Samsung Galaxy S24 Ultra review

13 February 2024


Sort by:

PWM measuring device can be purchased for about 30€ nowadays. Still quite surprising that they don't include this information in their review, when the topic in itself became quite prominent.

    SteveUk, 14 Feb 2024...what were you hoping for, realistically? (ie. what would... moreThey have no idea.
    I also once asked what they expect from Samsung to "innovate" in (when they started moaning there isn't enough innovation) and the general response was - basically - keep going the same direction, just make a little bit bigger steps. Like give at least 80W charging speed.
    I asked how is 80W charging speed "innovative" when Chinese brands offer faster charging, but there was no response. I don't think they actually understand what innovation means.
    At the same time, they vigorously ignore foldable phone market, which - whether you agree it's a good idea for a phone or not - is a technological innovation. Go figure.

      NeonHD, 14 Feb 2024And how many people is that? Four? Five? You cannot use ... moreSay that to the vocal minority that complains about screen issues. Check with them if they agree.

        Nik, 14 Feb 2024I cannot understand how charging speed of the Ultra S24 can... moreAnd how many people is that? Four? Five?

        You cannot use the anecdotes of the minority to echo the majority.

          • ?
          • Anonymous
          • s8a
          • 14 Feb 2024

          "sensor that behaves in the same odd way"

          I had noticed this issue in my friend's S23U where the screen goes off immediately after the call is attended, irrespective of whether the phone is close to the ear, in the hand or in the desk. It's unfortunate to see issues in such basic things which were good even a decade back.

            Okay, I am positively surprised by improved photo quality. Using the Photo Compare Tool, I compared it with s23u,s22u,s21u. My favorite was s21u for a long time, and s24u is actually on par with it, after so many years.

              Asian phone charging speeds: *cue epic boss fight music*

              American phone charging speeds: *cue sad violin music*

                • N
                • Nik
                • MpZ
                • 14 Feb 2024

                I cannot understand how charging speed of the Ultra S24 can be a complain - I know of people, who are using Xiaomi`s insane 100 or 120 W charger and their batteries were dead (almost) after just 18 months - cannot last full day with single charge now.

                  • ?
                  • Anonymous
                  • 8Np
                  • 14 Feb 2024

                  Aierlan, 14 Feb 2024Like the new direction they have taken this year with the i... moreHP2 is most advanced isocell available right now.

                    • ?
                    • Anonymous
                    • 8Np
                    • 14 Feb 2024

                    Anonymous, 14 Feb 2024"use a paper clip or an earring' could be replaci... moreBecause iphone uses tool to access sim card.
                    Reason allxother docit too, except sony

                      • ?
                      • Anonymous
                      • 8Np
                      • 14 Feb 2024

                      Invetor, 14 Feb 2024Looks like OnePlus 12 (and iQOO 12, to some extent) is bett... moreDepends on what person is looking for.

                      Flat or curved screen.
                      If person want to use the pen
                      Certain fuctions the software offers, both have different.

                        • L
                        • LoLoL
                        • ph{
                        • 14 Feb 2024

                        Invetor, 14 Feb 2024Looks like OnePlus 12 (and iQOO 12, to some extent) is bett... moreAgree. it twice cheeper. U can buy from giztop for 650€ with global version...

                          Anonymous, 14 Feb 2024Wow,the phone is more boring than the iPhone, not in a bad ... more...what were you hoping for, realistically? (ie. what would have "excited" you?)

                            • ?
                            • Anonymous
                            • mhx
                            • 14 Feb 2024

                            "They're claiming 2,600nits of maximum brightness. That's in conditions we can't really test in, though, and we'll be sticking to our 75% patch of white for the time being."
                            "For kicks and giggles, we measured the brightness of a 20% white window, and we got 2408nits"

                            I mean, don't you guys understand how OLEDs work? When a company is claiming 2600 nits on an OLED they don't mean full field brightness (100% white window). It's usually a 10% window. No content on the planet has 75% white patch like your testing methodology for OLEDs. 20% is actually the more realistic testing here.

                            Please try to change your OLED testing, 75% says nothing about the quality of the screen as OLEDs have complex algorithms that try to conserve battery life and not blast the entire screen at full power when displaying white, called auto-dimming.

                              • ?
                              • Anonymous
                              • rwX
                              • 14 Feb 2024

                              People have been complaining about samsungs oversaturation but now that they changed it they still complaining.

                                • ?
                                • Anonymous
                                • Dke
                                • 14 Feb 2024

                                Wow,the phone is more boring than the iPhone, not in a bad way but still nonetheless.

                                  Shamrock Sean, 14 Feb 2024But it still have horrible noise and mushy details especial... moreYes, but anyway it is much better than on S23U.

                                    Aierlan, 14 Feb 2024Like the new direction they have taken this year with the i... moreBut it still have horrible noise and mushy details especially when focusing towards sunlight. I've seen it already on a frienda S24 Ultra

                                      • ?
                                      • Anonymous
                                      • at1
                                      • 14 Feb 2024

                                      I think S24 ultra needs a long time review at least 6 month it might samsung can fix issues with it honestly s24 ultra lot better than s24 ultra especially flatscreen, minimum bezels and titanium frame gave this phone way better look than any samsung flagship around.

                                        Anonymous, 13 Feb 2024"but it might be the opposite and might have false det... morewhy, is pixel binning bad?