Sony Xperia 1 VI review

15 May 2024


Sort by:

  • K
  • Kaka
  • tZk
  • 16 May 2024

That's how quick panel should look like.

    SuperSpruce, 16 May 2024If only this came to the US, the land of freedom to not hav... moreThat's what depressed us, I think. Just one less nice thing we get here, like access to health care. Still, it's really not that much of a loss, considering. Its cost puts it off limits to most people who want it anyway. We can still buy a small DAP with expandable memory, better sound quality than the VI and carry two things in our packets. Those are also far too expensive and should have replaceable batteries but, obviously, don't. If they did they would last much longer and that hurts sales.

      AcademicBarzo, 16 May 2024I gave up and got a DAP for audio purposes. Sad thing is th... moreI was about to post something similar. Any recommendations on a decent affordable DAP? I want gapless and something that can handle a 1tb micro SD card. I've been using an old LG which probably sounds better than the VI. I have a 5iii. It's alright but the sound quality is noticeably better on my G8 with a cracked screen that has higher resolution and even nicer more natural slightly wider aspect ratio than the VI. I don't use the higher resolution because the battery drains quickly as it is but it is noticable

        What, 15 May 2024I don't care what anybody says. Sony is back. If only this came to the US, the land of freedom to not have a choice to buy a premium phone with a headphone jack or MicroSD slot...

          Some Anonymous Prson, 16 May 2024I am looking for a phone with good wired audio quality a... moreI gave up and got a DAP for audio purposes. Sad thing is that no other flagship devices seem to have what the Sony offers on the audio front (headphone jack, SD card support, Aptx-Adaptive and lossless).

            Lost in space was Sony as it hardly gets mentioned these days of there Xperia phones, Always stuck to Samsung, But even today, Samsung is loosing its touch, especially on it's features, Only best thing still about Sony is that they still have kept the SD card slot and the earphone jack, where now Samsung is getting that greedy, they want you to sign up to the cloud to store your images, Videos, Music, as that is PPM, where Sony still has kept this, But in reality, Sony needs still to update better Camera as to Iris Scanner if it has it, Everyone to there own, But you will never beat the SD card sot being kept as I hope they keep this for a long time to get more sales and learn Samsung a big lesson of what people go for and still want,

              I read the review I can't reply to everyone
              I read a user who had doubts about the performance.
              I don't agree, reading carefully the results are more or less in line
              with the top of the range same CPU. indeed in single mode they are almost identical to the top of the range, excluding the slightly overclocked S24 ultra
              performance also depends on the governor used at the kernel level. It is an excellent purchase, unfortunately the price is affected by the late release of other manufacturers.

                • ?
                • Anonymous
                • JHh
                • 16 May 2024

                Anonymous, 16 May 2024The best phone is here. Very good battery life SD card a... more"best phone": other phones have Gen 4, other phones have better cams, other phones have better screens, other phones are cheaper.
                Yeah no, delusional fanboy.

                  • ?
                  • Anonymous
                  • m51
                  • 16 May 2024

                  Anonymous, 16 May 2024This is the best decision Sony made. 1440p is too much. No ... more"because Xperia 1VI threatens their existences"

                  Funniest thing I've read all day. Sony isn't even a blip on the market share 🤣 Apple and Samsung will sleep easy.

                    • ?
                    • Anonymous
                    • 39x
                    • 16 May 2024

                    Anonymous, 16 May 2024The best phone is here. Very good battery life SD card a... moreYeah totally genuine comment...

                      With small 6.5" low res screen offers poor 396ppi which a midranger nowadays offers 6.78" with 450ppi , Sony failed again !!!

                        • S
                        • Shaft
                        • 6Ps
                        • 16 May 2024

                        Best phone in markit and best of best sony ever produced, only problm is when they release..if it release late then hype will gone please sony make possible to release in 15 days

                          Anonymous, 16 May 2024The best phone is here. Very good battery life SD card a... moreHas it been confirmed that it won't be available in the U.S.?

                            • ?
                            • Anonymous
                            • ni{
                            • 16 May 2024

                            Such a small low res screen with only 396ppi which a midrange phone could offer 6.7" 450ppi, Sony failed again,

                              • ?
                              • Anonymous
                              • ixd
                              • 16 May 2024

                              The best phone is here.
                              Very good battery life
                              SD card and audio jack
                              Thanks Sony for the complete phone.

                                raditz594, 15 May 2024What changes? Almost everything is a downgrade compared to ... moreAudio, battery life, screen brightness, OS support, camera interface, cameras in general, these are better than the 1 V. I own a 1 V, and I'd happily do the switch.

                                I'll lose a narrower body and a 4K screen, and that's it

                                  • ?
                                  • Anonymous
                                  • mxL
                                  • 16 May 2024

                                  The telemacro is insanely good. Wow!!!

                                    Anonymous, 16 May 202479 mm is uncomfortably wide It is only 5mm width difference, I don't find it uncomfortable to hold.

                                      I wouldn't be surprised if making and receiving phone calls were to become niche features limited to hard to find expensive phones at some point. It wouldn't surprise me to see Apple remove it, claiming that they are pushing us into the future and then for Android phones to copy them. It wouldnt surprise me if Google were to force us to use their AI assistant in order to make calls and answer the phone. This seems to be the way things are heading. Expandable memory, headphone jacks and user replaceable batteries were standard on Android devices not that long ago. I can't recall ever reading reviews about phone call quality and reception in phone reviews. It's mostly the camera with a few comments about the design and battery tests.

                                        AcademicBarzo, 16 May 2024Untrue. Plenty of threads on the issues I've outlined ... moreI am looking for a phone with good wired
                                        audio quality as well as through Bluetooth. I want expandable memory. Do you have any suggestions? The vi doesn't look like it'll be available in the States and it's quite expensive anyway. I've had some Bluetooth problems with the 5iii