Google Pixel 6a review

07 August 2022


Sort by:

NeonHD, 07 Aug 2022This. The biggest two deal breakers for me are the refre... moreif the phone can get me through the day without any issues I couldn't care less about charging speed since I just plug it in evening and unplug after waking up, why do you need high charging speed? to faster wear down battery?

    Grey Wolf, 07 Aug 2022Technically, if somebody never had phones with 120Hz, 60Hz ... morebecause you won't find smaller phone for this price with such good camera? tell me one, Xperia 10 IV or Zenfone 8 certainly don't have better camera, not sure about Xiaomi 12X

      Zuzuz, 07 Aug 202212x from xiaomi destroy this phone at around same price. 1+... morewhile I like 12X it had wow crap software support, different from series 12, though that should be fixable with custom ROM, so I'd worry more about camera performance compared to 6A

        LoneOwl, 07 Aug 2022S21 FE actually destroys this phone in general now that it ... moreS21FE is huge and its camera is slow shit, usable maybe for childless reviewers and bunch of young people who take photos of static objects, otherwise you have to get pixel

          Anonymous, 08 Aug 2022Over here the pixel 6 is 500€ the pixel 6a is 470€ -> ge... morepixel 6 has huge dimensions even compared to 6a which ain't really small either compared to Zenfone 8/9, Xperia 10 IV or Xiaomi 12X

          I like pixel zero shutter lag, which makes Samsung or Zenfone no buy, not sure about Xperia or Xiaomi cameras, but I read Xperia cameras aren't very good either plus no 4K recording, which has even my 4 years old phone is crazy

            • ?
            • Anonymous
            • Lkg
            • 08 Aug 2022

            Anonymous, 08 Aug 2022I want a 60 Hz screen and better battery life in a compact ... moreAce 3 is less than $250.

            Small body, 4500mAh, IP68, gorilla victus on screen, earphone jack, micro sd slot.

              • ?
              • Anonymous
              • C7%
              • 08 Aug 2022

              Anonymous, 08 Aug 2022I want a 60 Hz screen and better battery life in a compact ... moreSony Xperia 10 IV

                Batterylife.

                  • ?
                  • Anonymous
                  • vaS
                  • 08 Aug 2022

                  Respect to iPhone SE (2022) for making every competition look better in comparison since Mar 2022 lol

                    • ?
                    • Anonymous
                    • mx}
                    • 08 Aug 2022

                    Anonymous, 08 Aug 2022Well, ruzki, I am sure you have great Chinese options, enjo... moreHmm surprised you thought the camera was that good. I had the 6 pro and yeah it was very consistent but that good, no. My P40 pro was far more versatile, better depth and HDR handling and generally equal in quality.

                    The Mi 11 ultra beat my P40 pro hands, not the s22 ultra they're meh just very versatile, so curious to know your experience with the 6 pros camera. (also did the magic eraser feature actually work properly for you and the ultrawide not have inconsistent colour reproduction problems like mine?)

                    The battery was a very big issue for me and the constant hardware and software problems was enough to trade it in. (about 40 different issues for me and some were fixed then reappear a month later).

                      • ?
                      • Anonymous
                      • mx}
                      • 08 Aug 2022

                      If Google had atleast thrown in a 10 bit, 90hz oled screen with improved charging and the 50mp main sensor of the 6 and 6 pro I'd agree, this would be a really complete and competitive phone but after experiencing that Samsung manufactured Tensor 💩 in the 6 pro, I can't agree to any pixel product now being worth a 2nd look.

                      The pretty bad battery life for a 60hz screen and still awful charging with a what, 5-7 year old camera sensor for anything over £250 is a rip off and a joke you actually recommend it (literally phones worth £200-300 that offer double the features, have a consistent and proven SoC that don't need updates every week just to fix things and far better battery and charging).

                      This phone is a rip off but GSMarena seriously love pushing Google phones on people, that and Samsung and apple even when the devices are poor excuses for money grabs (lower end A series, the SE line and now the 6 series of pixels, how is the 6 pro even a contender for phone of the year? I've used it, I got rid of it because of how badly it performs even vs my P40 pro and find X5).

                        Anonymous, 08 Aug 2022Xiaomi phones kill background activities often, still phone... moreMiui is heavy and has lot of features, they may kill app you use but they dont kill their bloatwares, so technically still you have lot of background process.

                          • ?
                          • Anonymous
                          • iF4
                          • 08 Aug 2022

                          Anonymous, 08 Aug 2022I want a 60 Hz screen and better battery life in a compact ... moreOkay, I won't buy money for a 60 Hz panel anymore. :) And happen to prefer bigger phones, for me they are easier to use.

                            • ?
                            • Anonymous
                            • xkR
                            • 08 Aug 2022

                            Anonymous, 08 Aug 2022I want a 60 Hz screen and better battery life in a compact ... moreSony 10 mark 4

                              • ?
                              • Anonymous
                              • tZ4
                              • 08 Aug 2022

                              Anonymous, 08 Aug 2022Xiaomi phones kill background activities often, still phone... moreAll custom Android UIs kill background activites often, according to dontkillmyapp. Xiaomi is not better or worse than others, so stop your hating Xiaomi for hating's sake.

                                • ?
                                • Anonymous
                                • Lkg
                                • 08 Aug 2022

                                Hemedans, 08 Aug 2022Thats the point, not just display resolution, but soc also ... moreXiaomi phones kill background activities often, still phones have poor standby

                                  • ?
                                  • Anonymous
                                  • Lkg
                                  • 08 Aug 2022

                                  Anonymous, 08 Aug 2022I don’t know how much this is true or not but I want to add... moreIphone 13 = 1/1.9"
                                  Iphone SE3 = 1/2.55"

                                  SE 3 loses to 13, like 13 loses to 13 Pro.

                                    Zuzuz, 08 Aug 2022The only thing that a big sensor does is to give a narrow D... moreYou have high comprehension of phisics. Now you need to learn some physics.

                                      • ?
                                      • Anonymous
                                      • ndm
                                      • 08 Aug 2022

                                      Anonymous, 08 Aug 2022Yeah, high time for 60 Hz panels to go away. It's a vi... moreI want a 60 Hz screen and better battery life in a compact phone.

                                        • ?
                                        • Anonymous
                                        • mnk
                                        • 08 Aug 2022

                                        It my have the upper hand on camera against competition. But overheats a lot courtesy of Tensor chip, UI with standard refresh rate looks sluggish. So it´s compact, great camera, and excellent OS support.

                                        You have the Moto Edge 30, lighter, great SD778+, fast charger 33W (included), for less than this. I don´t know why GSM Arena haven´t reviewed this phone yet, one of the best for me. And has close to stock android too