Google Pixel 7 Pro review

25 October 2022


Sort by:

Asphalt-nation, 26 Oct 2022I do believe the Pixel 7 series compete in the very high en... more"But in real life, you won't notice it. At all."
Nowadays the difference in performance between midrange and high-end SoCs can be only truly felt when you're playing graphics-intensive games (Genshin for instance), and Tensor will struggle to keep up with what Qualcomm and Mediatek offer in that regard.

"no mid-range chip could possibly pull such advanced imagery"
Qualcomm's midrange SoCs can handle GCam ports just fine. What Google seems to be focusing on Pixel 7 is AI-powered image processing such as Face/Photo Unblur or Magic Eraser, but they really are solely dependent on NPU and not the other components (that are generally considered to be more important) of the SoC. Tensor G2 has a upper-midrange grade CPU and GPU which at best competes with SD888 or the upcoming 7 Gen 2 in terms of both raw performance and power efficiency, let that sink in.

    Mediatek sux, 27 Oct 2022No problem.https://youtu.be/KaKy-8njBGY

    S22 Ultra: 45.4°C, 45W

    Find X5pro: 43.1°C, 80W

    OnePlus 10pro: 43.1°C, 80W

    IQ00: 49.6°C!, 120W

    Xiaomi 12pro: 56.2°C!, 120W


    and: https://youtu.be/nM2mk19HgEQ

    S21Ultra: 48.1°C, 25W

    iPhone 13pro Max: 48.4°C, 27W

    Pixel 6pro, 42.7°C, 30W (Average Charging speed 10.7W)



    While I had the Pixel 6pro slightly higher in memory, it does show on the iPhone and Samsung that at lower wattage, you can still get a higher temperature while Charging, leading to the battery aging faster.

    Generally the faster you charge on any phone, the hotter they get.

    Most people just don't take in consideration that any phone handles high wattage differently well or bad.

      • ?
      • Anonymous
      • 4NG
      • 27 Oct 2022

      Anonymous, 27 Oct 2022$899 not bad? Deluded people like you are the reason why ph... more$899 MSRP gaming laptop would be trash specs though, Thats like an i5 and a GTX 1650 256gb SSD 8GB ram. This comparison doesn't make a lot of sense lol...You're comparing two things that are completely different and the only similarity is the fact that they are "technology hardware". Thats like comparing a car to a boat and you're using the fact that they are a "means of transportation" as a comparison factor. Both pieces of tech have very different purposes.

      The price factor is really confusing to me. If anything phones have been getting cheaper once you account for inflation. $899 today is far weaker than $899 in 2016.

      You can just buy a phone with a headphone jack and Micro SD card slot. A lot of them are still being made to this day. The only company who doesn't make a phone that has a headphone jack and Micro SD card slot is apple.

      I've had very little trouble unlocked the bootloaders in the last 3 phones that I've had. I don't really understand what you mean by bootloaders being increasingly not unlockable. You sure seem to know a lot about unlocking bootloaders for someone who doesn't actually buy a lot of phones...

      The Gimmicky part I don't understand. Almost every single phone in the last 10+ years has been nearly a carbon copy of each other just with better specs year after year. Only a few are "gimmicky" such as folding phones or phones with pens inside them.

      You can always just wait for sales before you buy a phone just like how you'd wait for a sale to buy a laptop. Recently I've seen the OP9 go for $150 over at Best Buy and the Pixel 6 go for $200. If you take advantage of these types of deals you can save a lot of money and pay very little for a phone...unless you want an iPhone in which case apple rarely does sales. You could buy a z flip 3 in excellent condition off ebay for about $350 and do the Samsung trade in deal at Best Buy to get $800 off say an S22+ thus paying $350 for that S22+. If you're poor, just stretch your dollar to the maximum possible amount that you can. Never pay MSRP for anything. I never pay full price for any of the phones I've purchased.

        maxmin, 27 Oct 2022If you want great battery life the 5a is fantastic. The Ten... moreYeah, but the 5a wasn't sold in Australia, and the prices of listings on eBay here are through the roof.

          • ?
          • Anonymous
          • Lkg
          • 27 Oct 2022

          Pixel 7 scores 96h

            • ?
            • Anonymous
            • n@7
            • 27 Oct 2022

            By the way, if there is a distant background, you can take good portrait photos at 2x and 4.9x without artificial background blur. In both cases you get raw files with approximately 12 megapixels. (At 2x, Google uses 1.2 micrometer pixels instead of 2.4 micrometers)

              • ?
              • Anonymous
              • C7@
              • 27 Oct 2022

              Anonymous, 27 Oct 2022Talking + video + web browsing + standby = total time And why do they reserve the waiting time and do not say it like the other three data?

                • ?
                • Anonymous
                • 4NG
                • 27 Oct 2022

                branigg, 27 Oct 2022I fail to see how a flagship with such a poor battery test ... moreThe battery test they do here on GSM Arena must be customized to your use case to get accurate numbers. They calculate the numbers with the phone talk time numbers included. The only numbers you should look at from the battery test are the "web browsing" and "video playback". The way we use our phones today makes these two numbers matter more than anything else.

                Why not just get the ROG phone 6 if battery is so important?

                  • A
                  • Anal
                  • xW{
                  • 27 Oct 2022

                  This review states that the new Tensor is again made on Samsung's 5nm process yet all other sites say it's their newer 4nm process. So what is it?

                    • A
                    • Anal
                    • xW{
                    • 27 Oct 2022

                    DMX, 27 Oct 2022Thank God there are more alternatives with Android Stock, s... moreTensor is a customised Exynos made by Samsung therefore it can only ever be manufactured by Samsung. If Google wanted a TSMC fabbed SoC then they should have gone with Mediatek.

                      Mediatek sux, 27 Oct 2022No problem.I agree, Mediatek.

                        • ?
                        • Anonymous
                        • Lkg
                        • 27 Oct 2022

                        bing bong, 27 Oct 2022How is the endurance rating calculated exactly? For example... moreTalking + video + web browsing + standby = total time

                          • ?
                          • Anonymous
                          • Lkg
                          • 27 Oct 2022

                          DMX, 27 Oct 2022Thank God there are more alternatives with Android Stock, s... moreRepeat in front of mirror until you learn.

                          Exynos will never be made out of samsung semicon.
                          Exynos will never be made out of samsung semicon.
                          Exynos will never be made out of samsung semicon.

                            AnonD-1066415, 27 Oct 2022My father's 2 years old Realme 7 Pro (with 65W chargin... moreRealme 7 pro has a 1080p 60hz amoled screen and a 4500mah battery and a low power snap720 that doesnt support 5G.

                            Obviously it will last even with a degraded battery as it consumes less power compared to other devices.....

                            Why do you thing the Pixel 7 pro has a mediocre battery life with a 5000mah battery?
                            a)5G
                            b)1440p 120hz display, high brightness too
                            c)Tensor chip consumes more battery

                              • ?
                              • Anonymous
                              • n1Y
                              • 27 Oct 2022

                              Anonymous, 26 Oct 2022Agreed, at $899 the P7P is not too bad. Photos are where th... more$899 not bad? Deluded people like you are the reason why phones are so unreasonably priced. It's unreasonable to pay this much for a phone no matter how rich someone is. For that price one can get gaming laptop. How is it reasonable to pay more for a phone than a good PC? And we're talking about one of the worst phone on market, with 2 year old performance.
                              People like you are the reason:
                              1. Phone are too expensive
                              2. They don't have headphone jack and microSD card
                              3. Bootloaders are increasingly not unlockable
                              4. Gimmicky
                              Etc etc. Instead of boycotting you buy them hence giving these OEMs approval

                                • Z
                                • Zuzuz
                                • nDN
                                • 27 Oct 2022

                                DoctorDroid, 27 Oct 2022Lol, for Indian markets, this phone will tank badly, as all... moreWith what offers you have there, pixel shouldn't be a real choice

                                  • Z
                                  • Zuzuz
                                  • nDN
                                  • 27 Oct 2022

                                  branigg, 27 Oct 2022I fail to see how a flagship with such a poor battery test ... moreI really think that the app they use for the tests is not the best out there. I can say that I disagree with them on some results.

                                    • D
                                    • AnonD-1066415
                                    • m46
                                    • 27 Oct 2022

                                    LOL, 27 Oct 2022How could you compare a crappy Chinese phone with Google�... morePure stock Android experience, lol indeed. Stock Android was a thing, back in the day when other Android skins were laggy and bad. Nowadays, almost all of them offer nicer experience than stock Android. Of course, not talking about budget or cheap phones. But, if you look at some mid-ranger phones or flagships, you will find nicer ones than Pixel phones.
                                    The only thing good about Pixel phones, is the software update policy. And not talking necessarily about longevity (because even here Google has been lacking behind Samsung for example), but talking about how rapid newest Android version arrives on Pixel phones (of course, for people who value this thing; I personally don't, I can wait couple of months until the new version arrives on my phone). The rest of Pixel phones is just okish for me, nothing special.

                                      • ?
                                      • Anonymous
                                      • Ib5
                                      • 27 Oct 2022

                                      I have to be serious and make a case about the battery life here and say it's much better than what the numbers are saying. My S21 5G would be charged before going into work at 4pm and I normally had to charge it up at least a bit before I clocked out at 12am if I was using it fairly heavy. And that's just watching YouTube or TikTok with the occasional messaging and Bluetooth using Spotify.

                                      Got a pixel 7 pro on the 13th. I've yet to have actually needed to charge the phone during a shift in the 2 weeks I had it with the same usage patterns, I unplugged at 3pm yesterday and it's just about 6am and I'm just dipping under 30%. Maybe I'm lucky, maybe it was just enough of a battery jump to handle my needs. I honestly don't know, but I'm finding this measurement weird whereas the base S21 has a higher number?

                                      My main point is the number game is strange with the pixel 7, in an average day to day use by a normal standard this thing will easily get through a full work day with enough to spare before bed. In a lazy passive setting it'll make it 2 days easy, it's really use dependant. If you're burning genshin or wild rift then it's gonna tank in 4 hours or so but everything else it's pretty decent and I believe the updates will make it better

                                        • D
                                        • DMX
                                        • 8xr
                                        • 27 Oct 2022

                                        Thank God there are more alternatives with Android Stock, so I avoid this thing! I hope that for the pixel 8 Google manufactures its tensor with TSMC, real fast charge!!!! minimum 67w, ultrasonic fingerprint reader and flat screen, bring that and I will return to pixel, this year no pixel for me

                                        -oh, and that 5g can be used where it is available even if it is marketed in that region!
                                        ...