vivo X70 Pro+ review

22 October 2021


Sort by:

YUKI93, 23 Oct 2021Considering that Sony has a higher screen resolution than t... moreI'm not quite sure what's "ironic" about lasting over 2 hours longer for video playback and 5 hours longer for web browsing while having an identical battery capacity, not to mention that the display is quite significantly larger on X70 Pro+.

Dometalican, 22 Oct 2021Even worse battery life vs the LTPO-less Xperia 1 iii. BBK ... moreNow that you mention the Xperia 1 Mk3, that does make a solid argument. They don't use an LTPO screen and yet they can be close to rivals with an LTPO screen, and that's before counting in its CinemaWide 4K screen resolution.

Nick Tegrataker, 23 Oct 2021Did you look at the actual battery life scores? https://fd... moreConsidering that Sony has a higher screen resolution than this Vivo, I do find it rather ironic. Even the screen in the Sony is not an LTPO type, which makes it even more ironic! Just imagine what would happen if Sony use an LTPO screen while maintaining their CinemaWide 4K screen resolution and excellent battery optimization software, I definitely wouldn't look at the rest.

  • Over

r33fd, 23 Oct 2021I watched that comparison and xiaomi was completely obliter... moreWatched the comparison and you are just exaggerating about the Mi 11 Ultra being 'completely obliterated' by the Vivo. Selfie looked better on the Mi 11 Ultra and night shots were at best tied between the two with each being better and worse in some shots. Vivo's photos also looked a tinge under exposed, while the Mi's are a bit over exposed.

  • Tony

Lccy, 22 Oct 2021A 23mm equivalent lens is far too wide as a main camera, le... moreI agree. 23mm can be too wide for certain uses like portraiture. Ends up distorting faces/ body shapes even if you frame the shot carefully. That's a shame given that main cams in top-end smartphones are such capable little devices!
I used to adore the iPhone 4s for this reason - it's ancient now, but the 35mm focal length used to produce lovely portraits (even without any faux bokeh).

Anonymous, 23 Oct 2021Front camera of pixel 8MP. This is not enough to show all... moreWhy are you suddenly talking about the front camera now??

  • Anonymous

Mi 11 ultra is officially available in country and can gsmarena stop with one plus fanboys for reviewer. Even x70 pro has better camera than one plus 9 pro

Anonymous, 23 Oct 2021Front camera of pixel 8MP. This is not enough to show all... moreYou talking about front camera now? That has even more smaller sensor?

Guess what? Those imperfection selfies are true to life, the oversharp boost to cover up the small sensor used, therefore some artifacts on the texture. Others that use 8mp selfie? Some are good, some are way worse with oversmoothing effects, blown out highlight & overexposed. Worse front camera in a flagship level phone? Its Xperia. From the beginning till to this day. Thats a fact.

  • Ckk

Thinking about getting this or Samsung S22 ultra.
I'm in the US, S22 ultra with good camera and 5G I wouldn't mind waiting.

  • Anonymous

Main camera should be 50mm. Anything wider is just ludicrous.

  • Anonymous

Shui8, 23 Oct 2021Past Pixel does the bit of sharpening to compensate the sma... moreFront camera of pixel 8MP.
This is not enough to show all skins imperfections like it does.

How many phones have used 1/2.6" 12MP over the years.
None tries to boost texture that way.

  • Logic

Bradley Rodriguez, 22 Oct 2021What do you mean? Has the battery been good for you? Thinki... moreHe means the battery life in real world use is worse than what GSMarena achieved in lab testing. Which is true because in real world our phone usually go through various levels of network signal strength, which affect battery drain differently.

Anonymous, 22 Oct 2021Gladly vivo does not abuse sharpening like i am sure pixel ... morePast Pixel does the bit of sharpening to compensate the small 1/2.6" sensor size. Typical method like all phones do in that sensor size. Xperia 1 1/2.6” sensor does it as well, in fact much much more worse than any Pixel does. - https://m.gsmarena.com/piccmp.php3?idType=1&idPhone1=10833&idPhone2=9543&idPhone3=9895

Pixel 6 have way bigger sensor. Hopefully they tone the sharpening down. The rest of the processing is excellent already.

  • Anonymous

Salfa, 22 Oct 2021It's subjective don't forget, what appeals to you... moreI searched for TechTablets instead and the Vivo was better. Just look at the night mode. Also beats iPhone.

Salfa, 22 Oct 2021It's subjective don't forget, what appeals to you... moreI watched that comparison and xiaomi was completely obliterated.

I guess if they had the same software, gn2 sensor should theoretically be better, but xiaomi software for camera is pretty bad.

  • Anonymous

The x70 pro plus takes the best photos I've ever seen, especially at night. I've owned both the Xiaomi mi 11 and 13 pro max and they can't compare. In daylight they are pretty similar but the vivo has the best HDR algorithm, not sure if this is due to the v1 chip or software. Again, at night the vivo is in a different world, I'm eager to see what the pixel 6 pro can do with the same sensor.

Salfa, 22 Oct 2021It's subjective don't forget, what appeals to you... morei've seen reviews.

  • Anonymous

GregLu, 22 Oct 2021It's mean to be used as a mirror for 'selfie like... moreit can be maybe for the selfie but then vivo wrote something on it so maybe it was just meant as a showpiece than a selfie mirror

  • Anonymous

How good is the astro mode? Is it as good as Google's astro mode?