OnePlus 12 review

23 January 2024


Sort by:

  • N
  • Neo
  • 0ww
  • 25 Jan 2024

Rain, 25 Jan 2024To clarify some things: LYT-T808 sensor frome OnePlus Open ... moreThere will still be crazy people who will claim that it is the same sensor or a similar sensor.. Even if it has half the power compared to the LYT-T808..

    I cant really get it , why people complain about android skins...

    Some said coloros os trash
    Others said oxygen is trsh
    And so eho said one os is trash

    I have tried all of them and find no difference and all do the work great

    Why the software is a big deal

    Or in other question

    Why people complain about softwares if it does the works great ??

      • ?
      • Anonymous
      • 02s
      • 25 Jan 2024

      Ottonis, 25 Jan 2024Recently, "Mr. Who's the Boss" (a popular ha... moreYet many of the major review sites gave lukewarm reviews to the One+ 12 Pro camera performance, and especially to the nighttime performance. GSMA's review of the camera is a bit of an outlier and more positive than most. For the price, most will choose a Pixel, Samsung, or an iPhone. But if all you care about is the fastest chip and want to save a few pennies, then the 1+ may be in the running. But if you wait for three months, the price will probably drop by a lot, because there is little chance that this will sell without major price cuts.

        • R
        • Rain
        • mZ5
        • 25 Jan 2024

        To clarify some things: LYT-T808 sensor frome OnePlus Open is not the same as LYT-808 from OP 12.

        You can find crucial evidence of this on the OnePlus site. According to the information on the oneplus open site LYT-T808 has a full-well capacity (FWC) index of approximately 40,000e, which means it can absorb 40,000 electrons per pixel before becoming fully saturated.

        On the OP 12 site, there is an information that the sensor has FWC up to 24,600.

        Main sensor in OP11 16,500 FWC.

        So as You can see OP Open and OP12 main sensors doesn't have same capabilities.

          Recently, "Mr. Who's the Boss" (a popular hardware review channel on YouTube) posted a very enthusiastic review on the One Plus 12 praising the screen, CPU performance, cooling, overall finesse of the OS layer, and battery - with the only caveat being the camera performance that he found good but not outstanding.
          According to this reviewer, he puts the Oppo 12 among the potential top 3 smartphones of 2024.

          So, the overall tone of the gsmarena review is a bit more careful and a little bit sceptical when compared with that other review. The overall rating of 4.3 stars is certainly less than what other flagship phones get.

          While there is no doubt that this is a hugely attractive phone, I am still wondering how it may compare in real life to the usual flagships from Samsung, Apple, Sony, Asus, or Vivo.

            • u
            • ua82
            • pvZ
            • 25 Jan 2024

            nice spec considering how much can get the CN version and just flash oxygen , supports the network bands aswell, but think I'll wait another year wished they do away from the curved screen,

              • S
              • Ss
              • CbE
              • 25 Jan 2024

              Iqoo 12 is a amazing option and with good discount on credit card . Its performance is amazing due to snapdragon gen 3 processor.

                • ?
                • Anonymous
                • 0p}
                • 25 Jan 2024

                Nick Tegrataker, 25 Jan 2024There's uncertainty about how capable Sharp is in prod... moreMajority of their sales are surely Nord.
                Dont think flagships even count more than maybe 2 millions.
                Sharp was once one of suppliers of LCD of zapple and Sony.
                They can bump production of oled if necessary.
                Since componets are delivered batch by batch, it is possible.

                  • ?
                  • Anonymous
                  • 02s
                  • 25 Jan 2024

                  Zuzuz, 25 Jan 2024The phone is 960 on their website and you'll get some ... moreThe One+ is cheaper, but hardly better. I, like most, would choose the Samsung for the camera alone.

                    dexton, 24 Jan 2024The 3x zoom camera of their Oneplus 12 has a lens flaw, lik... moreI've bought two phones that had lens flaws in the past. I would always return it also as it would annoy me. However, I had great difficultly returning one of them as I bought it from a Xiaomi offline store in China and in order to return it I needed to go to a service center and get them to certify that the phone is faulty (it can't be returned normally once the box is opened unless there is a fault). This can be very tricky for a lens issue as usually they try to deny it and claim it's normal as the issue is not that noticeable unless you look carefully. I had to argue for a long time to get them to agree to certify that it was faulty. Luckily for me there was a model on display so I asked the maintenance staff to compare the pictures with the display model and they could see they were different and the display model did not have the blurring on one side of the picture. I also only buy online too direct from the manufacturer as they all have a 7 days return policy buying online so you can return it without having to get it checked for faults in a service centre. Lens flaws are actually relatively common and now it's the first thing I check when buying a new phone.

                      Anonymous, 24 Jan 2024How to fix: - colorOS 🔄 oxygenOS - boe oled 🔄 sharp ig... moreThere's uncertainty about how capable Sharp is in producing IGZO panels at a large scale (i.e. They might face a yield issue), so choosing BOE over Sharp is a much safer move.

                        wow, it has better vapor chamber than S24 ultra. A flat scr. would be perfect.

                          • Z
                          • Zuzuz
                          • mA{
                          • 25 Jan 2024

                          Nezziak, 24 Jan 2024All in all, a really mediocre device for 1000€ in Europe. ... moreThe phone is 960 on their website and you'll get some gifts along with it. Overall is better than S24+ which is more expensive.

                            • Z
                            • Zuzuz
                            • mA{
                            • 25 Jan 2024

                            Anonymous, 24 Jan 2024How to fix: - colorOS 🔄 oxygenOS - boe oled 🔄 sharp ig... moreIgzi is available only in Japan and only for Sharp. Is extremely expensive and very hard to obtain a satisfactory number in production.

                              • M
                              • Maria
                              • xhn
                              • 25 Jan 2024

                              Bob, 24 Jan 2024There is no competition at their price rangeYou are right if we consider the price range only. The fact is that people out there are comparing between OP12 and S24Ultra, based on the camera performance and the value for money aspec that make S24Ultra overpriced.

                                • A
                                • Azuz
                                • m@8
                                • 25 Jan 2024

                                Nezziak, 24 Jan 2024All in all, a really mediocre device for 1000€ in Europe. ... moreMediocre? Compared to what in the same price range?

                                  • A
                                  • Azuz
                                  • m@8
                                  • 25 Jan 2024

                                  Anonymous, 24 Jan 2024Other reviews, such as CNETs, are far less excited about th... moreDon't rely to much on what different reviewers say about it.

                                  One will praise it because they get money from someone and others will say its crap just because they get paid from another...

                                  Wait and see what owners have to say and also wait for some updates which often make the cameras better.

                                    The 3x zoom camera of their Oneplus 12 has a lens flaw, like decentering or something. It's on the right side of the frame, quite blurry. Can even be seen in 6x zoomed photos.
                                    Haven't seen a similar flaw in their Oneplus Open or Oppo Find N3 samples, with the same lens.

                                    If I received a phone with a flawed lens like that, I would return it.

                                    OP12 is a nice looking phone and I like curved screen (like my S23 Ultra) but 2x photos are better on S23 Ultra. And its hard to live without the pen once you've started using it for some things.

                                      • ?
                                      • Anonymous
                                      • 02s
                                      • 24 Jan 2024

                                      Other reviews, such as CNETs, are far less excited about the camera quality.

                                      I would not even consider this phone at the current asking price. But OnePlus generally loses its value much faster than the likes of Samsung and Google, and of course Apple, so at some point it can become a good buy.

                                        • ?
                                        • Anonymous
                                        • jIu
                                        • 24 Jan 2024

                                        Baldilocks73, 24 Jan 2024Why are your Geekbench scores so low compared to other site... moreThey aren't the only ones.

                                        Android Central and Tom's also posted unusually low scores.

                                        I think it's maybe some kind of setting that gets triggered causing it to drop into power saving mode? Either way GSMA is not the only ones that got weird scores. I bet the OS is buggy (as is typical for OnePlus...)