Samsung Galaxy Z Flip3 5G review

20 August 2021


Sort by:

  • j
  • jayde
  • sX4
  • 21 Oct 2022

Sarkirssian, 22 Aug 2021It seems most of you by phones just to others talk about. I... moreWell said.

    • I
    • I love phones
    • nyH
    • 27 Aug 2022

    Awesome device, I had the first flip for almost 2 years so this one was a natural progressio. If you had fold or flip you know you can recommend it with ease- its not a phone for everyone thats a fact, also battery could be a bit bigger- on the plus side using and owning foldable phone is an awesome experienceand if you have money go for it 😎

      • j
      • jayde
      • pLV
      • 16 Jul 2022

      Al zummak, 02 Jun 2022I bought two phones last Oct 2021. In April 2022 I noticed... moreI came here to compare Motorola Razr 5g with Samsung Z Flip 5g. At the beginning of 2021 I began to yearn for the days of my old folding phone, a Samsung e210 (I think) because I hate big heavy phones for both aesthetic and practical reasons. Even my LG G50 was better than today's behemoths for me. So I began researching current folding phones and spent ages trying to decide between razr and flip. Even then users were reporting display problems with Samsung display along the fold and difficulty getting them resolved under warranty. So I bought the razr 5g in March 2021. Only reason I was considering a swap to flip currently were a couple of design flaws. The razr is not that easy to open due to the housing lip and, more annoyingly, my fingers often catch the volume rocker on top rght when phone is folded and I'm rushing to answer a call. The outer screen is a decent size and does allow call answering, but not always easy to see in daylight. There might be a shortcut ofc.
      Anyway, other than that, no problems at all with the phone and the inner display remains unblemished. So, although specs are not as good as flip, for those people who want a robust folding phone why not check out Motorola Razr 5g. Needless to say, after reading user comments here I'm not going to bother with the z flip.

        • c
        • croth
        • qnx
        • 24 Jun 2022

        Al zummak, 02 Jun 2022I bought two phones last Oct 2021. In April 2022 I noticed... moreI've experienced the same issue with my 8 month old Z Flip 3. Screen started with black line in fold area and gradually grew to the entire screen (about 8-10 hours). Was told to go to Best Buy store for support and given a 'case number'.
        Best Buy people looked at me like I had 2 heads and said they could do nothing, went on line and found 'YouBreakIFix' store as accredited Samsung repair center. This is all BS as they told me they could do nothing as well as the display was basically crap and breaks easily.
        I've used Samsung products for years without issue (TV's, appliances, even vacuum cleaner).
        This cell phone issue has turned me against the entire company. DO NOT BUY SAMSUNG Z FLIP PHONES if you expect warranty to be honored.

          Great phone but no option for eSim, I have the unlocked version from samsung website and I love the phone beside the eSim that is dispointed

            • i
            • ikhalid
            • dZq
            • 02 Jun 2022

            Impressed , 26 Dec 2021I have a 13Pro Max. Best phone ever. But this is the first ... morebest iphone i used after owned 13pro max is iphone X.

              • A
              • Al zummak
              • FIn
              • 02 Jun 2022

              I bought two phones last Oct 2021. In April 2022 I noticed a thin black line running across the fold in my phone. I showed to my wife. And told her I'd take it back to U.S Celluler in the morning concerning the issue. Keep in mind i bought a hard protective sleeve so just in case i ever dropped it. But i had not. Nor exposed it to rain or dropped in water. When i got up in the morning the line was over 1 inch wide on both sides of the center hinge of the phone. We had taken the warrenty offered by U S Celluler. And it came with a 1 year warrenty by Samsung. So once at U.S. Celluler and showed them the issue with the phone. They agreed there was no visual damage to the phone. Other then the big black screen in the center of the phone. At the time of my visit the U.S. Celluler District manager happen to be visiting the store. And simply came over to ask me about my visit today and the service so far provided. I then showed him my Galaxy Z flip 3 5G phone and showed him the issue. He then looked it over. Then shared with me that he had noticed a number of these phones have coming back to the varoius stores for the same issue. And all of them was 8 months or less. The issue he said was that the more the phone is opened and closed it wears out the screen. With visual issue along the center of the screen where it folds.
              So being it was under warrenty. I needed to call Samsung and place a work order on phone. Then they would text me a shipping label thru UPS for free shipping. So after i shipped it to them. I was contacted by Samsung concerning my phone. They told me that yes the damages was within the phone. And nothing on the outside. But that the display screen is not covered under there warrenty. And if i wanted my phone repaired. It was going to cost me $400.+ for them to repair it. Unless i went with U.S. Celluler one year warrenty! Needless to say after countless phone calls concerning the two phones I bought and paying $900.+ for each. SAMSUNG Has made every excuse to me about why they would not hold up there end of a warrenty. Finally after calling 7 times to talk to a Samsung supervisor. And everytime being hanged up or forwards to a 5 min. Question and answer about my service. I finally talked to a supervisor who told me basically i was shit out of luck. That there bullshit warrenty did not cover the display screen. But yet when you look up Samsung warrenty web site. It clearly in big bold letters that says the display is covered as long as there no visual damage. So the next call the Samsung they tried to tell me the service tec. Noted scratches all over the screen? I then replyed your email you sent me says there is no visual damage. And being i had thr phone in front of me. I told this superisor that will not fly if this go's to the next step Better Business center. And Charge Samsung for commiting warrenty fraud. Then the supervisor said he would have legal call me in the morning. Note: So far no return call from Samsung Legal Dept.

              Note: I use this phone for my work. And average 25 to 30 just work related calls a day. And as I'm a retired navy man of 56 years of age. I dont do alot of wild crazy stuff. And have never in 30+ years has ever had replace a damaged or lost phone. So its safe to say Samsung as a company offers the worst customer service i have ever been invloved in. And that from what U.S. Celluler district manager had to say. Its clear Samsung pushed out a product that was clearly not ready for the buyers. And then dumped on a lie after lie about there so called warrenty. Free advice stay clear of Samsung and clearly stay clear of there new Galaxy Z flip3 5G phone!!!!

                Ivan, 17 May 2022Immature technology, the foldable screen still does not wor... moreI feel your pain, and appreciate your input. I wanted the SMG9298 / W2017 flip with snapdragon 820 (not even sure what the durability is like in the long-term on it... to this day), but passed because of lack of CDMA and high cost. Seems unlikely that it would be better than this one, durability wise (could be wrong -- feel free any and all to comment about that model)...

                  • I
                  • Ivan
                  • 0Uy
                  • 17 May 2022

                  Immature technology, the foldable screen still does not work, not durable (After 9 months it is full of cracks along the foldable part) . Of course, nothing is a warranty problem. Considering that we get a completely non-durable construction for the sacrificed battery capacity, it is a bad option. I DO NOT RECOMMEND THE PHONE TO ANYONE!

                    • A
                    • Adhdwillovercome
                    • t7%
                    • 21 Apr 2022

                    Impressed , 26 Dec 2021I have a 13Pro Max. Best phone ever. But this is the first ... moreDude how's your flip 3? Do you like the cam? Is the closing and opening part gets annoying?

                      • A
                      • Aghbash
                      • Tmg
                      • 11 Apr 2022

                      is it single sim card or dual sim ?

                        • ?
                        • Anonymous
                        • 4q{
                        • 26 Feb 2022

                        Sarkirssian, 22 Aug 2021It seems most of you by phones just to others talk about. I... moreSo very true 👍 Thank you!

                          • I
                          • Impressed
                          • vCL
                          • 26 Dec 2021

                          billy zane, 30 Aug 2021No dust certification. I have a bad feeling that dog hair w... moreCan’t tell if you are serious. You swimming in dog hair at your house? I don’t have a pet but I can’t see this being an issue for most people (even those who won a dog)

                            • I
                            • Impressed
                            • vCL
                            • 26 Dec 2021

                            I have a 13Pro Max. Best phone ever. But this is the first phone that has excites me about tech since the iPhone 5S or the S8. Just a beautiful design. My major concerns with this are the battery and camera. Everything else is beyond impressive (to me).
                            Seeing this review the camera is more than adequate and the battery will be fine, I mean I lived with a iPhone 7 for 2 years without issue and Samsungs low power mode will be fine for a weekend. Phones these days also charge quicker than the old 5w days.
                            I’ve ordered mine and can’t wait.

                              • ?
                              • Anonymous
                              • k3a
                              • 07 Dec 2021

                              Wolfe2118, 01 Nov 2021I love this phone! But after 2 months the screen split at ... moreGood move on the appliances. Samsung has been having a ton of issues with them.

                                • m
                                • memyselfandi
                                • Mgw
                                • 26 Nov 2021

                                Anonymous, 21 Aug 2021My opinion is based on my usage, not any "vision"... moreKudos..........................

                                  I love this phone! But after 2 months the screen split at the fold. I called Samsung today to ask about a warranty repair and was told that it's not covered. I made it clear that the phone was not damaged but I simply opened it up after sitting on the counter for a couple hours and the split was there. Come to find out that I'm not the only one that has had this problem. In other news I'm remodeling my house and using new appliances, since Samsung will not honor it's warranty for defects I will certainly not be buying their appliances.

                                    • D
                                    • AnonD-1014095
                                    • mXr
                                    • 10 Oct 2021

                                    Too tall when opened
                                    Rubbish camera, should had the S21ultra camera.
                                    No 16gb Ram
                                    No s888+

                                      • ?
                                      • Anonymous
                                      • KZK
                                      • 29 Sep 2021

                                      69 hours of battery endurance rating is really disappointing tbh since the first-gen model from 2019 can do 85 hours. Since Samsung doesn't include DeX support in the first place, I may as well just save my money and buy the original Z Flip instead. After all, it was shipped with Android 10 out of the box and eligible for three major OS update, so it can definitely enjoy Android 13 with OneUI 5.0 update.

                                        • ?
                                        • Anonymous
                                        • KZK
                                        • 29 Sep 2021

                                        Usman.555, 19 Sep 2021I regret to buy this phone. It’s getting very hot during no... moreSnapdragon 888 is prone to overheating under intensive use. It feels like Snapdragon 810 all over again.