow a fine phone for who doesn't want a chinese brand phone or "a overpriced Samsung" (LET'S BE CLEAR HERE, I like Samsung but their midrangers are overpriced, A52 is €440 in my country while an better S20 FE is €480, Samsung their midrangers and below were never a good pick.

But it the Sony good or bad? Depends on what the user wants, no notch, headphonejack included, telephoto and a good battery life are things some people want in a cheaper phone, instead of another "drop notch" phone with 4 cameras which are likely main, ultrawide (useful) and 2 useless macro and depth cameras.

If you want a good camera, don't care for a notch or telephoto, I would get a Pixel instead.

  • Anonymous

Anonymous, 06 Jun 2021At first glance, this phone doesn't look like a good c... moreDo you consider hole in screen a notchless display? If not, Sony is about the only brand that releases your so-called notchless display. Not much competition, isn't it?

  • Anonymous

Anonymous, 06 Jun 2021My 4 year XZ1 barely lose 100mah, now at 2680mah from 2790mahHow did you find that out? I am very keen to know.

  • blue.sun

SpiritWolf, 06 Jun 2021Admit what now? Which fact? That Sony phones pack more high... moreThe fact that Sony does not pack any high tech, just a few "easy-to-do" gimmicks to please some conservatives. But the rest? Outdated and cheap tech for a higher price.
And no, I am not a Sony hater. I had Xperia Tipo, now i use XA2. Wanted another Sony, but this is not the right choice, and I switch to Samsung.

  • Anonymous

Anonymous, 06 Jun 2021I enjoyed my Xperia X Compact, but I'll gladly avoid a... moreThat bloatware thing is bogus and has been for years. Still living in 2915 are you?

  • Anonymous

I enjoyed my Xperia X Compact, but I'll gladly avoid any new Sony device. Not a fan of their bloatware and update policy.

  • Anonymous

Anonymous, 06 Jun 2021No phone loses 100mah/year. That would literally make Xper... moreMy 4 year XZ1 barely lose 100mah, now at 2680mah from 2790mah

blue.sun, 06 Jun 2021Yes, Ace II has jack and IP68. And that is all. The rest is... moreAdmit what now? Which fact? That Sony phones pack more high end tech than most of OEM's combined? Not a Sony' fan' here, btw. Still Symbian and real Nokia fan (808 is my precious. :-) ). But if I am about to buy new phone powered by Spygle, i would consider Sony for sure.
Btw, about being buggy. Had a XZ3 for couple of months. Didn't encounter not a single Sony related bug. There were some Google-related, sure.

  • Anonymous

Anonymous, 05 Jun 2021It accelerates chemical reactions. This is why they do no... moreYou measure loss of battery capacity by percentage not mAh.

  • NotTroller

wongwatt, 06 Jun 2021Cutting through all the nonsense here, this is an expensive... moreCool story bro. Maybe you should share it on Xperia 1 II comment thread? And maybe stop mentioning "problems" only on threads which dont have anything to do with that model. That would really help dont you think? Btw thank you for your "opinion" but I desagree. Peace!

  • Anonymous

At first glance, this phone doesn't look like a good choice, considering the subpar SoC. But currently it's the cheapest phone available which gets you the following:
- notchless display
- expandable storage
- 3.5 mm audio jack
- NFC
- 5G connectivity
And that's it. Doesn't seem like much, but you won't find a cheaper device with all of the above. And then this Xperia still has some additional nice touches here and there, such as the IP rating, Gorilla Glass 6, USB 3.1 and good battery life.
And if it gets included in Sony's Open Devices project (as was the case with the 10 and 10 II models) then it's going to become even better.
So far I can only see a couple of downsides to this phone:
- lack of a gyroscope sensor (or its presence is unclear)
- single loudspeaker setup
- the risk of getting your DRM keys irreversibly wiped when unlocking the bootloader, as was the case with Sony phones in the past

This is coming from someone who has never owned or used a Sony phone in the past, so I'm not a fanboy by any means, just sharing my honest thoughts. I think I'll bit the bullet on this one, for the lack of a better choice.

Anonymous, 06 Jun 2021But you're not using a wire. You're transferring ... moreYou don't have to do such a lengthy way. You can just directly transfer files from the phone to a laptop via the USB cable. It really couldn't get any much easier than that.