Samsung Galaxy Z Fold3 and Z Flip3 hands-on review

11 August 2021


Sort by:

When you have more money than sense.

  • Hsggsjja

Note series was redundant with S series ultra line up that has the same or more features except the S pen.

If Apple can take great photos with 12mp camera, so should Samsung work on that direction rather than limit itself to bulking up the camera size.

  • O

I'm not gonna lie. I'm a Samsung fanboy but I am disappointed that the note has been pretty much replaced with the fold 3. The Note was premium, had all features of the same year Galaxy S range and more. But the camera specs on the fold is poor, 12mp? Where are we? In 2010?

  • jNO

Foldables might have a great future. However, the note was supposed to retain its position in the market until it was outmatched by the fold.

  • Martin

Contrary to what the general audience thinks, I actually like the flip 3 phone as it is so compact yet powerful. And the technology being cheaper, I don't usually buy pricey phones but these ones got me thinking about getting one. I really hope Samsung becomes better with the technology over the years and after a couple of generations I may be inclined to order a flip phone :)

  • Anonymous

nick, 16 Aug 2021people who buy these phones are not concerned with having t... moreZ flip is a $999 phone. Given how people stopped buying computers and consoles and mostly/only buy phones $999 is on the cheap side.

Fold on the other hand...

  • Tofu

nick, 16 Aug 2021people who buy these phones are not concerned with having t... moreThat's a good point

  • nick

Ghostwolf87, 15 Aug 2021Over-priced, over-hyped gimmicks that will barely last the ... morepeople who buy these phones are not concerned with having them last years. They most likely change phones every year having 1800$ to spare for a phone. These are most likely those that buy 2000$ t-shirts from supreme or whatever overpriced brand they can find, just to get the attention.

Josh, 15 Aug 2021I bet even if Samsung removes the crease, graces it's ... moreCorrect!!!

Most of the people complaining about the Fold 2 (and any other phone for that matter) are people who havent even experienced the product yet, there's just too many woke people nowadays.

In my opinion, if you dont like the product then just dont buy it, theres a lot of options out there.

Ghostwolf87, 15 Aug 2021Over-priced, over-hyped gimmicks that will barely last the ... moreive had the Fold 2 for 6 months and no, i have not managed to destroy the screen. Upon trying the live sample of the Fold 3, i can say the screen is indeed tougher than than Fold 2, so

  • Anonymous

Only 8gb ram. Lmao, epic failllll

Over-priced, over-hyped gimmicks that will barely last the life expectancy of their batteries.

How many times are people going to have to replace the PLASTIC screens when they start getting scratches and fail at the pivot points?

LG and Microsoft had the right ideas with two separate screens facing each other. Their problems have always been poor marketing, and not getting apps optimized ahead time to work with the dual screens prior to release.

  • Jin

Great info, but I don't see how any of it constitutes as "hands on"

There's specs. There's a few shots of it.
Where's the feedback on it physically?

  • Josh

Colin McD, 15 Aug 2021I cant get over how many whingers are on here. Doesn't... moreYou're so right, People just assume it will be nonsense/thick/fastest depleting battery when they did not even hold the phone in their hands or use it for a few hours to probably judge, even if Samsung probably optimised it, it's so easy for people to complain the whole time, about anything and everything, every little thing.............

  • Josh

I bet even if Samsung removes the crease, graces it's next generation foldable with the S21 Ultra/S22 camera setup and even makes it even thinner and closes the gap completely with a full IP68 water and dust certification, People will still complain. People complain like the Z Fold 3 is completely nonsense...... They haven't even read or seen any reviews yet

  • Colin McD

I cant get over how many whingers are on here. Doesn't matter what Samsung do, y'all will never be happy. Queue the usual "I'm keeping my NoTe 9 because of this and that, 3.5mm headphone jack blah blah..

I'm glad Samsung have pushed ahead with this, both Z Fold/Flip 3. Yes there are compromises and there always will be.

Nice. Very solid & premium material so is the cost.

  • Anonymous

Duck of death, 14 Aug 2021Who's selling the displays to Xiaomi? Samsung, right? ... morenot all xiaomi phones use samsung screen

Harvey Weinstein , 14 Aug 2021What you call "not rushing", is actually waiting ... moreThe reason they introduce features late has everything to do with profits nothing to with the technology maturing as their fans keep saying.

Now that most Android phones have High refresh rate panels, the cost of these panels has gone down. Apple implementing High refresh rate panel 2-3 years back would have meant they had to pay high costs for the same.
High manufacturing cost = low profit for the company.

  • Anonymous

Yeah, 13 Aug 2021Yea, but apple will doing what others are doing right... I... moreSamsung has already mastered the foldable.
Apple doesn't even have a prototype design yet. They are simply behind other manufacturers.