Sony Xperia 1 VI review

15 May 2024


Sort by:

Anonymous, 17 May 2024Sad to say that now we need to pay a high price for flagshi... moreIt's ridiculous, isn't it? And it will only last a year or two longer than the cheap ones. You used to buy something like that and it would last at least decades.

    in future just within short time this Xperia 1-Vi will be gsmarena Top no .1 by fan ... Most commented in this website . and yes for sure because it was SONY enthusias smartphone ...

      • ?
      • Anonymous
      • LkB
      • 17 May 2024

      Anonymous, 17 May 2024Sad to say that now we need to pay a high price for flagshi... morePrice has been same for 3 years.
      Probably this is cheaper than upcoming iphone 16 plus 256GB

        • ?
        • Anonymous
        • tPG
        • 17 May 2024

        Sad to say that now we need to pay a high price for flagship phone with a 3.5mm headphone jack and a micro SD card slot.

          • ?
          • Anonymous
          • j}r
          • 17 May 2024

          I've had zero problems using a similar power-button fingerprint-reader with my left hand. It just reads my middle finger.

            • t
            • tetqi
            • b74
            • 17 May 2024

            Indeed battery is amazing 👍

              SuperSpruce, 16 May 2024Yes, you can gray market import these phones. Unfortunately... moreFew seem to care about that feature in phones. I have been using an Xperia 5iii for years now It's the U.S model and, honestly, the only major complaint I have about it is that the screen is too narrow. The audio quality through wired headphones isn't as good as my ancient (in phone years) LG G8 but I'm still able to enjoy music from a micro SD card. I have noticed that other people using T Mobile as I do have coverage where I don't. Reception is almost never discussed in phone reviews. In fact, I can't remember ever reading about it on tech blogs. If you want a $1400.00 phone that you can't rely on as a phone but has a camera almost as good as a cheap mediocre real camera, fine. Otherwise, we're back to lugging around multiple devices.

                • ?
                • Anonymous
                • Nu6
                • 17 May 2024

                I actually feel that the biggest competitor for this phone is the previous one. There are some obvious improvements yes, substantial enough to consider upgrading. But I personally feel like it let go of some things to get there.

                  AcademicBarzo, 16 May 2024Ironically, Sony's latest Walkman is pretty good and s... moreThank you. I'll check them out.

                    • ?
                    • Anonymous
                    • nU2
                    • 17 May 2024

                    Nicolas F, 16 May 2024The distance between our eyes and the phone's screen i... moreOk but much smaller size of a phone screen counteracts the points you mentioned. And hey, this 1080p allowed this phone to get over 17hrs in battery life test, as a flagship!

                    And ok bro maybe not you but there are many who are fans of certain brands and they blindly praise and criticize products without considering how good the product actually is. Just look at the comment section, I'm 100% sure almost all of those complaining about 1080p are same ones that were complaining about 4K all these years. Again, not saying it's you necessarily.

                    I'm not a Sony fan or anything but currently I support them when it comes to phones because they've been doing more right things compared to any other brands ever since 2020. With Xperia 1VI they turned it up few notches with LTPO, lower resolution and wider ratio. To clarify I was against Sony pre-2020 because of removing headphone jack and microSD card.

                      SuperSpruce, 16 May 2024When I inevitably get a phone without a headphone jack, I&#... moreSame here. The loss of expandable memory is the most user unfriendly thing they do.

                        • ?
                        • Anonymous
                        • xYI
                        • 16 May 2024

                        Anonymous, 16 May 2024Clients in Taiwan will be receiving in early june As if you will buy it

                          Anton .el PAPI., 16 May 2024But they sell them on Amazon and BY My Best buy 🤷‍♂️🤷‍♂️ ma... moreYes, you can gray market import these phones. Unfortunately, they won't work as phones due to their modems not supporting the cellular bands used in the US.

                            SuperSpruce, 16 May 2024If only this came to the US, the land of freedom to not hav... moreBut they sell them on Amazon and BY My Best buy 🤷‍♂️🤷‍♂️ maybe 200 Dollars more expensive, but they are sold in Gringas online stores

                              • ?
                              • Anonymous
                              • nU2
                              • 16 May 2024

                              Some are complaining main sensor isn't as big as competitors but don't they know this one's Exmor T so it gathers more light? So this sensor punches well above its size suggests. While it does fall short against 1" sensors, it's definitely better than ones used in flagship Samsung and Apple phones (1/1.3" and 1/1.28" respectively).

                              Too many Samsung and Apple fans in the comment section, they don't wanna admit they secretly want an Xperia 1VI!

                                • ?
                                • Anonymous
                                • 0p}
                                • 16 May 2024

                                SuperSpruce, 16 May 2024If only this came to the US, the land of freedom to not hav... moreSony is not willing to sell there anymore because all only buy carrier phones.

                                  Anonymous, 16 May 2024This is the best decision Sony made. 1440p is too much. No ... moreThe distance between our eyes and the phone's screen isn't the same as between eyes and monitor. Also, OLED in phones are almost always Pentile RGBG, so they have a 1/3 less of subpixels than an LCD screen with same declared resolution, thus the 450 ppi thing. 1260p screen would also suffice. And, "losing performance and battery" - lmao, we ain't in 2014 anymore.

                                  Also, looking for "terrified fans" in other's comments tells more about you than about anyone else. I'm not a ""fan"" of anything, because being a ""fan"" is stupid. And I use a vivo phone (iQOO 11), not because I care about that brand (lol), but because it was the only one with the combination of parameters that I needed.

                                    GSMARENA said "Even the Dimensity 9300 SoC outperforms the SD8 Gen 3 inside the Xperia 1 VI in certain scenarios"
                                    From what i can see it destroyed every other chipset in Geekbench and Antutu, Apple included.

                                      Some Anonymous Prson, 16 May 2024That's what depressed us, I think. Just one less nice... moreWhen I inevitably get a phone without a headphone jack, I'll just use my old phone whenever I need wired headphones. I already use wireless headphones for convenience, but sometimes wired is more convenient.

                                      I'm less prepared for the loss of the Micro SD slot though. I remember as a kid having an iPad that would constantly run out of storage. Now I'm an adult with a much more capable device running larger software and generating lots of photos and videos. I don't want to return to the bad old days. We still haven't improved much on internal storage on premium phones; the Galaxy S10+ from 2019 could have 1TB internal! We still see so many premium phones that won't budge above 256GB, and the ones that do charge exorbitant prices for that. I don't want to support these scummy storage markups.

                                        Some Anonymous Prson, 16 May 2024I was about to post something similar. Any recommendations... moreIronically, Sony's latest Walkman is pretty good and small. Pretty good battery life and based around Android 11. The Hiby DAPs also look good, and one of those, the M300, has Aptx-Adaptive (though not lossless) and is based on Android 14.