Samsung Galaxy S24 Ultra review

13 February 2024


Sort by:

Anonymous, 13 Feb 2024"but it might be the opposite and might have false det... morewhy, is pixel binning bad?

    • ?
    • Anonymous
    • at1
    • 14 Feb 2024

    I thought brightness levels going to be as good iPhone!

      Looks like OnePlus 12 (and iQOO 12, to some extent) is better than S24U for most people.

        • ?
        • Anonymous
        • 3SI
        • 14 Feb 2024

        Could you please share the wallpaper of the introduction page?

          • ?
          • Anonymous
          • sXH
          • 14 Feb 2024

          "use a paper clip or an earring' could be replacing that in the near future. That, or eSIMs."

          Why not go tool-free like Sony?

            • c
            • cyber
            • S2D
            • 14 Feb 2024

            guys,skip the entire samsung line this year,display faults are not acceptable with such a flagship device and others s24 with exynos having bad battery life and performance of s23 series,even all of the a-series this year are brought back with exynos chipsets from previous seasons which are proven failures

              • F
              • Fisherman
              • 7t}
              • 14 Feb 2024

              Frankly I would say this phone is a disappointment. The cameras are honestly pretty average for the asking price, display is no longer the best (especially with low pwm and manufacturing defects popping up), charging speed is abysmal in 2024 and the AI features seem useful but still niche given the limited amount of regional support. Oneplus 12 comes in at almost half the price and does things equally well (if not better in some situations). 7 years of support is inconsequential because the processor will be outdated at that point anyways so a laggy mess is all that'll be left.

                • M
                • Maria
                • xhn
                • 14 Feb 2024

                "...and you may not know you want or need one until you've had one." (gsmarena)

                I couldnt agree more with this statement. That happens to me when I need to upgrade my old one but I dont know when. I decided to do it this year. And I do hope I can be with this S24U for 7 years. Peace!

                  • ?
                  • Anonymous
                  • uGP
                  • 14 Feb 2024

                  Stanley Kubrick, 14 Feb 2024NOT every phone has the "grainy" issue! Mine does... moreSane for me. No grainy screen.

                    • M
                    • Mobileman
                    • 6kd
                    • 14 Feb 2024

                    Öooks Samsung push just old phone out with new name...and also worst details..not doing sharp work...
                    Thouse screen and camera issues are bad and unforgiven...sad.
                    And olf s23 uders get aldo AI updates as well..so why buy it?
                    Come on Sam..
                    Looks what i read my next phone is iphone 16 pro max..Apple dont ruin it now...if you dont ,its my 1st iphone.
                    Thanks for good and clear review GSM arena...you we trust.

                      Stoon, 14 Feb 2024very bad cpu throttling compared to s23 ultraMost likely of the Titanium metal is the culprit.
                      Get a fan

                        Like the new direction they have taken this year with the image processing. Seems to be a big change in the image sharpening which is really toned down and this is very noticeable in the photo compare tool. The advantage of using the same main sensor is they should be able to squeeze the absolute most out of it software wise. Still, in my opinion an upgraded main camera sensor is probably overdue.

                          At least the price's more justifiable with the 7 years of updates. It may not be useful when you use it, but what about selling it?

                            The S23 Ultra had better CPU throttling points AND better results out of the throttling test if you look at the GIPS, that's very weird lol, Vivo displays their cooling supremacy with both the X100 Pro and the IQOO 12 being able to perform better in these tests than the S24 Ultra, respect. Vivo has also basically caught up with Samsung in terms of battery, that is outstanding! I thought the S24 Ultra would be far better but it's quite close to the X100 Pro. Great job Vivo, idk what Oneplus and Oppo are doing that made their gaming results so mediocre. High Performance Mode ig?

                            Also,
                            >Be Samsung in 2023
                            >Jack up saturation and sharpness for the S23 Ultra
                            >Everyone loves it! Nice change guys!
                            >Also Samsung but in 2024
                            >Tone down saturation and sharpness for the S24 Ultra
                            >Nice change guys it's more natural!

                            Also, the 10x and 9.9x thing is just the fact that Samsung slightly processes the 9.9x and does proper processing for the 10x. They didn't Samsung-ify the 9.9x that's why it looks natural.

                            I don't get why the X100 Pro, the Oneplus 12 or the Find X7 Ultra were considered. The X100 Pro is going to be available in Europe and is already available in India and the Oneplus 12 is available everywhere so availability is not a concern. The X100 Pro has similar performance, similar battery, similar brightness (albeit lower res) and far better cameras. Selfie camera quality is imo good and the phone has gotten 4k recording capabilities on the Chinese ROM so it'll get it eventually on the global ROM. Besides, the 1080p footage is quite comparable to the S24 Ultra's in terms of quality, just sharpness is lacking. Contrast and exposure handling are top notch. The Oneplus 12 is cheaper and may be considered slightly worse in every category (said by some people but I consider it to be equal) but hey it costs as much as an S24+ so there's that, costs as much as the Ultra's little brother but fights with the Ultra? Now that's impressive. The Find X7 Ultra is a wild card, if someone is willing to get the best that phones can offer then yeah that's it in terms of cameras rn. Some very compelling options were omitted in the conclusion and that makes the S24 Ultra look more favourable than it is. The US is not the only place in the world so talking about Samsung, Apple and Google only doesn't make sense and then putting the Xiaomi 13 Ultra out of nowhere is weird because its availability is weird and makes it seem like apart from the big 3 you won't be able to get your hand on something nice unless you do a lot of searching.

                              I love the power, but other than that it's the same experience I had on my Note20 Ultra. If you don't play demanding games, no need to upgrade yet if your phone is 3 years old.

                                Pretty sure the graininess is due to the new matte coating

                                  • d
                                  • dazed1
                                  • 04M
                                  • 14 Feb 2024

                                  Anonymous, 14 Feb 2024So, inferior to the Xiaomi 13 Ultra?Yes. in camera (main and 3x)

                                    Anonymous, 14 Feb 2024What is thisIt's a review. Of a phone.

                                    🤷‍♂️

                                      Hello GSMArena team!
                                      We all wanna know about the portrait photos and videos taken by Samsung S24 ultra.

                                        • ?
                                        • Anonymous
                                        • X%Q
                                        • 14 Feb 2024

                                        What is this