Samsung Galaxy A22 review

29 December 2021


Sort by:

  • r
  • regs
  • swN
  • 30 Dec 2021

Ancient junk with ultraslow eMMC memory. Xiaomi, Huawei, BBK offering UFS memory for that price.

    • J
    • James
    • 3qx
    • 30 Dec 2021

    Hi guys.

    Thanks for the review.

    I've bought A22 for my wife recently on Christmas sale for around €190 (shipping included).
    It was a no brainer since A22 5G was offered for €210 and A32 5G was selling for insane €275. Unfortunately A32 (non 5G) wasn't available in my country (Croatia) at that time and afaik it won't be anymore. Everyone's selling 5G model only. Also, used A32 4G models could be found but for not less than €235 so yeah, that's just how it is here.

    My wife is used to Samsung UI and absolutely loves it, so everything else was a no-go for me.

    So far, she's perfectly happy with it: screen is great (720p is perfectly acceptable, while 90Hz is very noticable), exterior design and overall grip is perfect for her, battery life amazing so far. One UI feels like home. Mediocre camera doesn't bother her since she doesn't care too much about photographs on mobile phones, and overall sound is meh but alright.

    Just my 2 cents. Cheers!

      • D
      • Doqnxnfhaowvfjd7482b
      • nrN
      • 30 Dec 2021

      In my country 64gb version costs around $230 so it's very good choice, Redmi 10 64gb with it's trashy dim IPS screen costs the same. So A22 good device for this money.

        • ?
        • Anonymous
        • iA4
        • 30 Dec 2021

        In my country, it costs 200 euros. For that money, it's definitely a reasonable buy. 250? No way! You can get a Motorola G60 that trumps this in every way, excluding the screen (AMOLED vs LCD)

          • ?
          • Anonymous
          • xq5
          • 30 Dec 2021

          MediaTek CPU. Low resolution screen. Slow eMMC storage. No 4K video. Pay a little more and buy A52 or A72. Much better. Otherwise you will count the days until selling.

            Izwan, 30 Dec 2021Am using this phone right now. Performance is adequate. Saw... moreThanks. I'm a long time Samsung user and I really love OneUI. Looks like brand loyalty is not worth it in this case. I will just go and get the Poco X3 Pro, or if I spend a bit more I'll get the Redmi Note 10 Pro.

              • D
              • Dok
              • XBJ
              • 30 Dec 2021

              Ah finally thanks for responding to YouTube comments

                That 250 $ price mark doesn't work in Central Europe. A22 and A22 5G are 225$, A32 is 255$, and POCO X3 PRO is 275$... This is more reasonable price positioning.

                  • I
                  • Izwan
                  • xwT
                  • 30 Dec 2021

                  Am using this phone right now. Performance is adequate. Saw no lag and stutter so far. Never tried playing games on it but many said you can play heavyweight games on it. Excellent battery life. Never use the 90hz refresh rate; saw no advantage in using it. Strong headphone output though sound quality a bit bright. Speaker output a bit low. Wifi speed on the low side even with dual band wifi. Didn't support LTE-A even though Gsmarena said it support so that is something gsmarena should rectify. Good camera. Slow charging speed is a bummer. This is the lowest range you should get if you want a Samsung but don't want to spend much. Don't bother with the A12 or the A02/03. Tbh Redmi or Realme offers better value than this.

                    Anonymous, 30 Dec 2021There is g80 for 120$ in Redmi 9 phone. Yes but A22 is more premium, probably more premium lowend on Market with 90hz, OIS, Amoled Display, 3/4 years software support etc.

                    And people should realise this phone is not for developed Nations, it has 4g for a reason, worldwide its available cheaper, Not cheaper than Redmi 9 but cheaper than redmi 10 atleast. For Around €150 to €170 you can get it Here in Africa.

                      • A
                      • Am
                      • uZa
                      • 30 Dec 2021

                      Anonymous, 30 Dec 2021If samsung sacrificed OIS, a22 might have g95Have u noticed any lacks in this phone, A22 has less pixcel

                        • ?
                        • Anonymous
                        • uZa
                        • 30 Dec 2021

                        I am uding A22, i did not get any lacks in this phone, if any body noticed please tell

                          If I have Poco X3 Pro I am laugh to anyone who own this A22.

                            • ?
                            • Anonymous
                            • KiZ
                            • 30 Dec 2021

                            If samsung sacrificed OIS, a22 might have g95

                              • ?
                              • Anonymous
                              • gNR
                              • 30 Dec 2021

                              Why there is no screen recording option?

                                • ?
                                • Anonymous
                                • JE0
                                • 30 Dec 2021

                                Hemedans, 29 Dec 2021Its cheaper than A32/poco X3 pro. And in my opinion A22... moreThere is g80 for 120$ in Redmi 9 phone.

                                  • ?
                                  • Anonymous
                                  • nem
                                  • 30 Dec 2021

                                  Yet another budget Samsung phone that really has no place. Xiaomi is bad but Samsung are starting to be as bad if not worse, constantly releasing pointless models that barely have any differences to coexisting or previous ones..

                                    Anonymous, 29 Dec 2021tl;dr - no reason or this phone to exist, just buy Galaxy A... moreIts cheaper than A32/poco X3 pro.

                                    And in my opinion A22 series make more sense than A32 series. For less than $200 G80 is ok Chipset, but over $200 there are better alternatives.

                                      • ?
                                      • Anonymous
                                      • a0V
                                      • 29 Dec 2021

                                      "straight-forward refresh rate management"

                                      As opposed to all those phones with unstraightforward refresh rate management? lolwut

                                        • J
                                        • Jwmr
                                        • L8M
                                        • 29 Dec 2021

                                        Just bought this phone at $200
                                        It's a really nice phone at this price