Nothing Phone (1) review

22 July 2022


Sort by:

  • ?
  • Anonymous
  • Jvg
  • 23 Jul 2022

The Flip, 23 Jul 2022I think the hate and ridicule towards this phone is overblo... moreWeren't you one of those who thought LED lights were ridiculous?

    • L
    • Little Penguin
    • 8SI
    • 23 Jul 2022

    I am surprised samsung users have not yet demanded the writer to change score to lower valeu like done to xperia 1.
    It got 4,6 , than they forced score to be lower on next day.

      • ?
      • Anonymous
      • 4Dy
      • 23 Jul 2022

      cyber, 23 Jul 2022i am from earth,you aparantly just came from mars,so called... moreyou know, oppo, xiaomi and huawei do have factories. There is one which doesn't. It has a nice fruit logo too you know....

        So the next logical step after removing the headphone jack is ruining all audio playback?
        GSMArena is very kind with their reviews. When a phone fails to deliver a major feature, I'd knock the rating WAY down until it's fixed. No more of this "great phone that crashes" or "everything you've been looking for except cellular data" with 4.5 stars crap.

          The Nothing Phone gets easily mocked for 3 reasons -

          1. The name Nothing is easy to mock and make puns.
          2. The rear is looked upon as a gimmick.
          3. It's not a flagship even though it's not priced that way.

          I say give the company a chance to improve upon it. Who is to say they can't? It's just Generation 1.

            Aierlan, 23 Jul 2022Huawei, Oppo, Vivo and Honor all do have their own factorie... moreonly in India Xiaomi has builded 9 factories in less than 12 years.....the most advance one will starts operation next year:

            https://technode.com/2022/05/12/xiaomi-to-open-new-fully-automated-smart-factory-in-2023/

              • ?
              • Anonymous
              • KAS
              • 23 Jul 2022

              Anonymous, 23 Jul 2022I don't hate the phone. I hate the fact they've c... morethis particular review on GSMA was not biased at all. The youtubers are though, because of free units they get from companies. This review did bluntly point out the audio situation on this phone, and the lack of a better IP rating. And if the phone is genuinely good performing then it's not called bias, is just that you didn't like it

              I'm not biased either. I already mentioned about the current issues with the phone (display and back panel) but the phone itself is pretty good when these are fixed

                cyber, 23 Jul 2022i am from earth,you aparantly just came from mars,so called... moreHuawei, Oppo, Vivo and Honor all do have their own factories for smartphone manufacture although they do outsource manufacture (and sometimes design) of some cheaper models too. Xiaomi seems to outsorce the manufacture of all their phones but they are also currently building a manufacturing plant to focus on their high end phones.

                  • ?
                  • Anonymous
                  • a0V
                  • 23 Jul 2022

                  Anonymous, 23 Jul 2022All the hate on this comes only from the people that don�... moreI don't hate the phone. I hate the fact they've compromised influencers into giving biased reviews.

                    • ?
                    • Anonymous
                    • KAS
                    • 23 Jul 2022

                    [deleted post]All the hate on this comes only from the people that don't or can't buy this. Rest others were disappointed that this didn't turn out to be the $500 flagship they always wanted

                      • ?
                      • Anonymous
                      • 8N3
                      • 23 Jul 2022

                      cyber, 23 Jul 2022i am from earth,you aparantly just came from mars,so called... moreHuawei, oppo , vivo and xiaomi have own factories.
                      Obviously very kow end devices are odm, samsung has few as well.

                        • ?
                        • Anonymous
                        • 8N3
                        • 23 Jul 2022

                        The Flip, 23 Jul 2022I think the hate and ridicule towards this phone is overblo... moreIt is on pair with many phones between $400-520.
                        Some stuff better, some stuff not.
                        Just this.

                        Why so much hype about this?
                        Why does media treat it as if it was a $1300 phone being sold for $500?

                          • c
                          • cyber
                          • S2D
                          • 23 Jul 2022

                          507AMS, 23 Jul 2022almost all brands get components or have factories in China... morei am from earth,you aparantly just came from mars,so called ,,major" brands from china like xiaomi,huawei and so on exist only on papers,they neither own factories,rnd departments or any equipment-they are customers to the factory which produce them ,providing external design only,then is a samsung who has a lot of their own factories manufacturing above 90 percent of its phones with little as 20 percent chinese parts at all,they also has few cheap odm models for certain markets so buddy you does know Nothing

                            Damn, this comments are just a shills fest, I'm outta this site lol like good riddance 😂

                              • T
                              • T4techdroid
                              • u14
                              • 23 Jul 2022

                              Gonna buy it , fantastic! What a unique design, i really love android devices, Nothing os is well optimized too...

                                I think the hate and ridicule towards this phone is overblown. So what if it's not a flagship? That's not its target audience. From reviewers, they seem to like the device for what it is. A solid first gen product that will only get better.

                                Do people forget how the first iPhone was ridiculed because it didn't have third-party apps? How people wanted the Nokia N95 more? I think Nothing products have potential. Think about Xiaomi from 2014. We saw their potential when they had those flash sales. And not every Xiaomi was flagship. They'd sell Redmis for bargain prices.

                                  • S
                                  • Soda-with-lime
                                  • 7k0
                                  • 23 Jul 2022

                                  Here's nothing phone 0.1
                                  https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nokia_3220

                                    • J
                                    • JackHammer
                                    • StU
                                    • 23 Jul 2022

                                    For all those asking is this device worth the money, or is the sound on par with x, y, z how does it compare with iPhone or Samsung S20 or even any other flagship device is not the point. The Nothing Phone 1 is an entry level (mid level) phone at a decent price with some very decent all in one phone. Yes there are many trade off to some people.
                                    I have been Samsung from S1, I've had iPhones, Honor 8, Huawei.
                                    Now if the Nothing Phone 1 doesn't meet your needs at the cost advertised no one is forcing you to buy it or own it.
                                    Since its almost a stock Android OS I personally would wait until this device is in a shop where I can actually use the device both black and the white.
                                    Twin sim on all bands fantastic no mention of esim, but this is not a flagship device once again.
                                    Does it support dual apps by default or 3rd party apps?

                                    All in all there are many that this device will be suitable for and yes while I find the over the top LED notifications not worthy at least you can turn the damn things off.
                                    I personally if I like the device once I have it in my had I shall be buying it as it fits my needs on paper..
                                    And yes I will put a plain black or white skin on the back to cover the rear glass if I decide to get one of these phone's.
                                    Each to their own there will also be haters and we all have a choice.. 👀

                                      Landfill junk !!!!!

                                        • ?
                                        • Anonymous
                                        • 8N3
                                        • 23 Jul 2022

                                        Anonymous, 23 Jul 2022Crazy how having extra features in a phone is considered as... moreTook important space and made you pay for the hardware/software.
                                        As useless as 120/144/240Hz and 12/12/18/20GB ram.