Realme 9 Pro review

16 February 2022


Sort by:

Pumpino, 16 Feb 2022The Pro+ is basically the same price as the Nord 2. The Nor... moreI agree that at £350 the competition is steep

    elmarcello, 16 Feb 2022The handset is a complete dissapointment. Just don't k... moreSD695 beats in every SD732G in almost every dept.
    Explain how is it inferior?

      • r
      • really me
      • cSc
      • 17 Feb 2022

      Why would you get this over the gt neo 2? its inferior in every way for like 50 pounds less.

        • ?
        • Anonymous
        • tZ4
        • 17 Feb 2022

        Olivier Barthelemy, 16 Feb 2022Thanks for the review. My Mi Max 3 is getting long in the t... moreThe year is still young and there are plenty of new phones launching in a couple of months. The one I think most interesting is the Sony Xperia 10 iv, which will have all the criterias (5G, OLED, Android 12, good battery life, acceptable camera, SD+Jack), you mentioned with the exception of the 21:9 display.

          I am a Realme 6s user, and I have to say the software is great for me compared with Xiaomi's and Motorola's and even Samsung's bloatware.
          The price will be dropped to under 200 euro's and than it will be interesting with Snapdragon 695, as a non-gamer, non-photo person.
          Only problem is the 2 years Android upgrades! Realme!!!
          Skip Android 14 upgrade, give us after Android 13 two more years Android security updates!




            • K
            • Karl Young
            • tRJ
            • 17 Feb 2022

            To me, the Realme 3 Pro is still the very best Realme phone to this day, after various launches of new models. Realme could not make another worthy successor to 3 Pro.
            I got that phone brand new for a dirt cheap of 170$, a 6GB/128GB model. Absolutely super price/performance device.
            Fall from my hip (~ 110cm) on multiple occasion but still working like a champ.
            Now I'm using an A52S with One UI 4.0 I have to say that I missed the Realme UI, far better and more polish, less buggy in comparison to MIUI.


              • ?
              • Anonymous
              • X}U
              • 17 Feb 2022

              Cons. Less 5g bands which is disappointing at dis price range and no HDR playback

                • ?
                • Anonymous
                • xT}
                • 16 Feb 2022

                Pumpino, 16 Feb 2022The Pro+ is basically the same price as the Nord 2. The Nor... more£329 as well for the GT master which has 120Hz oled, 778G and 65W charging

                  • e
                  • elmarcello
                  • 8ks
                  • 16 Feb 2022

                  The handset is a complete dissapointment. Just don't know how to describe - it lacks almost in every matter, incl. its price. Even Realme 8 is better. Why for instance use weak SOC, if even camera module itself is 4K capable, but SD 695 not?

                    AndroidAuthority, 16 Feb 2022£299 for the realme 9 pro £349 for the realme 9 pro plus ... moreThe Pro+ is basically the same price as the Nord 2. The Nord 2 has the same camera sensor and a more powerful Dimensity 1200. Realme loses its appeal if its premium phones are similarly priced to OnePlus.

                      £299 for the realme 9 pro
                      £349 for the realme 9 pro plus
                      Uk prices

                        Camera is horrible and 2mp cosmetic stupi

                          Lovely phone and fair price, but unfortunately it misses an OLED screen.

                          Out of the 4 features I'm looking in any phone (OLED, SD Card, Audio Jack and 5G) .. if any of these are missing, it makes the phone unbuyable for me.

                          Also the price ... this will be a much better deal when it will drop around 180 EUR ...

                            • D
                            • AnonD-1018516
                            • t4t
                            • 16 Feb 2022

                            AnonD-1018516, 16 Feb 2022No 4K is kinda a bummer to be honest, but for a device that... moreoh my god sorry i mistakenly replied to your comment

                              • ?
                              • Anonymous
                              • nUk
                              • 16 Feb 2022

                              SD680 (Kryo 265, Adreno 610) is not similar to SD695 (Kryo 660, Adreno 619)

                                • N
                                • Nichimen
                                • 3kP
                                • 16 Feb 2022

                                Anonymous, 16 Feb 2022Only good thing about this phone is awesome battery life. Y... moreThe 9 Pro with 8 GB of RAM is sold here in Italy at 330/350€ !!
                                Are they crazy,or what?
                                I still love my 6 Pro....you can't name 9 Pro as a "Pro" model at all!

                                  • D
                                  • AnonD-1018516
                                  • t4t
                                  • 16 Feb 2022

                                  Olivier Barthelemy, 16 Feb 2022Thanks for the review. My Mi Max 3 is getting long in the t... moreNo 4K is kinda a bummer to be honest, but for a device that is likely priced at like 200-300 euros likes this, with such a solid image taking experience, a pretty good screen with high refresh rate, a performance that is actually pretty good and a solid software build, this is a pretty good phone. I could say it will be even better than the Note 11 Pro 5G to be honest (in term of value).

                                    • ?
                                    • Anonymous
                                    • 7kk
                                    • 16 Feb 2022

                                    Olivier Barthelemy, 16 Feb 2022Thanks for the review. My Mi Max 3 is getting long in the t... moreYou gotta compromise on one or more aspects nowadays, bro!

                                    For me it was OIS & mSD slot (& USB 3.0, but that's anyway hardly present on any mid-ranger at all). I wanted good flagship level SoC & 3.5mm HP Jack was must, so I chose the 12/256GB X7 Max (5G was an added bonus) after using the brilliant (& overlooked) Z2 Plus for just shy of 4 years!

                                    You could look at the A52s if you want the complete package (sans USB 3.0 ofc) or maybe the Pixel 5a if you don't care about HRR that much, the Reno line also ships with USB 3.0 but no OIS & HP jack after the brilliant Reno 2 is a deal-breaker!
                                    I just wish we got a SG Note 10 Lite successor too, I was really interested in it but the outdated chipset at launch meant it wouldn't have been a huge upgrade from my SD820 at that time!

                                      • ?
                                      • Anonymous
                                      • ppq
                                      • 16 Feb 2022

                                      Anonymous, 16 Feb 2022If only they used an LED panel even if of lower refresh rat... moreExactly. This type of IPS LCD displays used in budget phones are not comparable to the more expensive ones. At least an Oled, even the cheaper ones, has better color reproduction, better contrast and higher brightness. They could have used 60Hz refresh rate with higher touch sensitivity (180Hz), like they used on the Realme 8 4G model. Is still better than cheap LCD display with 120Hz refresh rate. Higher refresh rate is better in gaming, but people do not buy budget phones for gaming. But they buy budget phones for video streaming and social media, in which case Oled displays are better.
                                      But anyway, Realme probably had other idea with this model, who knows.

                                        • ?
                                        • Anonymous
                                        • n7D
                                        • 16 Feb 2022

                                        Only good thing about this phone is awesome battery life. You can go camping in mountains for two or tree days on weekend, take pics, video and 5g browsing, watch a movie and not worry much about battery. But no 4k, no amoled, no OIS, no ip67...