Samsung Galaxy Z Fold4 and Z Flip4 hands-on review

10 August 2022


Sort by:

  • K
  • K
  • rJh
  • 11 Aug 2022

The Flip, 10 Aug 2022I'm the type now who wants to use less Internet. Use l... moreBut changing your electronics is bad for the planet as it creates more electronic waste and junk.

    I just spent $13 on returning a hat that didn't fit me via UPS. Unbelievable with inflation. Imagine how much I'll spend shipping my Flip 3 out just to get this trade-in credit for a Flip 4 I'm not beating my chest in getting? Same old, same old.

    I think I'm good. No need to upgrade to a Flip 4. Honestly, my only real complaint of the Flip 3 is the small cover display. And the Flip 4 did not correct this. Battery life is fine. I only keep the Flip 3 on 4G and 60 Hz. I practice the 85-40 rule.

    I carry two phones, so battery life never is a concern. And since wanting to digital detox more, I really don't need long battery life since I'm trying to stay away from the Internet and all the distractions and time-wasting.

    I do find it odd that if you trade in a Fold 3 to get a Flip 4, you only get $825. With Flip 3, it's $900. I guess Samsung knows people who upgrade are coming from a previous model of that series. I just find it strange that a Fold 3 which was $800 more expensive could only get $825. Samsung is slick.

    Fold fans and Flip fans are completely different demographics. Fold is more for power users. Flip is more for casuals who like packing light or don't want a brick in their pockets or hands.

      • ?
      • Anonymous
      • vpS
      • 11 Aug 2022

      Anonymous, 11 Aug 2022Samsung PR doing ads here? LOL !!! Funny that you say that when you have been acting like someone from Sony's PR team for several years on the internet.

        Was ready to order my Flip 4 in pink gold and 256 GB. Then I saw it says $5.15 / 36 months instead of $2.78 / 36. That goes from $100 to $185. At first, I thought it's from the interest rate since I'm doing an installment plan using a credit card. But I believe that $85 extra are taxes. So I closed the website.

        I guess I'm keeping my Flip 3. I know it's only a $85 difference but we're going through recession and inflation. Every $1 saved matters more these days. And I took off the case on my Flip 3 and miss how great it feels. I'd get the pink gold 4 and my GameCube boot-up gif won't match the color any more.

        There is just too much of a hassle to re-do everything again on a new phone. And I've been wanting to lessen my Internet usage rate, so more power isn't required. I have too much memories with my Flip 3 pictured. It's the one that got me into video games. Who knows the type of new bugs the Flip 4 with One UI 4.1 / Android 12 will carry? While my Flip 3 has worked perfectly fine after a year.

        Sometimes newer isn't always better. Look at S21 Ultra over the S22 Ultra. Last year's is considered better. I can live without the extra space since most content can be streamed or stored in the cloud. We'll see what Motorola announces tomorrow. A bigger upgrade since it's been 2 years but a worse Razr design.

          • ?
          • Anonymous
          • Lkg
          • 11 Aug 2022

          The Flip, 10 Aug 2022I'm the type now who wants to use less Internet. Use l... moreSamsung PR doing ads here? LOL !!!

            Binko, 10 Aug 2022People on this forum are amazingly negative. All cellph... moreIts because most of these guys just wanna runt to look cool , while in IRL all they can afford and use are cheap phones.

              • ?
              • Anonymous
              • XIa
              • 11 Aug 2022

              he Galaxy Fold4 Multi Window makes everything easier, with fewer interruptions. Which feature is not a Multi Window access feature? *

               Use Finger Gesture

               Access Recent Apps

               Single Window Viewing

               Use Multi Window Handle

                "So what's really new this year?"
                The temperature sensor you forgot to mention.

                  Anonymous, 10 Aug 2022When only 2 brands sell foldables worldwide, it is obvious ... moreDon't be sensitive kid. anyone can bring apple and praise or smash on it, just like apple users always think and love samsung like xiaomi users. It's obvious that apple bots dont like z cuz model numbers are almost same - iphone14 reminds of galaxy z4, iphone15 reminds of galaxy z5, and it goes forever.

                    • F
                    • Fenxy
                    • Yh1
                    • 11 Aug 2022

                    I had to Z flip three I wonder if the screen with a whole the opening and closing without you getting that line in the middle of your screen I just tried them on in and I wish I wouldn’t know if this one will not get that defect because I would get it

                      • ?
                      • Anonymous
                      • I@H
                      • 10 Aug 2022

                      The Flip, 10 Aug 2022I'm the type now who wants to use less Internet. Use l... moreI would definitely ride that train if I had the Flip 3. Getting a Flip 4 through trade-in with that much credit is basically like buying a low-end midrange. It's Samsung too so I would not worry how stable the software would be. I'm using the A52s 5G right now so I'm really liking Samsung so far.

                        • S
                        • S Yu
                        • vU9
                        • 10 Aug 2022

                        Due to the crease, the UWA without autofocus, and slow charging, I can't recommend this to family who's in the market for a foldable. Maybe the Vivo due for a minor update soon...

                          I'm the type now who wants to use less Internet. Use less social media. Don't need all that horsepower which is mostly overkill. And it's not like we use all the apps we download daily. But Samsung is basically giving back $900 for last year's model so you can use their new model and you only need to pay an extra $100 more for it. I don't even think it's $100. I know I got $100 credit just by reserving it.

                          So it's an essentially a FREE upgrade and I can boost the storage up to 256 GB which I should've done in the first place with my Flip 3 last year. Samsung is paying for my mistake last year! I'm thinking of going 512 GB. There was a rumor the 512 was supposed to get 12 GB RAM but no dice. Still at 8 GB. I'll settle with the 256 GB option. Then store like hundreds of ROMs from PSP, PS2, Dreamcast, GameCube, and Wii.

                          Again, it's ok if it's only 256 because I'll be trading my Flip 4 for the Flip 5 next year. I can also be more careless with my phones since they're all on borrowed time for only a year of usage. Samsung will give you credit for even broken phones. I'll probably won't even use a case then for the Flip 4. They're basically disposable pieces of electronics to these OEMs and to us.

                            • ?
                            • Anonymous
                            • Lkg
                            • 10 Aug 2022

                            The Flip, 10 Aug 2022Samsung has got all of us on a yearly and endless upgrade l... moreSo, it is samsung's fault you get new phone every year? No, it is yours and only.

                            Do not make excuses. Even if you just had to pay 1,00 after trade-in, it would still be unnecessary action from you.

                              Samsung has got all of us on a yearly and endless upgrade loop with all these trade-ins and free perks. It's cool but it's also kinda annoying for me because it takes a lot of time setting up my phone. Then more money buying another case and other accessories. New bugs can also start popping up that you didn't have with the previous one.

                              Had Samsung only offered $600-$700, I would've said no. But it's $900! That's how much I got my Flip 3 for since I got a $100 refund because I wanted return it after 2 days because of the annoying crease. But didn't once they offered that $100 refund. All this feels like an arranged marriage. Not true love. Just feelings under certain conditions. LOL. I guess I can't get too attached to my Flip 4. Because I'll likely trade it in again for the Flip 5. The endless loop continues. But hey, pretty much a free upgrade every year is the perk.

                              ~We're caught in a trap~
                              ~I can't walk out~

                                • ?
                                • Anonymous
                                • Lkg
                                • 10 Aug 2022

                                Anonymous, 10 Aug 2022Chinese phone makers are given 12 years to disassemble Sams... moreWhy would they bother to do it when they do not make components?

                                  • ?
                                  • Anonymous
                                  • Lkg
                                  • 10 Aug 2022

                                  Hey1004, 10 Aug 2022Oh i see. What i wanted to say is Samsung owns more than 74... moreWhen only 2 brands sell foldables worldwide, it is obvious that one of them is gonna have huge % of market. Nothing to do with Apple.

                                  Obviously that people outside China is going to buy samsung when besides samsung only Motorola has foldable. Motorola did not bring any model in 2021.

                                  Samsung users are in love with Apple just like xiaomi users. Cant forget Apple exists.
                                  Every comment they need to bring Apple to conversation.

                                    • ?
                                    • Anonymous
                                    • Lkg
                                    • 10 Aug 2022

                                    The Flip, 10 Aug 2022I think it's kinda insulting that Samsung is the undis... moreNone of the other use samsung screen.
                                    That could be reason.

                                      Dang. I think I'm getting the Flip 4 and I'm not even that interested in it. SMH. Check this out...

                                      Samsung will offer $900 credits if I trade in my Flip 3. I also get the free storage bump to 256 GB. That's my biggest regret getting my Flip 3. I chose 128 GB. Once I got into retro gaming emulation, I had to keep deleting ROMs especially PS2 and Wii because they took up so much space.

                                      I still have like $600 left paying off my Flip 3 on a 36-month installment plan. I'm only adding maybe $100 more to it. That's $4.17 if 24 months more or $2.78 if 36 months more. I have to do this. It's going to be annoying setting up my new phone again and I'm no fan of the glossy sides. But that trade-in deal with all the pre-order credits is too tempting.

                                      Adding $100 cost is only adding about 4 more months of installments. Snapdragon 8+ Gen 1 manufactured by TSMC with faster cores and upgraded Adreno 730 GPU + 3700 mAh + 256 GB is going to make a Flip 4 a much better emulation device than my Flip 3. No more throttling when there is hot weather. Ok, maybe a little. But not as notorious as the 888. My Flip 3 never really overheated though.

                                      It hurts to let go of my Flip 3. I grew attached to it. But I must trade it in. Samsung is making me an offer I can't refuse! Flip 3 only had a $300 trade-in value last month. Plus, I want YouTube Premium for 4 months because I hate ads. The weird thing is, I'll probably still be using my Razr 5G as my main phone. The cover display experience is just so much better on it over the Flips with that SamSprung widget.

                                      Here we go again. Going have to buy a new case. I don't like the one Samsung is offering for free with the ring loop. My Araree case which protects the hinge scratched up the back of my Flip 3. It ticked me off so much. While my Razr 5G is the glossy black one. Not my preferred color choice. I snap off the cheaper case with no hinge protection and my Razr 5G still looks sexy and flawless.

                                      The Razrs are the better-looking devices with the better cover display experience. It's just the previous two had to be stuck with Snap700-series SoCs. The new Razr gets the flagship specs but then is more ugly. Neither Samsung and Motorola got it right in 2022. Flip 4 looks the same as the 3 with ho-hum upgrades. The new Razr is far better internally but worse in design.

                                        • J
                                        • JLC
                                        • paf
                                        • 10 Aug 2022

                                        Guys, complaining about why the crease is there and why it is less visible on competitors' devices does not make sense.
                                        You can either have S Pen support and IPX8 rating OR the waterdrop hinge. The combination is not possible today, at least nobody has the technology or the right idea for doing it. I prefer the two options over the waterdrop hinge any day.

                                        Just in case someone asks why?
                                        Regarding S Pen: the actual display and the digitizer are “glued” together. There exist no bendable digitizer yet which means the fix part has to cover both the display and the digitizer. In Z Fold, only the bendable area has no digitizer and it has to be very narrow otherwise the algorithm would not be able to calculate the S Pen position in that area. But the waterdrop hinge requires a much wider bendable area.
                                        Regarding IPX8: it is the similar reason: the wider waterdrop hinge would not allow to have two separated “slab phones” to be sealed in a traditional way and the loose bendable area would not be IPX8 as well if it was too big and too flexible.