Nothing Phone (1) review

22 July 2022


Sort by:

  • D
  • AnonD-1033007
  • g8K
  • 23 Jul 2022

derrr, 23 Jul 2022huh? Can you point to where was it stated in this review th... moreNowhere, i corrected myself later and replied that i read it wrong.

    • K
    • Kai
    • fCQ
    • 23 Jul 2022

    trapper09, 23 Jul 2022No offense GSMArena but this review is quite biasedI agree.

      • V
      • Vijay
      • KSf
      • 23 Jul 2022

      Why edge 30 is not considered as an alternative? It has clean os, similar hardware and considerably cheaper.

        So many of this device's hardware (IMX766 primary, OnePlus-sized and specced screen) and software (Camera app, about page) nuances clearly screams this is BBK-made.
        It matters not if they claim they're independent, nor how many bajillions of funds they got from investors, there's no way Carl Pei can simply conjure out of nowhere such a hardware package (at that price range, too!) without a large, existing phone company to back him up. Plus the logistics required to make it available worldwide.

        ...which also explains how a 'startup' can acquire 500 people for the software shenanigans, despite being pretty much stock android. They just counted every BBK engineers that had a hand in this, even if barely, and indirectly.

          • ?
          • Anonymous
          • KiX
          • 23 Jul 2022

          So. It's really true. It's just mediocre disco phone.

          This mediocre disco brand sould focus more on beating the sales of its main competitor, which is Galaxy A03.

          Anyway, even random meizu phone has more brand value than this mediocre phone.

            • d
            • derrr
            • 2xJ
            • 23 Jul 2022

            AnonD-1033007, 22 Jul 2022I'm sorry but this is not a flagship, no one that know... morehuh? Can you point to where was it stated in this review that it was a flagship as I cannot find

              • K
              • Kev
              • T0U
              • 23 Jul 2022

              marbles, 23 Jul 20224.3 on a device with "horrible audio"? GSMArena evidently is in the camp of my parents. They NEVER listen to music on either of their phones, even as they use iPhones with arguably the most powerful audio system. The people who won't care for this will not notice.

              However. I understand you because I am in your camp; I ALWAYS listen to music when I'm commuting or working, so I would actually NOT recommend this phone to anyone I'm close with. 99% of them listen to music, like civilized people. (lol)

              However, for those who don't....this phone is a total bargain. The screen is good (max auto was surprisingly weak, but HDR should fix that) The chipset is okay, the camera is VERY good. The quiet earpiece speaker and audio processing problems don't matter to them, and those were GSMArena's only complaints.

                No offense GSMArena but this review is quite biased

                  • D
                  • Dorry
                  • TSR
                  • 23 Jul 2022

                  I like it, keep me more productive than iPhone.

                    4.3 on a device with "horrible audio"?

                      the body looks solid, but unfortunately only IP53 with this sturdy body. UFS 3.0 at this price is quite rare, nice dual camera setup 50+50MP with great quality. Just sad with performance and charging speed.

                        • j
                        • james
                        • u44
                        • 23 Jul 2022

                        LGs, 22 Jul 2022Nothing phone (1) 4500 mAh 108h 35:32h 15:41h 20:27h ... moreOverall endurance is 1 hour for each activity for each day, the rest is standby. Nothing phone has worse standby drain, hence lower endurance.

                          "while it's not a flagship killer, it sure isn't a glorified mid-ranger either" - then proceeded to glorify this mid-ranger, especially in the final verdict.

                          I mean, they literally stated why AOD notifications make the glyph interface pointless in their "Design, build quality, handling" section then implied that it's an "innovative feature" in their "The competition" section.

                          "The Nothing Phone (1) processor scored closely to the Snapdragon 870 CPU within the Realme GT Neo 3T and Poco F4 and is bested only by the flagship-grade Snapdragon 8 Gen 1 (Poco F4 GT) and the Dimensity 8100 (Poco X4 GT)." - then presented Antutu and other GPU benchmarks that showed significant difference.

                          "And we can get behind the idea of having a platform that can handle properly the content available today instead of aiming to be powerful after the end of software support." That completely defeats the purpose of the 3-year major OS update. Better to have a more capable chipset now and still be able to perform as a proper midranger after 3-4 years with the promised updates. Yeah, 888/+ and 8 gen 1 are overkill but 870 would've been ideal - just as power efficient (if not more) as the 778/+ per your past reviews while having a much better sustained performance.

                          Still in their "Performance and benchmarks" section, "We found the Phone (1) perfectly capable of playing all sorts of games with high-quality graphics." - then doesn't even specify which games and in what setting they ran on this phone. From personal experience, I got stutters playing Genshin Impact (only tried it for an hour) on Dimensity 1100, which has about the same performance as 778/+

                          I get that it's not as bad as others claim it to be but it's not as amazing as GSMArena makes it out to be either. The reviewer/s appear to be more invested in this phone than they objectively should imho.

                            • ?
                            • Anonymous
                            • cT{
                            • 23 Jul 2022

                            Whackcar, 22 Jul 2022Aside from the LED gimmicks on the backside, there's r... moreNothing to see here phone?

                              • S
                              • Syn
                              • 7j{
                              • 23 Jul 2022

                              Anonymous, 22 Jul 2022- No jack , no sd slot are con for other like reno 8 pro.. ... moreNothing has clearly paid most of the big tech reviewers to paint a rosy picture. I am also surprised how they glossed over the audio part... Everyone who buys a smartphone will use an earphone, if the experience is so bad, it is a major issue.

                                • ?
                                • Anonymous
                                • nIL
                                • 23 Jul 2022

                                You received two units, have you tested the headphone jack output quality on both? Maybe the one you tested is faulty.

                                  • ?
                                  • Anonymous
                                  • nIL
                                  • 23 Jul 2022

                                  Anonymous, 22 Jul 2022Just want to remind GSMArena that ToF is also used to assis... moreBut does it actually work? See S20 ultra autofocus problems

                                    • ?
                                    • Anonymous
                                    • nIL
                                    • 23 Jul 2022

                                    stoon, 22 Jul 2022in your audio test, you said the speakers are very good and... moreOr you didn't read the review - see headphone jack output quality

                                      • n
                                      • nanii
                                      • vxs
                                      • 23 Jul 2022

                                      waw so positive review haha

                                        • ?
                                        • Anonymous
                                        • vaS
                                        • 23 Jul 2022

                                        Little Penguin , 22 Jul 2022Outstanding portraits? Before using the 🔎 tool I can s... moreGSMArena has also been very generous with the camera reviews of other phones, so it's fair in that regard, I guess (using Zenfone 8 now and they also oversold their camera review on this phone).

                                        GSMArena should indicate the reviewer (or main reviewer) of their review articles just like in their news stories to help us in managing our expectations when it comes to their camera reviews.