Huawei Mate 50 Pro review

31 October 2022


Sort by:

adsubzero, 01 Nov 2022LOL iPhone is probably the worst option for photos in moder... moreit's not just the iphone that is overprocessed, it's all modern phones nowadays. Take a photo with a dslr and compare it's beautiful soft yet stunning photos with phone photos. Phones might have more dynamic range and "sharpness" but dslrs are just the way to go if you want natural photos. Everyone's jumping on the computational photography bandwagon and that just sucks. BTW Xiaomi's ultrawide and zoom cams are virtually unchanged so that means better versatility and quality overall from the competition. Xiaomi's video is good tho... on the main sensor. If Xiaomi improved the quality overall then it'd have been the best this year, but they didn't so it's great if you only take photos on the main cam.

    • A
    • An0n
    • XUD
    • 01 Nov 2022

    handyman, 01 Nov 2022I used to have various Mate phones in the past and they wer... moreI have Huawei P40, the last tiny flat screen flagship, even better, still support 5g. It's a tiny beast.

      It can be so perfect but without 5g no sorry

        adsubzero, 01 Nov 2022LOL iPhone is probably the worst option for photos in moder... moreExactly was going to say same

          Really I understand that's terrible without 5G, but okay for almost next year's and performance you get today at many places.

          And also understand, that people like to play eg Pokémon Go which will not work, cause the game uses location but specially contacts from Google services. Therefor it is not running.

          But ethe ecosystem is worth it to be reviewed and it's almost enough offering to deal and play with.
          ----
          On the other hand there are a lot people which likes mobiles from fruit brand only. But see: no working good textcorrection working until today (German).

          No reverse charging (eg earbuds, watch), no free filemanagement (photos, MP3), no standardized sharing or briadcast allowed, really suffering cameraexperiences at photos, no free customization off startscreen, lockscreen (still, but now a bit openend), no ringtone, notifications free choice. What's up?

          Today only from 1.200€ over 2.000€ and people don't tell that this is really bad! offer, bad customer related(!!)

            adsubzero, 01 Nov 2022LOL iPhone is probably the worst option for photos in moder... moreExactly .. These naive only goes what advertising says .. iphone google iphonee google and in reality they are worst always something not working on iphones and are manufactured faulty camera faulty etc .. And little boys here never had that pixel joke in hands and claims it is any good .. When it is trash..

              LoneOwl, 01 Nov 2022This is probably the worst performance on a snap8+ gen 1 de... moreOnly because they lacking 5g and gaps?

                The Snapdragon chipset will work fine but Huawei was working on the **Kirin** chipsets with 5G soc and that's where it was awesome !!!

                  adsubzero, 01 Nov 2022LOL iPhone is probably the worst option for photos in moder... moreExactly

                    jiyen235, 01 Nov 2022the cameras are great but apple still wins overall due to i... moreLOL iPhone is probably the worst option for photos in modern cameras, the overprocessing is eye-scorching.

                    Pixel 7 is an even bigger joke, worse than 6. More sharpness than before, even stronger unreal HDR, a lot of artifacts. Photos are unpredictable and can look decent or just fail with a massive amount of LUT noise. Either way, Xiaomi 12s Ultra is unarguably the champion of stock cameras, the problem being the standard (the value system completely messed up) which says artificial oversharpened photos are better. However, if you care about your photo quality and don't use a GCam mod, then you're doing things wrong.

                      This is probably the worst performance on a snap8+ gen 1 device(non foldable)....

                      Also the battery life is mediocre like peak brightness on screen.

                      Huawei devices after Mate20pro/P30 pro(google era),have become so boring/predictable, and despite the lack of Google/5G and low sales/market share, Huawei still charges so much money on them.

                        Suddenly everyone wants google apps and main thing is that on iphones they never use it hypocrites ..suddenly on iphoone gaps are not needed 🤷‍♂️

                          • ?
                          • Anonymous
                          • XMr
                          • 01 Nov 2022

                          Orras, 01 Nov 2022Lol, just look at the DxOMark scores, you have no idea what... morelol i cant take anyone who refrence dxomark seriously

                            jiyen235, 01 Nov 2022the cameras are great but apple still wins overall due to i... moreFor me apple is faky and not real ..
                            And ordinary people don't buy phone for making videos .. But phoning ..🤷‍♂️
                            U can turn AI off ..pixel 7 applause ?? U mad? Goole all pixels are trash nobody wants them u only see advertisement and u go according that..like typical non aware person buys random phone which been offered and pushed to customers ..
                            Man Huawei display is Samsung made exactly like on apple again you talking too much as sold apple fan ..or google.
                            But of course this phone isn't worth grand.. And even iphone or any overpriced smartphones.
                            Best all round smartphone is Oppo Reno8 Pro 5G which I have and cost me only 400 bucks ...

                              the cameras are great but apple still wins overall due to its crazy good videos. The cost is a bit much for a phone with no GMS. I really don't know what it is about Huawei's photos but they just look so artificial. Like everything is an AI generated object or something. The lack of oversharpening and nearly no noise is a huge thing but everything feels so artifacted and even smoothed out, super aggressive stuff if you look closely. BUT oversharpening is definitely the worse thing to get so yeah these photos are nice, I think the Pixel 7 pro deserves a round of applause for being just as good as the best, if not better, in terms of photos and being so cheap.
                              That notch is still hideous tho, huawei's displays never looked good to me in terms of how eye pleasing the display's design itself is post mate 10 pro. I really liked how the mate and p series phones handled bezels before then, looked so good and imo even better than the competition back then but now it's worse than an iphone.

                                • ?
                                • Anonymous
                                • Tui
                                • 01 Nov 2022

                                another nuclear phone that throttle so bad.. so even if it had 5g/google it would still feel not worth price....

                                  Is there any Android App that goes thru installed apps (on phone with GMS) and shows which app will work on Huawei Mate 50 Pro (or other Huawei without GMS) and which with limitations or not at all.

                                  I could live without GMS. But too many other Apps use GMS and will not work without (I say lazy written Apps).

                                    This site has been suffering from Huawei bias for years. No matter how good its cameras are, if any other phone maker would offer a premium priced phone in 2022 with no 5G, no Google services, a relatively cheap design, only 8GB of RAM, and this kind of performance throttling, it wouldn't get more than 3 stars.

                                      nickem, 01 Nov 2022You've seriously gone off the rails, trying to convinc... moreThe wide F1.4 aperture means Mate 50 Pro's main camera takes in just as much light as Mi 11 Ultra per exposure - A larger sensor means nothing if the physical aperture of the lens remains small (unless you're shooting at the base ISO, where the difference in image quality between phones will be minimal thanks to image stacking anyway).

                                      This also means Mate 50 Pro is 20% and 16% more light sensitive than S22 Ultra and iPhone 14 Pro Max, respectively. Mate has a relatively small sensor compared to its peers, but makes up for it by having a large diameter iris.

                                      Now I'm wondering who is really disconnected from the reality..

                                        • h
                                        • handyman
                                        • 0xa
                                        • 01 Nov 2022

                                        I used to have various Mate phones in the past and they were always great phones, especially the Mate 20X which was my favourite. Huawei really knows how to make top phones and their cameras are always some of the best. What disturbs me a lot about their new flagships just like other manufacturers like Samsung, Xiaomi etc. is the curved screen. I really hate them like many people do but the manufacturers don't care. They just do their thing. I am glad that Apple and Sony have stayed with a flat screen. That's why I favour them now.