Nothing Phone (1) review

22 July 2022


Sort by:

507AMS, 23 Jul 2022only in India Xiaomi has builded 9 factories in less than 1... moreFully automated no work for you people then....😂🤣

    Marta, 23 Jul 2022Something is better than nothing. Very droll..🤣

      • ?
      • Anonymous
      • vxM
      • 24 Jul 2022

      Marta, 23 Jul 2022Something is better than nothing. True. I'd suggest to buy this phone only if unusual design is what you need. Otherwise - Nothing special. Poor sound quality is a straight away deal break for me personally.

        • N
        • NumptyGal
        • 7k4
        • 24 Jul 2022

        I completely forgot and missed that apart from the IP53 instead of an IP68 it also has a single LED flash - If it had a dual LED flash it would be killing the competition in terms of specs and night light pics

          • ?
          • Anonymous
          • 8N3
          • 24 Jul 2022

          I expect next gen to be equal, but add 7g1 and 5000.
          Maybe an IP58.
          I do not expect it to have more.

          At least better than those nord phones that explode in India

            • L
            • Little Penguin
            • 8SI
            • 24 Jul 2022

            Anonymous, 23 Jul 2022Xperia fans spewing conspiracy theories as always? Why am I... moreI do not have one .. They are not even sold here.
            I am not gonna buy any phone from other country to later pay import taxes (also wait weeks to ship to my home after it arrives at customs)

            But I remember this. All because score was higher than s10+.
            Samsung users do not accept any phone earns higher score than galaxy.


            Then they gave lame excuse that score system had an item with doubled score, pointed by readers.

            How could any reader point if only their staff has access to it?

            If any device deserves 4, give 4 no matter brand.
            If device deserves 3.2, give 3.2 no matter brand.
            If device deserves 4.7, give 4.7 no matter brand .


              • I
              • Idkxx
              • n@x
              • 23 Jul 2022

              Mr. Anonymous, 23 Jul 2022Judging by this review, their first smartphone attempt is p... moreThey kinda were hyping it up as something revolutionary when that's just not true. I am sure they will do it again coz they will get plenty of sales i bet that's how it is in the tech industry. They did add some nice touches I will say but that's all it was and even those aren't something which haven't been done before in a different style but theirs are atill unique in a way

                • ?
                • Anonymous
                • vpS
                • 23 Jul 2022

                Little Penguin , 23 Jul 2022I am surprised samsung users have not yet demanded the writ... moreXperia fans spewing conspiracy theories as always? Why am I not surprised?

                No wonder they are considered to be one of the most toxic fanbase amongst all the smartphone enthusiasts.

                  I do agree with a lot of people.

                  Since we are talking about Carl Pei(Oneplus),once again they didnt listen to what people would really like in a android mid ranger like

                  microSD
                  3.5mm jack
                  ir blaster
                  charger in the box
                  (notification led in the front and not on the back)

                  Wireless charging is nice,but again like with Oneplus,its a missed opportunity to give many features like older devices used to give.

                    • M
                    • Marta
                    • n9x
                    • 23 Jul 2022

                    Something is better than nothing.

                      • T
                      • Tommy
                      • nin
                      • 23 Jul 2022

                      I am not a fan of this phone but I have to say: those night photos are outstanding!! and i would say on par with flagships. I own samsung a52s and night photos are pure disaster:(

                        Judging by this review, their first smartphone attempt is pretty good. I would even consider recommending this phone to some of my friends.

                          • ?
                          • Anonymous
                          • Jvg
                          • 23 Jul 2022

                          The Flip, 23 Jul 2022I think the hate and ridicule towards this phone is overblo... moreWeren't you one of those who thought LED lights were ridiculous?

                            • L
                            • Little Penguin
                            • 8SI
                            • 23 Jul 2022

                            I am surprised samsung users have not yet demanded the writer to change score to lower valeu like done to xperia 1.
                            It got 4,6 , than they forced score to be lower on next day.

                              • ?
                              • Anonymous
                              • 4Dy
                              • 23 Jul 2022

                              cyber, 23 Jul 2022i am from earth,you aparantly just came from mars,so called... moreyou know, oppo, xiaomi and huawei do have factories. There is one which doesn't. It has a nice fruit logo too you know....

                                So the next logical step after removing the headphone jack is ruining all audio playback?
                                GSMArena is very kind with their reviews. When a phone fails to deliver a major feature, I'd knock the rating WAY down until it's fixed. No more of this "great phone that crashes" or "everything you've been looking for except cellular data" with 4.5 stars crap.

                                  The Nothing Phone gets easily mocked for 3 reasons -

                                  1. The name Nothing is easy to mock and make puns.
                                  2. The rear is looked upon as a gimmick.
                                  3. It's not a flagship even though it's not priced that way.

                                  I say give the company a chance to improve upon it. Who is to say they can't? It's just Generation 1.

                                    Aierlan, 23 Jul 2022Huawei, Oppo, Vivo and Honor all do have their own factorie... moreonly in India Xiaomi has builded 9 factories in less than 12 years.....the most advance one will starts operation next year:

                                    https://technode.com/2022/05/12/xiaomi-to-open-new-fully-automated-smart-factory-in-2023/

                                      • ?
                                      • Anonymous
                                      • KAS
                                      • 23 Jul 2022

                                      Anonymous, 23 Jul 2022I don't hate the phone. I hate the fact they've c... morethis particular review on GSMA was not biased at all. The youtubers are though, because of free units they get from companies. This review did bluntly point out the audio situation on this phone, and the lack of a better IP rating. And if the phone is genuinely good performing then it's not called bias, is just that you didn't like it

                                      I'm not biased either. I already mentioned about the current issues with the phone (display and back panel) but the phone itself is pretty good when these are fixed

                                        cyber, 23 Jul 2022i am from earth,you aparantly just came from mars,so called... moreHuawei, Oppo, Vivo and Honor all do have their own factories for smartphone manufacture although they do outsource manufacture (and sometimes design) of some cheaper models too. Xiaomi seems to outsorce the manufacture of all their phones but they are also currently building a manufacturing plant to focus on their high end phones.