OnePlus 12 review

23 January 2024


Sort by:

  • ?
  • Anonymous
  • gDf
  • 27 Jan 2024

It's unbelievable that in 2024 there are still such extreme differences when it comes to demosaicing Quad Bayer Sensors. The difference at 2x between the OnePlus 12 and Vivo X100 Pro is huge even though both main cameras deliver the same number of pixels per object.
The demosaicing algorithm of the Oneplus 12 at 2x is one of the worst Quad Bayer demosaicing algorithms I have seen, though I have seen other bad results some years ago.
It shows again that the color filter array can have a huge impact on the image quality, if the manufacturer doesn't have the right algorithms.

    Aierlan, 26 Jan 2024This screen is definitely better than the ones on the Vivo ... moreahh yeah exactly man, I'm thinking it's a software thing like there have been a few Find X7 Ultra comparisons online but that phone got a huge update for basically everything recently. So I'm guessing Oneplus needs an update too. Vivo got an update for 4k selfie vids. Seems like BBK kind of rushed their products.

      • ?
      • Anonymous
      • 8Np
      • 26 Jan 2024

      Nick Tegrataker, 26 Jan 2024That's a really nice piece of information, I appreciat... moreYeah. And still some ppl doubt exmor T makes difference.
      As you see info posted by the other reader, numbers show about 50% higher value compared to exmor RS of same size.

        • ?
        • Anonymous
        • 8Np
        • 26 Jan 2024

        mr stoosh, 26 Jan 2024So I'm assuming the higher FWC figure that the OnePlus... moreYes.

        LYT - T808 is exmor T. Variant of imx888 from.xperia mark 5.
        LYT-808 is successor of imx789.
        T808 has much high light sensibility.

          • ?
          • Anonymous
          • 02s
          • 26 Jan 2024

          Intensityblue, 26 Jan 2024In the UK at least the only reason this won't sell is ... moreYou are trying to affirm your purchase, I guess. Everyone is missing out because they don't understand, and carriers are not selling it because they are stupid?

          Nope, most people simply choose what they consider a better phone/value case, and most often it's a Samsung or Apple, which are comparable or close, with discounts. Google's Pixel Pro is also a better phone, and cheaper than the others.

            jiyen235, 26 Jan 2024hey man awesome comment and I agree, honestly I'd have... moreThis screen is definitely better than the ones on the Vivo x100 pro and Iqoo 12. Lots of Chinese reviewers have measured the whole screen auto brightness over 1,600. Don't know why there is a discrepency. Maybe it was an early software build on the global version? The x100 pro and Iqoo 12 are using mixed screens from visionox and Boe. The Op12 uses the same screen as the Oppo Find x7 ultra. It's using BOE's latest and best technology

              Intensityblue, 26 Jan 2024In the UK at least the only reason this won't sell is ... morehey man awesome comment and I agree, honestly I'd have upgraded from my phone to this one if it were 1 year older so I'm holding on for just a year longer. After that it'd be a tough battle between the next IQOO, Oneplus and Vivo's X Pro model haha like these 3 are the current kings I think right alongside Google's spectacular Pixel 7 and 7a. GSM wrote so many positive things but gave this phone a 4.3 and I think they did Oneplus dirty, the Oneplus 11 had 4.4 stars which was a worse phone even in last year's market. This is the best phone for the most people, the S24 stands no chance, the base iPhone might win people over with Apple's processing and the Google Pixel is a solid contender but no telephoto could be a problem. I just think Oneplus could've gone with a brighter display for a lower res like the Vivo X100 Pro or the IQOO 12 but that's about it and low light video stabilisation seems to be a mess but that's about it, everything else is banger. Welcome back Oneplus, now just put the Oneplus 11's hardware onto the next year's R phone and Oneplus would cement itself as the new global GOAT.

                • I
                • Intensityblue
                • pKN
                • 26 Jan 2024

                Anonymous, 25 Jan 2024Yet many of the major review sites gave lukewarm reviews to... moreIn the UK at least the only reason this won't sell is because you can't get it on contract from any mobile providers.
                But let's be serious, you're wrong with what you say. For this money specifically, nobody is going to buy Samsung or Apple devices because they quite simply do not exist in the same price range and where they might come close, specs are substantially lower.

                Those who choose Apple will always choose Apple, it has nothing to do with anything other than the perceived value that device has to them which is more than fine. Value for money is irrelevant and I respect that even though I choose not to use Apple devices.

                For Android owners the only Samsung device that should really be considered ahead of this is The S24 Ultra because again, the others in there range can't compete in most areas.

                It's a shame because from my time with the OnePlus 12 this is truly an amazing device, curved screen and all. Flat screens these days are no better and create devices which are far more angular and less comfortable to hold by any metric, especially one handed.

                The OnePlus 12 is comfortable to hold, more.responsive than any other device I've had the pleasure to use and looks truly stunning. But nobody is ever going to understand that if they're too closed minded to give one a go. Again such a shame that mobile providers won't be carrying this device, as just holding in your hand would turn the heads of many prospective users, and that's just not going to happen as the opportunity doesn't exist.

                Cameras may be less than some of the competition but sorry to disappoint you here, there actually pretty damn good, and when you're saving over 400 bucks on your device compared to the competition that's understandable. The only thing I will accept as a valid reason for not considering the device however is the lack of IP 68 protection reverting to IP 65. To be fair, the way this works, companies like OnePlus tell independent testers to check for conformity to a specific standard, and if they meet the requirements that rating is given. Yes it costs more to Get an IP 68 rating per device but OnePlus has demonstrated again and again that there devices are better than there IP rating would have you think, unfortunately given that they don"t guarantee against water damage and it still invalidates warranties, it makes it harder to follow that logic.

                Then again water damage invalidates Samsung warranties also so maybe what we should really be looking at is companies having enough self belief in there product to back it up and unfortunately no manufacturer presently has the balls to do that, IP 68 or not.

                At the end of the day, this phone absolutely rocks, and although some diehard Oneplus fans might prefer the old Oxygen OS, having used both that and the new ColorOS adjusted version I truly believe this is an upgrade on the softwaremfromt also.

                  • S
                  • Stoon
                  • fwG
                  • 26 Jan 2024

                  cons to add :

                  . bad thermal as other SD8 gen 3 devices

                    • R
                    • Rain
                    • 0@L
                    • 26 Jan 2024

                    mr stoosh, 26 Jan 2024So I'm assuming the higher FWC figure that the OnePlus... moreYes, technically the sensor from OnePlus Open is way better.

                      Deva, 26 Jan 2024Compare the OnePlus 12 with Vivo x100 which is better. And... moreVivo's lack of updates and global 4G/5G bands sucks. They are good phones only in China if you don't care about updates.

                        • D
                        • Deva
                        • ITn
                        • 26 Jan 2024

                        Compare the OnePlus 12 with Vivo x100 which is better.
                        And I don't know why many people don't put interest the Vivo x series. These phones also good or not

                          Rain, 25 Jan 2024To clarify some things: LYT-T808 sensor frome OnePlus Open ... moreSo I'm assuming the higher FWC figure that the OnePlus Open LYT-T808 has is technically better than the main camera used in the OnePlus 12?

                            Rain, 25 Jan 2024To clarify some things: LYT-T808 sensor frome OnePlus Open ... moreThat's a really nice piece of information, I appreciate it. I didn't know they had all the numbers listed on their website.

                              Anonymous, 25 Jan 2024Majority of their sales are surely Nord. Dont think flags... more"They can bump production of oled if necessary"
                              By investing a s*** ton of money, yes. LCD is a lot simpler in terms of structure so Sharp can mass-produce these panels, but IGZO? I highly doubt it.

                                • ?
                                • Anonymous
                                • dSV
                                • 25 Jan 2024

                                ua82, 25 Jan 2024nice spec considering how much can get the CN version and j... moreI too am not impressed with curved screens at all, if the 12 or 12r had a good flat screen even like my 8t i would definitely have got one or the other but now very undecided, maybe have to change make.

                                  • N
                                  • Neo
                                  • 0ww
                                  • 25 Jan 2024

                                  Rain, 25 Jan 2024To clarify some things: LYT-T808 sensor frome OnePlus Open ... moreThere will still be crazy people who will claim that it is the same sensor or a similar sensor.. Even if it has half the power compared to the LYT-T808..

                                    I cant really get it , why people complain about android skins...

                                    Some said coloros os trash
                                    Others said oxygen is trsh
                                    And so eho said one os is trash

                                    I have tried all of them and find no difference and all do the work great

                                    Why the software is a big deal

                                    Or in other question

                                    Why people complain about softwares if it does the works great ??

                                      • ?
                                      • Anonymous
                                      • 02s
                                      • 25 Jan 2024

                                      Ottonis, 25 Jan 2024Recently, "Mr. Who's the Boss" (a popular ha... moreYet many of the major review sites gave lukewarm reviews to the One+ 12 Pro camera performance, and especially to the nighttime performance. GSMA's review of the camera is a bit of an outlier and more positive than most. For the price, most will choose a Pixel, Samsung, or an iPhone. But if all you care about is the fastest chip and want to save a few pennies, then the 1+ may be in the running. But if you wait for three months, the price will probably drop by a lot, because there is little chance that this will sell without major price cuts.

                                        • R
                                        • Rain
                                        • mZ5
                                        • 25 Jan 2024

                                        To clarify some things: LYT-T808 sensor frome OnePlus Open is not the same as LYT-808 from OP 12.

                                        You can find crucial evidence of this on the OnePlus site. According to the information on the oneplus open site LYT-T808 has a full-well capacity (FWC) index of approximately 40,000e, which means it can absorb 40,000 electrons per pixel before becoming fully saturated.

                                        On the OP 12 site, there is an information that the sensor has FWC up to 24,600.

                                        Main sensor in OP11 16,500 FWC.

                                        So as You can see OP Open and OP12 main sensors doesn't have same capabilities.