LG Optimus Black review: Black and bright

12 May 2011
Itís not a Black Label phone but couldíve honored the designer series. Itís called Black but bathes in light. What is the LG Optimus Black? To begin with, itís solid build and pure elegance. With Android on board, smartphone meets...

Sort by:

  • hausofemm

bought this phone today, i'm satisfied with it. The screen is gorgeous, but here in the Philippines the box isn't the same as the one in the review. We have a smaller package and doesn't have freebies (pen + black notebook) and the large book which describes the phone.

  • 2AV1

Does it have already the Gingerbread update ?

  • AnonD-7339

Which one should i buy

1) Lg optimus black
OR
2) sony ericsson neo v

Please help me :)

  • Anonymous

its really good phone ... i like it ..........................................

  • Bubby

Snoopy828, 20 Jul 2011I have used LG Optimus Black nearly one month. The only thing I ... moreI was seroiulsy at DefCon 5 until I saw this post.

  • Vlora

sarthak, 05 Sep 2011Yes i am also having same problem with my black, it heat up very... moreI bow down hmbuly in the presence of such greatness.

  • Stevie

Your answer was just what I neeedd. It's made my day!

  • Cassandra

optimus, 12 Jun 2011one more thing,surfing speed is very good..This piece was a lifejacket that saved me from dornwing.

  • sarthak

Snoopy828, 20 Jul 2011I have used LG Optimus Black nearly one month. The only thing I ... moreYes i am also having same problem with my black, it heat up very quickely when put on charging, i am eagerly waiting for gingerbread then i'll take it to LG and ask them about this problem.

  • Optimus Black Owner

AnonD-15711, 30 Jul 2011Hey guys ...i am really confused between SG sl and LG OB....Plea... moreI recommend the OB. First, it's much latest than the SL and i really love how smooth the OB is compared to my friend's SL. Second, its design is better than the SL's. Thrid, the SL may not have an official 2.3 upgrade but OB will have the upgrade by September or October this year.

  • AnonD-15711

Hey guys ...i am really confused between SG sl and LG OB....Please suggest which is the better phone?
Because SG sl has better video quality and sound quality, and OB has extra options like wifi direct, 2mp front cam also has good design and led flash.
But still i am confused between these 2 phones...please tell me which is good?

  • AnonD-14841

one more thing.

the phone seen here has a matt finish but the dummy i saw at the retailer here has glossy black plastic body


and the dummy screen said "android 2.2 with upgrade to 2.3"

when is that, any official word on it?

  • Optimus Black Owner

AnonD-14349, 20 Jul 2011I have the same headache on selection between Samsung Galaxy SL ... moreWe should expect great improvement in battery performance when update comes by September. Galaxy SL always lag, and when I hold both phones I find the Black's feel better. Its really personal preference. The only thing I find cool about the SL is the hardware Home button and recovery mode.

  • AnonD-14349

Optimus Black Owner, 11 Jul 2011I have a friend who owns a galaxy SL and he complains a lot abou... moreI have the same headache on selection between Samsung Galaxy SL & LG Black. I don't know is the declared specification of Samsung true. She declared that talking time of Galaxy SL could last up to 15hrs, but some source shown that the talking time of LG Black only 7hrs. Difference between Heaven & Hell.

She provided two batteries for their phone customer years ago. But she hasn't offer replacement battery for many years (she may expect her phone life as short as the battery).

  • Snoopy828

I have used LG Optimus Black nearly one month. The only thing I not satisfied with was it Battery life. I have to charge average every 12 hours and I can feel the heat. I worry it will explode one day. Anyone facing the same problem like me? I just on my data service with 2G network.

  • Optimus Black Owner

Clarence, 10 Jul 2011I dying now to purchase this slim smartphone, but i have found a... moreI have a friend who owns a galaxy SL and he complains a lot about it. I have the Optimus Black. I would suggest you go for optimus Black. Tap tap revenge 4 runs smoothly on my phone. And battery is better than the SL's. The phone is also slim and sexy.

  • Clarence

I dying now to purchase this slim smartphone, but i have found a Samsung Galaxy SL which have same spec and CPU in the range, can anyone please give me advice ASAP to decide which phone is better in terms of internet smoothness and gaming experiences? LG BLACK or SAMSUNG GALAXY SL ? TY

  • mighty

please lg hurry up on the gingerbread upgrade for the optimus black .to sum up the black is a solid good phone with some reboot issues but i think all smart phones have it occasionally .so thats why i want the gingerbread upgrade to see if the black can be more fun to use.

  • Prax

Mico, 13 May 2011Good day guys! Anyone here who already purchase this phone? How ... moreYes I bought it 2 weeks back with 8gb external sdcard..Price - 20400 in India...its excellent mobile and all the features are good too...worth buying... nobody can give 2mp front facing camera within this price.. :)

  • Anonymous

i can bet this review will not be close to the retail version of the black in terms of screen quality. lg would have have added more QC steps to ensure perfect review samples. we will see how many consumers actually get this "perfect" screen.

considering the amount of cash gsmarena gets from its advertising revenue, could you really not afford to get a retail phone to review so that it's more accurate for us mere consumers?