Sony Xperia 1 III review

05 July 2021


Sort by:

  • NY Yankee

Android--Master, 05 Jul 2021No one uses 120hz? Look at some of the recent battery endur... moreYes I run my Mi 11 Ultra at full hd+ resolution instead of qhd+ as a personal preference.
I am getting 8hr SOT.
4k resolution is more of an overkill on smartphones.

I didn't mind dialing down the resolution, but I wouldn't be dialing down the refresh rate at any cost.
There are very little gains to be made in terms of battery by switching permanently to 60hz. Modern smartphones have dynamic refresh rate which does a great job of saving battery life.

Comes down to fan loyalty.
People who love all things Sony, will buy.
For the current technology, where do you stop?
People buying phones for 5G either live in a big city with pro sports teams or they're wishful thinkers. (reveal: 5G will fold under the LTE heading, before you ever see it on the top of your screen.)

  • Anonymous

New guy, 05 Jul 2021Oh, I didn't know it is using LG's panels. What a... moreOnly XZ3 uses oled from LG.
All other (including 10 series ) use oled from Samsung.
Sony just does not call it amoled.

786, 05 Jul 2021That will be 9.5mm thick and 210g, doesn't bother me, ... moreNo one uses 120hz? Look at some of the recent battery endurance ratings for phones with 120hz refresh rate.
There's less than 5% loss in battery.
You know what people don't use? Battery draining 4k resolution. That's the main Culprit for poor endurance rating of the Xperia 1 III

  • Anonymous

Anonymous, 05 Jul 2021Slight improvements over last year but the list of cons it ... moreVery good points

  • Anonymous

I remember Sony fans saying they do not need so much RAM because it consumes more power and Sony phones can run smoothly on 6 GB RAM. Now I see them justifying this phone's higher cost with its 12 GB RAM. What a contradictory bunch of people.

  • Anonymous

Shab, 05 Jul 2021Only gsmarena have problems with Xperia 1m3..every one els ... moreAre you sure you are not guilty of confirmation bias?

Anonymous, 05 Jul 2021Afcourse, it's a Samsung Galaxy flagship. Samsung kno... moreSamsung is no.1 brand for a reason. But Xiaomi is slowly creeping up the ladder.
I exclusively used Samsung Galaxy flagships for a more than a decade before
switching to Mi 11 Ultra. Never had a bad experience with Samsung. They have always provided reliable and consistent devices over a decade. The same can't be said for Sony.

Only gsmarena have problems with Xperia 1m3..every one els love it.99% youtube reviewer love Xperia 1 m3

  • Anonymous

Slight improvements over last year but the list of cons it too many. It's simply can't topple other flagships. Majority of the specs on paper remain on paper, doesn't meet up the expectations in real world.

- Physical fingerprint scanner is slower compared to competing with devices.
- Awkard tall aspect ratio good for certain things, but user gets overall less screen real estate compared to other displays around similar screen sizes.
- Improved brightness of the display but still behind other flagships in terms of brightness. Sunlight visibility behind other flagships.
- Lack of customization options for AOD coupled with below average battery life
- Sony stock software skin which is devoid of themes and other added features, has been left behind by oxygen OS, miui, one ui, color OS, etc.
- Overheating issue as Sony cheapened out on cooling like Samsung and Apple. Just plain avoidable if gaming is a priority.
- 30W charging is slower than Samsung 25W charging and heats upto 50°C
- 4k overkill display consumes too much battery.
- Same old main camera from last year putting it out of the top 10 phone cameras yet again.
- Terrible night mode.
- Poor video quality in dark.
- Variable zoom images subpar.
- No way to switch between lenses on the fly.
- No 4k60 from Main camera app, nobody wants to use manual mode in video just to be able to get 4K60.
- Poor AF in low light.
- Poor Ultrawide compared to other flagships.
- Lower quality selfie camera.
- Poor audio quality in videos.
- Availability is an issue in major markets. Delayed availability in September is an issue as people aren't going to be waiting for this phone till September.
- Overpriced beyond it's reputation in the current market.
- Uncertain future of Sony in smartphone sector steers away most buyers.

  • Anonymous

What a complete disappointment and utter defeat lol... considering the price and performance basically all other options in that range are better or cheaper.
I also doubt the 5 III will receive a better review, considering the 1/5 II reviews.
Keeping this in mind and that 1/5 II will soon go for cheap on sale because muh new generation I'd rather get myself a 5 II which will provide the best price/performance of all current Xperia phones.
Sony really needs to pick up the pace or soon there won't be any Xperia phones anymore.

  • Anonymous

Former iOS user , 05 Jul 2021I don't think the last year's sensor is a huge pr... moreVery few people actually buy Xperia phones.
Less people buying phone = less developers working on it = less likely possibility of gcam and other mods.

  • Anonymous

Anonymous, 05 Jul 2021Afcourse, it's a Samsung Galaxy flagship. Samsung kno... moreNo name Chinese brands like IQOO charging battery to 100% inside 15 minutes while Sony only reaches 23% in that time.
The Sony overheats to 50 deg C while IQOO barely exceeded average temperatures of other phones. No wonder Sony struggle to sell beyond 3-4 million phones every year

  • Anonymous

Former iOS user , 05 Jul 2021I don't think the last year's sensor is a huge pr... moreAfcourse, it's a Samsung Galaxy flagship.
Samsung knows how to extract best image quality out of their hardware. Sony engineers are always caught having fun and not focusing on work.
The 25W charging on Samsung is also way faster than tortoise speed charging on Xperia. Those 30W numbers are all marketing and specs on paper like the 4k screen and other things.

  • Anonymous

786, 05 Jul 2021That will be 9.5mm thick and 210g, doesn't bother me, ... more6000mah battery already available for phones with 9.3mm thickness and 196g weight.
Pretty sure 5000mAh can be fit inside the chassis.
Maybe it costs too much which is why Sony is avoiding putting bigger batteries

  • blue.sun

Anonymous, 05 Jul 2021This phone hardly deserves the 4 stars it got, though. 3 wo... moreOne less star for performace. With the latest CPU I would expect more...

  • Anonymous

[deleted post]This phone hardly deserves the 4 stars it got, though. 3 would be more honest, but seems like they wanted to be generous for some reason. One star off for the bad battery life and painstakingly slow charging, then another star off for the display issues (lack of brightness, no adaptive refresh rate). I couldn't care less about the speakers etc., since those are always physically too small to be able to produce usable sound quality anyway.

  • blue.sun

[deleted post]Maybe Sony just doesn't make exceptional phones, just average ones... But sells them for the price of the best ones.

  • 786

Dometalican, 05 Jul 2021It's pretty much why I criticized Sony for not going 5... moreThat will be 9.5mm thick and 210g, doesn't bother me, because I carry 2000mah slim credit card size powebank.
Lot off users and techsites will discredit the phone.
No one uses 120hz , because it drains battery.

  • Former iOS user

Anonymous, 05 Jul 2021Typical lower~tier parts by Sony to conserve cost. Last yea... moreI don't think the last year's sensor is a huge problem.
My Galaxy S21+ with similar Sony sensor does much better because of better image processing algorithms and camera software.
Witg gcam, it's even better. I doubt Sony Xperia 1 III users will get to enjoy gcam to counter the poor image quality in Auto mode on default app.