Samsung Galaxy A03s review

20 December 2021


Sort by:

  • AgainstTechWaste

My problem with this and other phones of this calibre is that they are frustrating to use and cause people to feel like they need to upgrade sooner than they would have had.

I'd happily buy a phone where performance for price is the sole aim. Don't give me 4 cameras on the back that I am never going to use. Give me a basic selfie camera. Don't give me NFC, don't give me a huge screen or tiny bezels. Don't give me a fingerprint sensor, give me face unlock instead.

For a budget phone, give me a reasonably up to date octa core processor, mediatek or Qualcomm and a reasonable amount of onboard memory (32 gb at least with the ability to add an SD card). Give me a reasonable amount of RAM, a decent battery, good plastic build quality and a smaller (say 5.2 to 5.8 inch) 720p screen, Android Go or UI Core, a headphone jack and solid build quality. I don't want 4 cameras of which 3 are useless.

I know a lot of people want trickle down from flagships. I just want something that is not frustrating to use, a good price, does what I want it to without feeling I have bought a landfill filler and have to buy something else again after 2 months. This must be doable at around the $150 mark.

It's a bad phone. I have had it for a week now and I can confirm that it's charging is awful as u have to wait for 4 hours to get a full charge. It's finger print scanner misbehaves after updating, it barely recognises the registered fingers. I should have bought realme or redmi.

  • Raj

Samsung a03s has network problems
Even if you provide good network service in the same place on other phones
Samsung a03s phone has the same place network problem

  • Eduardo

It's my best ever smartphone.but what makes me mad about it,is the how to take a screenshot.the android native way isn't working.pressing power and vol down both at once not working.Im in Kenya (Africa) any guidance will be appreciated

  • Dee

I needed a phone fast as my other phone which was an A20 totally died without warning so the pros it has a pretty good camera an I think that's it.
it takes forever to charge, the internet is kinda slow and I was on the phone an it just hung up mid sentence. The sound quality when talking kinda sucks too. Not a bad phone for a budget phone and short term. I def will be upgrading soon

  • mohsen

Anonymous, 06 Jan 2022Why is the 4/64 version not sold in Europe?! Would have bou... moreIf you live in Italy you can buy it from Amazon

  • Jun

alexfinger21, 23 Dec 2021153 dollars... that's overpriced. Either make a better... moreI bought the A03s 4/64 around $120 here in SEA

  • MANDOZA

im also very dissapointed with the slow charging takes forever

  • Kay

Phone is very laggy with no added apps installed even. Good phone for low use

  • M.A.hasem

Saif, 22 Dec 2021Very bad camera performance at this price point. I'm d... moreWhts the solution?

  • M.A.hasem

Why not clear the chemera photo?

  • reader

Anonymous, 30 Dec 2021Come on, we all know Samsung doesn't give fast chargin... moreYou sure? It's advertised everywhere to have the fast charging capabilities...

  • Anonymous

Why is the 4/64 version not sold in Europe?! Would have bought one for sure, I am simply in no need for a better camera or fast charging etc., like the a12 for instance. But just bit more ram and storage would be perfect for me. It seems the 4/64 version is sold all over the world but I can't find it anywhere in Western Europe, is there a reason for this? I guess I'm better off with Oppo now..

  • Anonymous

AnonD-977150, 27 Dec 2021Means your battery will be preserved for longevity, not lik... moreCome on, we all know Samsung doesn't give fast charging to this phone because of cost-cutting. The previous-gen A02s having 15W charging and included 15W charger in the box is the proof of cost-cutting done to A03s.

AnonD-977150, 27 Dec 2021Means your battery will be preserved for longevity, not lik... moreIt's the exact opposite. When it charges so slow, it stays for so long at high voltages, and cripples it even more. At least with fast charging, it charges fast upto 80% and then it slows down, or you just unplug the charger after that percentage, because you are not temped to charge it upto 100 all the time.I'm not saying 100W chargers are great, but 7.5W charging on a 5A battery? Man even the galaxy s3 had better charger!

  • Anonymous

AnonD-977150, 27 Dec 2021Means your battery will be preserved for longevity, not lik... moreFast charging is not nonsense it's awesome to have in a smartphone even recent Mediatek dimensity support up to 60watts charging and snapdragon 888, p35 is too poor to support fast charging highest it can take is 18watts but Samsung can't give you fast charging on a budget

  • Anonymous

Everyone likes faster cpu, better screen and camera

  • AnonD-977150

Anonymous, 26 Dec 2021no fast charging . Tooks around 4 hrs to full charge .disap... moreMeans your battery will be preserved for longevity, not like this silly fast charging nonsense.

  • Anonymous

no fast charging . Tooks around 4 hrs to full charge .disappointed.

  • Gypsie

Good Mobile set