Realme 9 Pro review

16 February 2022


Sort by:

  • ?
  • Anonymous
  • 7kk
  • 16 Feb 2022

Olivier Barthelemy, 16 Feb 2022Thanks for the review. My Mi Max 3 is getting long in the t... moreYou gotta compromise on one or more aspects nowadays, bro!

For me it was OIS & mSD slot (& USB 3.0, but that's anyway hardly present on any mid-ranger at all). I wanted good flagship level SoC & 3.5mm HP Jack was must, so I chose the 12/256GB X7 Max (5G was an added bonus) after using the brilliant (& overlooked) Z2 Plus for just shy of 4 years!

You could look at the A52s if you want the complete package (sans USB 3.0 ofc) or maybe the Pixel 5a if you don't care about HRR that much, the Reno line also ships with USB 3.0 but no OIS & HP jack after the brilliant Reno 2 is a deal-breaker!
I just wish we got a SG Note 10 Lite successor too, I was really interested in it but the outdated chipset at launch meant it wouldn't have been a huge upgrade from my SD820 at that time!

    • ?
    • Anonymous
    • ppq
    • 16 Feb 2022

    Anonymous, 16 Feb 2022If only they used an LED panel even if of lower refresh rat... moreExactly. This type of IPS LCD displays used in budget phones are not comparable to the more expensive ones. At least an Oled, even the cheaper ones, has better color reproduction, better contrast and higher brightness. They could have used 60Hz refresh rate with higher touch sensitivity (180Hz), like they used on the Realme 8 4G model. Is still better than cheap LCD display with 120Hz refresh rate. Higher refresh rate is better in gaming, but people do not buy budget phones for gaming. But they buy budget phones for video streaming and social media, in which case Oled displays are better.
    But anyway, Realme probably had other idea with this model, who knows.

      • ?
      • Anonymous
      • n7D
      • 16 Feb 2022

      Only good thing about this phone is awesome battery life. You can go camping in mountains for two or tree days on weekend, take pics, video and 5g browsing, watch a movie and not worry much about battery. But no 4k, no amoled, no OIS, no ip67...

        • ?
        • Anonymous
        • s8i
        • 16 Feb 2022

        If only they used an LED panel even if of lower refresh rate, the battery scores would have been even better. Also, OLED is just the obvious choice if possible any price point. Moreover, the 8 had an AMOLED panel so it is weird to see it is gone from this one. Other than that this is a great phone

          • O
          • Olivier Barthelemy
          • pZs
          • 16 Feb 2022

          Thanks for the review. My Mi Max 3 is getting long in the tooth esp. its battery and spending $50+ on a swap doesn't seem worth it, and I've resigned myself to having to switch to a skinny phone with a dysfunctional 20:9 screen.
          I need my new phone to be 5G (my carrier, Free en France, has bad 2G&3G, so-so 4G, and good 5G). I'd really like AMOLED and Android 12 out of the box so it gets up to 14, and no bad suprises on the rest (battery life, pics, sound, SD+jack...). Not many choices right now. If I give up on the AMOLED, this one looks good, especially with this year's Redmis out of the running (Android 11 + MIUI bugs it seems ?).