Samsung Galaxy A52s long-term review

25 June 2022


Sort by:

  • K
  • Kaki
  • Hkt
  • 25 Jul 2022

Even though I have the Poco F3, I really want the Galaxy A52s, mainly because of the headphone jack.
This is probably the best phone available right now with a headphone jack and Samsung or other brands won't make one either.
Heck the Galaxy A53 is a downgrade.

    • J
    • JacobTheTechy
    • PyS
    • 25 Jul 2022

    Scandidave, 24 Jul 2022The A52S in smooth and fluid thanks to the Snapdragon778. T... moreHaving used both the A52s 5G (Obviously powered by the SD 778G) and now having used the A53 5G (Exynos 1280) for a week. I can personally say, whilst the 1280 is clearly the weaker performer out of the two SoC's (Samsung, why), and it certainly was "laggy", but after receiving an update from Samsung on Saturday night (Currently writing this on Monday 25th July) that "Improved stability", it still has obvious moments of weakness in terms of lag but it's an excellent device overall. Lag and software stability is fixable through updates, it's normal. All I've seen over the last few weeks is people shitting on the A53, and whilst I agree with some of the comments made, they don't seem to use the device nor have ever touched it. Only going over other people's opinions and believing the first thing they see.

    Would I advise anyone to "upgrade" from the A52s 5G, or even the A52? No. Obviously not, and whilst I agree with you making the comment that it's an "downgrade" from the A52s, it's only the SoC, loss of Wi-Fi 6 Support and taking away some audio codecs that make these two devices different from one-another.

    To the people thinking about upgrading, or even wanting to downgrade from another phone, the A53 Is a great option, especially if you can find it on sale (Currently $548 at some retailers here in Australia). However, if you can find a A52s 5G, even better!

    Jacob.

      • S
      • Scandidave
      • mE0
      • 24 Jul 2022

      The A52S in smooth and fluid thanks to the Snapdragon778. The A53 is. Slow laggy and a serious downgrade.

        SheffMark, 12 Jul 2022Hello all, Been a Xiaomi fanboy for about 8 years. Bough... moreIt isn't slow, what the review says is that the UI has some lags/dropped frames sometimes, they're mostly observed in notification bar pull down animation and opening Google Discovery, other than those UI stutters, it's a fluid phone, will run everything you throw at it.
        I done hard reset on the phone after One UI 4.1 update and it got better, with less of those hiccups in the UI animations.

          Niv, 17 Jul 2022Does it Support HDR video playback on YouTube Yes, it does

            • J
            • Janika
            • xD4
            • 19 Jul 2022

            Is it also normal for a mid-tier plastic phone to sell for $600- ? Guess not, but that's exactly what happened after the A53 release. So now would be a good time to pickup a new Galaxy A53, or if you don't want 5G, than get the A52 which is also cheap now.
            If you think you have the urge to marry a SD 778G phone, than get the Xiaomi 12 lite or a Moto.
            For those in N.A, The A53 is currently being discounted for about $300- USD / $399- Cdn @ Walmart

              • N
              • Niv
              • XWB
              • 17 Jul 2022

              Does it Support HDR video playback on YouTube

                • R
                • Rahul
                • XUA
                • 16 Jul 2022

                Anonymous, 16 Jul 2022It's normal for a smartphone to heat up (like reaching... moreThis is true. Phone extra Heat like 40 to 50 degree Celsius. But you keep power savings option on than charging your device then cool your Device.

                  • ?
                  • Anonymous
                  • tVX
                  • 16 Jul 2022

                  Rahul Biswas, 07 Jul 2022I purchased the A52s on May 18th. I got the update as usua... moreIt's normal for a smartphone to heat up (like reaching 40 degrees Celsius) when charging unless you are using the old-school 5W or 10W charging. As for its cooling capabilities, I would Samsung didn't focus on this aspect as much as some Chinese brands did, even my A73 has weaker cooling capabilities than Realme 9 Pro Plus.

                    • S
                    • SheffMark
                    • nxh
                    • 12 Jul 2022

                    Hello all,

                    Been a Xiaomi fanboy for about 8 years. Bought 4 phones from them and never looked back.

                    I currently run 8GB POCO F2 PRO, mum uses my old F1 and dad uses my old Redmi Note 4X.

                    Basically POCO has received June security update. But knowing Xiaomi this will be it's final update. After two years that's it for them usually.

                    Because I use emails and banking on my phone, I want long security support.

                    My dad has got a new car and Android Auto is basically saying update OS because Android Auto will cease on Android 7 soon .
                    So what I wanted to do is buy Samsung or Google and give my dad my POCO.

                    Problem is I know the A52S will be a downgrade. Xiaomi phones are rapid, you press an app, it opens. This review makes me feel I will notice poor performance compared to Xiaomi.

                    My essential apps are
                    UK banking apps
                    Android Auto
                    Spotify using Bluetooth headphones
                    Hukd
                    Firefox using aggressive adblocking

                    My usage is basic scrolling apps, Android Auto and Spotify. Watch YouTube everyday so good battery life is needed.

                    Those who have this phone, is it slow like the review says or is performance and battery good? Thank you

                      • B
                      • Basith
                      • PFB
                      • 08 Jul 2022

                      After the June update patch mobile data is not working properly. Hopefully samsung will fix ASAP with their new update. (Waiting for the new software update) order then that A52 is a awesome machine. Love it

                        The company makes a georgous downgrade in new a53.
                        What are they thinking about costumers?
                        ???

                          • ?
                          • Anonymous
                          • ptk
                          • 07 Jul 2022

                          Mindless company makes a stupid downgrade in A53. What are they thinking about costumers ???!!

                            • ?
                            • Anonymous
                            • HXd
                            • 07 Jul 2022

                            Anonymous, 06 Jul 2022It's a standard you get included regardless of your region Nope, didn't get a soft case included in the box

                              • J
                              • John
                              • 7Xf
                              • 07 Jul 2022

                              The problem of this phone is its wifi connectivity, my oppo is much faster and has wider connection than this.

                                I purchased the A52s on May 18th. I got the update as usual after purchase but there are some bugs in the software. This is often observed while using software. I dipped three to four times to check. This is IP67 true. Camera quality is much better. However, the mobile gets a little hot during charging. It would be nice to have a liquid cooling system. Battery backup and fairly good.

                                  • ?
                                  • Anonymous
                                  • uKc
                                  • 06 Jul 2022

                                  Nikojas, 26 Jun 2022I thought it was me who got unlucky and had a unit with a l... moreSounds like you did get unlucky as others have reported no such problems

                                    • ?
                                    • Anonymous
                                    • uKc
                                    • 06 Jul 2022

                                    Anonymous, 27 Jun 2022A53 was made to be better than A52, which it replaces. No... moreA53 is worse then the s

                                      • ?
                                      • Anonymous
                                      • uKc
                                      • 06 Jul 2022

                                      Freelancer, 27 Jun 2022Just FYI, I got the Taiwanese version of A52s, which comes ... moreIt's a standard you get included regardless of your region

                                        • ?
                                        • Anonymous
                                        • uKc
                                        • 06 Jul 2022

                                        LukaszL, 27 Jun 2022I bought this phone after reading positive reviews but unfo... moreShould have gone the duel sim version then