Oppo Find X5 Pro review

15 April 2022


Sort by:

  • K
  • Kuba
  • uN{
  • 18 Apr 2022

Price in China: 840euro. And still I would never ever buy an Oppo or any Chinese brand, because 6-12month later the phone is abandoned and no more any updates.

    GregLu, 17 Apr 2022That's the one I saw, Redmi K50, not poco; my bad. App... morePoint taken on the optimization of the new MediaTek SoC's. That's why I'm eagerly looking out for more devices scheduled to launch with the thing- maybe someone will come woth better tuning out of the box.

    On your point regarding the TSMC 8 gen 1+, Im really curious as well if that's even going to push though later this year. If it does, it will really determine whether or not the issues from the current Android flagship SoC's are due to bad core design, or Samsung's foundries being worse than they claim. If the 8 gen 1 consumes less power, or doesn't heat up as much(despite the higher clock speeds) , I think Samsung's foundries can be found at fault.

      • ?
      • Anonymous
      • 8Kf
      • 17 Apr 2022

      GregLu, 17 Apr 2022That's the one I saw, Redmi K50, not poco; my bad. App... moreX5P with D9000 runs like 2-3 celsius degrees cooler than snapdragon version.

        • ?
        • Anonymous
        • 8Kf
        • 17 Apr 2022

        Asgw, 16 Apr 2022To get real 50mp images you have to disable HDR. Otherwise ... moreStacking many 50MP frames is too much, dont you think?

          • ?
          • Anonymous
          • 3ap
          • 17 Apr 2022

          Anonymous, 16 Apr 2022The P40 Pro has an equally good ultrawide and it was releas... moreI sold my P40 Pro for this and agree, the camera on the Huawei is better. But with sideloaded GMS , android auto didn't work properly and that was a deal-breaker for me sadly.

            GregLu, 17 Apr 2022It's just that for the asking price, every aspect need... moreThat's the point it can't be perfect its not possible and even if it is then there is no need for brands to launch new generation smartphones (every generation gets better nd better), that is why some smartphones have minor upgrades compared to their last gen(eg. iPhone 12 pro max to 13 pro max, S21 ultra to s22 ultra,even the find x3 pro to find x5 pro)

            Beacuse these smartphones are so close to perfect that there realy isn't much to be done(except extra niche, gimmick features)

            The price of the find x5 pro is too high but Oppo is not a charity organization (too bad😥😥😥😥) and the price is in line with the competition

              • ?
              • Anonymous
              • 3ap
              • 17 Apr 2022

              GregLu, 16 Apr 2022I completely agree to your post. And why I didn't boug... moreWhere did you get an s22u for 850EUR?

                Rocky, 17 Apr 2022I didn't say its a bad phone. It is a pretty popular b... moreIt's as good as the competition just dat u hav something of interet that draws u to the other competition that The oppo doesn't.

                It's the way u condemned the smartphone that was a bit excessive and conclusional

                  • ?
                  • Anonymous
                  • 3ap
                  • 17 Apr 2022

                  Asgw, 16 Apr 2022To get real 50mp images you have to disable HDR. Otherwise ... moreVery well said. I was thinking this about the Super zooms, I mean other than occasionally taking a picture of a seal on a rock or a far away bird or something, who actually uses their zoom all the time? I'd argue lots more people would get more use out of a 2X camera for everyday portraits. Oppos research seems to concur. However for the price it's hard to justify not having it just as a "nice to have".

                  I think the main reason they removed it from the X3 Pro after having the periscope on the X2 Pro was because of design reasons. The periscopes take up quite some room inside the phone and to have a very slim body with an elegant curved camera bump would simply not be possible (or the camera module would need to he much bigger to accommodate with the X3 or Xtcs designs.

                    • R
                    • Rocky
                    • Hxf
                    • 17 Apr 2022

                    Rotciv Ikias, 17 Apr 2022The only reason why ur saying this is Beacuse it's Opp... moreI didn't say its a bad phone. It is a pretty popular brand where I reside and I've briefly had a reno6 pro. just that at this price there are a lot better well rounded options. When I compare this phone to its rivals I see better colored pictures, a bit better videos, better integration with a PC, an ecosystem that can be handy and far better resale value. Can understand if this phone looks perfect to you. Not everyone can have the same opinion. Jumping into conclusions, am I? So be it.

                      Rotciv Ikias, 17 Apr 2022At this point even GSM knows this phone is an all-round gre... moreIt's just that for the asking price, every aspect needs to be perfect, it's isn't the case here. And that's why ppl are hesitant to buy Oppo, in my case it's more because of the 'vivid' look of the pictures taken. Too bad because UW seems greats and also the night mode!

                        SOMAYU, 17 Apr 2022The D9000 can run hot too, but it's notably better tha... moreThat's the one I saw, Redmi K50, not poco; my bad. Apparently the tweaking from Xiaomi isn't the best here, there is still time but as a customer, that's a pain in the a$$ if you need to change rapidly :/

                        Nonetheless, I'm eager to see if this is ARM design fault (Via their ISA) or if the different foundries has messed up in their yield ? We'll see with the S8G1+ from TSMC, Apple didn't have this problem with their ARM product, but they don't use Cortex X1 since they do have IP holding and can do whatever they want with the ARM arch. (kinda) :)

                          GregLu, 16 Apr 2022Apparently, the D9000 in some Xiaomi device (Poco X5 or som... moreThe D9000 can run hot too, but it's notably better than the 8 gen 1. So far Xiaomi has only placed the D9000 in the K50 pro(a midrange phone with a plastic chassis), so I think we'll see the SoC perform better once it makes it to a phone that has better thermals.

                            At this point even GSM knows this phone is an all-round great phone that is why the cons looks like nitpicking(and they know it) and I understand because that's what a reviewer's job is, nothing is perfect so they have to state the pros and cons even though the former is more than the latter and the latter doesn't really count I mean:

                            2x zoom is bad compared to competition but when a person uses it he/she doesn't really care

                            Brightness is lower than the competition but the nits is well usable under direct sunlight sooooooo

                            The 80w is barely faster but still plenty fast(nd u get the proprietary charger and cable in box)
                            At this point it's not perfect but it's excellent and worthy of a flagship(they could hav reduced the price a little bit though)


                              [deleted post]The only reason why ur saying this is Beacuse it's Oppo u are so in ur box of the already known brands(Samsung Apple Xiaomi) that u are not open to other companies.

                              The the people that have had this phone for weeks and have gone in depth to test every aspect are telling u it's a powerful good smartphone worth the name flagshipa and u here haven't even seen the phone in real life nd u hav jumped into conclusions

                              Just because it's not ur usual brands

                                • s
                                • smartois
                                • nqH
                                • 17 Apr 2022

                                Asgw, 16 Apr 2022To get real 50mp images you have to disable HDR. Otherwise ... morei think 3x 10x in the ultra is a good combination

                                  • A
                                  • Asgw
                                  • UFC
                                  • 16 Apr 2022

                                  To get real 50mp images you have to disable HDR. Otherwise it's just upscaled, so daft. I don't know why Oppo allow 50mp with HDR enabled.
                                  Turn off HDR and the 50mp mode will output completely different images. X3 Pro owner here, applies to that model too.
                                  Also I like the 2x camera. It's like a real 50mm camera lens which is a really nice focal length to work with. I've had 5x on a P30 Pro and imho large zooms are a party trick, not useful for pretty photos in the majority of situations. Yes handy occasionally. But 2x I use daily.

                                    SOMAYU, 16 Apr 2022The Find x5 is an excellent phone, and I agree with most of... moreApparently, the D9000 in some Xiaomi device (Poco X5 or some Redmi) from twitter shown a message 'can't start app, unit overheating'. Promising huhu :D (I hope that some has to do with the few of tweak that Xiaomi does anymore, it was way better in the past ...)

                                      Anonymous, 15 Apr 2022Google own the OS. Samsung makes 73 billion dollars reven... moreIn the Oppo branch, don't forget to include all of the galaxie from BBK : OnePlus, Realme, Vivo and with Oppo, they flood the market like Samsung did in the past, and reuse the same 'model' to almost have a serie in each brand, sadly. But they offer less support in the long term (And how they manage OnePlus OxygenOS debacle says a lot, GSMA did an articvle about it : https://www.gsmarena.com/oneplus_oxygenos_12_review-news-52205.php , and this is how they will operate from now : https://www.gsmarena.com/oneplus_oxygenos_13_will_be_closer_to_stock_ui_oneplus_10_pro_launching_end_of_march_globally-news-53366.php ), charge a premium price over Samsung and other (few) brand 'in place', like Sony, that also charge a premium but with another way of thinking (or not in some case :-D), so why Oppo ? At this level of price, it's a long term investment right now, not like in the past when flagship were at 700 or 800 EUR ... Now it's more when you have to pay 1200 or 1500 EUR if you want to the tier storage, sometimes offering 1Tb version when a 512 MicroSD from Samsung cost around 50-60 EUR or way less sometimes (Had mines @ 28 EUR), warranty 10y and 90/100 R/W speeds. It's more convenient to have and with the memory shortage going on (See S22U orders being cancelled for the 256-512Gb models since they prefer to sell a lot more 128Gb), it would ease up a bit. Removing the MicroSD slot was a big error here, specially if you consider this 'Top notch' (no pun intended to Apple even of they don't offer MicroSD, but with them, it's a way of life, their vision that you have to accept or found work around) :P

                                        MRSTEK, 15 Apr 2022OPPO originates from my home country. A commonly shared ide... moreI wont be surprised if at some point, BBK sort all or flood the market with another brand, like they did with OnePlus with the 'mainstream' operated for the brand and the upcoming models. Flagship killers are long gone, sadly. (Around OnePlus6 perhaps? I don't remember, if someone do, please, share!)