Sony Xperia 1 IV review

11 May 2022


Sort by:

77, 11 May 2022Considering that 4K has more pixels than 1440p, it’s easy t... moreThat's why the phone automatically downscale its resolution in apps or content that can't make full use of that 4K panel.

    • 7
    • 77
    • mXr
    • 11 May 2022

    Asphalt-nation, 11 May 2022I'm not saying there's no real 4K on Sony devices... moreConsidering that 4K has more pixels than 1440p, it’s easy to assume that it’s automatically better. However, as we know from the differences between 4G and 5G internet, discarding the older version isn’t necessarily the best idea.

    While 4K might show a better image, it’s important to remember that these images require more processing energy. If the device you’re using can’t meet these demands, you’re probably going to run into problems.

      [deleted post]Jeez can't you read ??

      I've said that I believe the difference CAN be seen

      Maybe you're the one who should seek help for your vision ?

        77, 11 May 2022Not true, I have the Pro-i and YouTube premium I pay £12 mo... moreI'm not saying there's no real 4K on Sony devices, I'm saying that this very 4K is only triggered when 4K content is displayed. Which is exactly what happens in your case.
        I do believe the difference can be seen.

          Anonymous, 11 May 2022Are you able to finally be honest about their camera proces... morei think it has lower battery endurance bcos of 4k screen combined with 120hz display

            gringo, 11 May 2022did you read the test ??? this phone overheats in every us... moreSir the question actually applies on you, did you?
            "Obviously, the Xperia 1 IV has the best chipset in the world, coupled with one of the most impressive displays there is right now.

            Let's talk about thermals now. The good news is that the Xperia 1 IV never gets uncomfortably hot. And that is because it throttles heavily."

              Also consider it being one of the lightest flagships - 185g, it's 44g(24%) lighter than S22 Ultra, and 55g(30%) lighter than 13 Pro max. This is important for mobile photography as well as photo quality. And that's incredible still having 3.5 jack and memory slot!

              For only real problem - throttling I think it needs proper accessory for external cooling.

                • ?
                • Anonymous
                • vxM
                • 11 May 2022

                See no single reason to upgrade my Xperia 1 III. Actually, I'm disappointed in Xperia 1 IV. It should be called "1 IIIs" or something like that. Overheating lesson of Xperia 1 III wasn't learnt. It looks like only OnePlus took some measures to cool down SD 8 gen 1 a bit. Missing charger, basically the same cameras and price hike aren't justifiable this time at all.

                  wow 3.5mm jack and micro sdxc.. it has everything...😱😱😱 but should i buy this or an 13 pro max

                    Anonymous, 11 May 2022The Xperia 1 IV ships with a USB-C-to-C cable, so you don&#... moreNo cable, confirmed via the press release statements, and fixed in the review already.

                      • ?
                      • Anonymous
                      • I@H
                      • 11 May 2022

                      The Xperia 1 IV ships with a USB-C-to-C cable, so you don't need to get a cable, too.

                      Then one of the CONS:

                      No charger, not even a cable.

                      So doest come with a cable or not? @GSMARENA

                        As an owner of 1 II and 1 III, I'm glad to see that Sony finally improved the battery life and selfie camera on 1 IV. However, the fire dragon 8G1, already triggers the overheat warning at 18~22 C, so how about summer? In 2020 nad 2021 summer, both II and III didn't get the overheat issue (and yes, 1 III is hotter than 1 II while photoing). I don't take video much but do like photo. I would wait for the next generation to see more improvements and a cooler processor.

                          • g
                          • gringo
                          • rX}
                          • 11 May 2022

                          SuuperBaka, 11 May 2022I think I might be upgrading this year, it's a solid p... moredid you read the test ???
                          this phone overheats in every usage ...
                          read pros & cons again

                            Hildr, 11 May 2022The screen is always 4K, all the pixel are still lit, it�... moreSony puts X1 for mobile into 1 series, definitely doing the upscaling trick well.

                              • 7
                              • 77
                              • mXr
                              • 11 May 2022

                              YUKI93, 11 May 2022I'm also waiting for the Mk4 Xperia 5. If the camera p... moreThat's like saying no need for BMW M3, while 335

                              I'm not happy with my Sony Pro-i, I want 800ppi 2160 4k , with 18gb Ram and Xneon flash and ceramic or carbon fibre back or Titanium for extreme heat dissipation and throttling and also 6000mah and 20mb off L3 cache instead off 8mb, and ir blaster, and 2x A76 Arm cores instead off 1

                              People love power and spec feutres and torque
                              S22ULTRA is selling more than garbage s22, because it has more features and Ram, in Samsung forums thousands have complained for 16gb ram

                              Why you worried and don't like 4K, don't speak for others,

                                Even though I can still spot some serious corner softness, the primary camera seems to have improved lens quality over that of the Xperia 1 III (which was laughably bad to say the least). It's nice to see Sony listening to the complaints and improving upon what they were lacking.

                                I have a decent amount of concerns regarding the new telephoto lens though - as innovative as the technology is, the execution seems to be so flawed that it translates quite poorly in real life. In many of its sample photos, there's barely any difference in sharpness or the amount of details between 3.5x and 5.2x zoom because the lens sharpness is very poor across the frame.

                                I find how GSMArena describes this camera in this article questionable - for instance, if it uses the longest possible shutter speed all the time unless the scene is decently lit then you should just as well call it a night mode that cannot be turned off (In fact most other phones' night modes are far more conservative in terms of exposure time). In other articles, GSMArena often complains about the darker rendition of shadows, like when they say they would "take a bit of a boost in the shadows" in the Xiaomi 12 Pro review, but apparently that's not really an issue here for some reason. The way the article describes the UWA camera is also odd, saying that its nighttime shots "look somewhat underexposed - **not that they are**" literally after giving the main camera a shower of praise on its "natural rendition" for its already conservative exposure metering is quite contradictory.

                                  thats most likely not the box that you get when you buy the phone, since its a review unit from them, from what i heard you'd get a charger in the box.

                                    • 7
                                    • 77
                                    • mXr
                                    • 11 May 2022

                                    Sony please bring back the boxy rectangular sharp corners like the Sony Z5, XZP, XZ1C Z1 design back , just like Samsung copied from Note10 and S22ULTRA and ZTE40, and Nokia Lumia series.

                                    hate curved edges

                                      • O
                                      • OnePlus User
                                      • Gxb
                                      • 11 May 2022

                                      LOL, 11 May 2022Great hardware, terrible software and postprocessing, no ni... moreI can only dream of that day. Sony Pixel would be light years ahead of other phones.

                                        • 7
                                        • 77
                                        • mXr
                                        • 11 May 2022

                                        Asphalt-nation, 11 May 2022The whole 4K screen is just bragging rights The phone i... moreNot true, I have the Pro-i and YouTube premium I pay £12 monthly.
                                        I have the S22ultra, and watching 2160p 4k videos on both you can tell the difference, the Sony is much detail more vibrant and sharo resolution and no loses off pixels when zooming