Xiaomi Mi 11 Ultra long-term review

26 November 2021


Sort by:

AresinUAE, 29 Nov 2021Why is it a problem? Why do i need to compare it with all t... moreBecause you had a problem with my comment, when I mentioned that
S21 Ultra isn't even top 5 among camera smartphones. That's why you need to go and use the other phones.

  • Anonymous

It's high time for a full review of the Pixel 6 Pro to bump the barely-selling Xiaomi Ultra from this choice position.

ABF Media, 29 Nov 2021That's the problem, you have only used S21 Ultra and M... moreWhy is it a problem? Why do i need to compare it with all those other phones? This review is about Mi 11 ultra and the reviewer only compared it to the S21 ultra (and iphone13pro) and also because thats what i have and they both came at the same time and it is obviously what they wanted to match. Actually I went an extra mile just to get the Mi11Ultra because it is also not available locally. I would however certainly love to get a hold of those phones you said, if only they were available where im at.

however let me make a comparison wtih what the flagships I owned the past year or so (AND THESE ARE ALL MY PERSONAL OPINION). Huawei P40 Pro is still the best even if it came 1 year earlier- photo, zoom photos and videos can still beat the Mi11 ultra and S21Ultra. The Mate40Pro definitely loses to the P40Pro and to the Mi11ultra and to S21Ultra. The iPhone13pro can take brighter (and maybe/sometimes better) pictures in normal conditions than both the Mi11Ultra and the S21Ultra but it is arguably inferior when it comes to zoom.

Dion3285, 29 Nov 2021I think raw looks good cause Xiaomi camera software really ... moreIts just fine - thats the stock camera is. Better than previous xiaomi phones, still, but it has long way of becoming better with processing. Best processing currently is Huawei P50 Pro imho.
But gcam (right mod tunned) + Mi 11 Ultra is stellar. Or using RAW dng's (by the way, these ones are better using Freedcam). Or try RAW video recording and you will be schocked.

Android.Authority, 29 Nov 2021When did I ever talk about getting monthly updates?? I sa... moreWho says im crying because of an update from one or two month ago? Like you i dont really mind getting even quarterly or bi-anual updates as long as i have what i need. What im saying is I got what i think is the latest update but still didnt get the functionality of video in the rear display, thats why i asked you if you have that function now, please tell me how to do it maybe its a feature i need to activate that i havent found yet.

Also the part that Im calling bull is the part that you quoted -

freeDom21, 29 Nov 2021Actually these lens are one of the sharpest. Solutions in... moreI think raw looks good cause Xiaomi camera software really doesn't do a good job, so Raw + Manual editing is the way to go

My name is, 29 Nov 2021Well, I think that Xiaomi 11 ultra cameras lack micro detai... moreActually these lens are one of the sharpest.
Solutions instead of washed details with stock is to use gcam or shoot in RAW. RAW images are crazy good. Also, with motion cam app now its possible to shoot RAW video quite fluidly. Looks another level.

ABF Media, 29 Nov 2021What is the use of all that battery when it can't even... moreYou are right.... A lightweight can't compete with a Heavyweight.
The Heavyweight always wins!!

My name is, 29 Nov 2021Well, I think that Xiaomi 11 ultra cameras lack micro detai... morelmao I haven't even noticed that

  • My name is

Well, I think that Xiaomi 11 ultra cameras lack micro detail. And the colors do look very washed out on the original pictures. And that dog by the cabin is licking his ba.....

Anonymous, 27 Nov 2021Which weaknesses of the phone are the review hiding? The re... morePaid reviews? On what basis?

They get free review units from apple?

First of all, that makes no sense. If apple stops giving them review units because they aren't saying good things about them, then they will just say that apple stopped giving me review units because I didn't say good things about them in the 12 pro max review. Boom, apple is instantly exposed.

Plus, GSMarena gives the 13 pro max a 4.6 and the mi 11 ultra a 4.6. But to you guys, 13 pro max should get like a 2.

Never heard you guys say GSMA is biased.

Android.Authority, 27 Nov 2021It's not about the Samsung flagship getting dethroned ... moreI always get surprised how many people here hate some company, just because it's name is apple, they just can't shed this stereotype about apple and it's products, even though their products are far better from what we used to get ten years back

  • Anonymous

ABF Media, 29 Nov 2021That's the problem, you have only used S21 Ultra and M... moreGoogle is a joke right now. Maybe with few updates will become more than what it is right now.

Promising , 29 Nov 2021If this had iPhone pro max battery I would try it out. Righ... moreWhat is the use of all that battery when it can't even match half the functionality of Android, let alone feature packed miui?

Your iOS saves battery by being light and not allowing you to truly multi-task or give you added functionality in the background like split screen multitasking, quick ball, second space etc.

Also, one can be back using the phone in half an hour instead of waiting two hours on iPhone because of slow charging.


AresinUAE, 29 Nov 2021My camera comparison is based on my actual usage of these 2... moreThat's the problem, you have only used S21 Ultra and Mi 11 Ultra.
Go and use vivo X70 Pro Plus, Google Pixel 6 Pro, Oneplus 9 pro, Honor Magic 3 Pro+ and then I bet you won't include S21 Ultra in your top 5.

AresinUAE, 29 Nov 2021Mine is also china ROM but i dont get monthly updates for s... moreI am on China ROM (beta) which usually gets weekly updates.
Likewise, it's also available on EU ROM based on China ROM beta.
Don't know if it's available on stable China ROM yet.

AresinUAE, 29 Nov 2021Mine is also china ROM but i dont get monthly updates for s... moreWhen did I ever talk about getting monthly updates??
I said China ROM is 4-5 months ahead of global.
New features and other improvements & fixes take 4-5 months to arrive on global ROM.

I don't really care about how updated my phone is as long as everything is working.
You are upset that your security patch is two months older?? C'mon man... Did you let the marketing tactics of companies get to you???
Several others with latest security patch are at risk because they'll click a wrong link in their email or have weak passwords or whatever. Latest security patch won't help them.

AresinUAE, 29 Nov 2021My camera comparison is based on my actual usage of these 2... moreI returned my S21 Ultra and then bought Mi 11 Ultra when it was available.
The camera on Mi 11 Ultra is miles ahead, both in photo and video.
The video recording on S21 Ultra Exynos was even worse than my previous Galaxy Note 9.

And yeah if you don't want to trust Gsmarena's words and call their review bull, then why are you even here??

  • Professional

Phenomenal device and superb camera. I think there is no better device for the moment.

  • uluS21Ultra

The shutter lack is for me the ko criteria.
There is nothing worse than the shutter delay.