Sony Xperia tipo review: Mini just got bigger

21 September 2012
The NXT line gave Sony the strong start they needed after returning to the smartphone game on their own. The Japanese then focused on filling the lower ranks and, yet again, we see them look for inspiration in the old Sony Ericsson scrapbook...

Sort by:

  • AnonD-7981

A5?!?! for god sake this is 2012 (nearly) 2013 and sony decides to release a A5?? i mean even budget phones from other manufacturers have 1 GHz of speed... this has 800Mhz.

  • Anonymous

Anonymous, 24 Sep 2012talk about gpu mate....adreno 200 is weaker than adreno 205... moreof course not but tipo crushed all its range mates

  • Anonymous

Anonymous, 24 Sep 2012Tipo has a capable processor and can run the same apps as X... moretalk about gpu mate....adreno 200 is weaker than adreno 205...My mini pro scored 42fps in Nenamark 2 on sony ics stock rom...while on custom rom it scored 46fps...can tipo reach that high fps???

  • AnonD-17682

AnonD-56158, 23 Sep 2012how much does tipo cost in india? in philippines its more e... moreIts price in india is 9500 Indian rupees = 178.5544
US dollars

  • Erick

Other models in Sony´s range are so good as you move up the range that it will be difficult to persuade people to get the Tipo over the other offerings.

  • Anonymous

Ned, 23 Sep 2012I also completely agree with this. I'm now using the Mini P... moreSony has confirmed there will be no new sideslider, its a niche, no profit.

  • Anonymous

Ned, 23 Sep 2012I also completely agree with this. I'm now using the Mini P... moreTipo has a capable processor and can run the same apps as Xperia Mini, though not as well. I want to see those apps you are talking about, give me a list and check it out on my own Tipo and my Mominlaws Xperia Mini.

If you didnt get it yet: I dont believe you. You are assuming based on your lack of knowledge about Cortex A5. Give us proof. Its a v7 architecture processor, look it up yourself,

  • Gadgety

So SonyE established the Mini and MiniPro and seem to have carved out a niche for themselves with a high performing small phone. And then they launch this which is just small. Hopefully they maintain the established Mini and MiniPro product lines, otherwise I'd question the management.

  • AnonD-1092

Hello GSMARENA,

I m really impressed by yr review. i mean, u guys do a great deal of research for posting a review and comparisons with similar priced or similar specs phones.

I just wanted to ask if u could review Sony Tipo Dual also, or if you could just give the differences between it and Tipo single sim. this would be really appreciated, because dual sim phones tend to have network drop problems, battery drain, software hiccups and so on. Plz review Tipo dual for us

Thanx in advance

  • AnonD-44008

totally frustrating to post audio quality test for this phone and skip the audio quality test for an important phone like Sony Acro S.
why? i couldn't understand... why u insist on not posting audio quality test for Acro S

  • Anonymous

TruthSeekr, 23 Sep 2012I got this phone a week back and I'd like to set the record... moreWell 256 k is mediocre, Sony Ericsson live with walkman is far better but of course at 180$

  • AnonD-64830

A horrid phone the Sony GO mobile phone is a much better phone. Dont waste your hard earned money on the tipo.

  • Ned

boosook, 23 Sep 2012Guys, if you're interested in this phone... I'm a mini (pro... moreI also completely agree with this. I'm now using the Mini Pro. Even though I don't like the no-pro version of the Mini, it still has many many advantages over Tipo. Spec wise, Tipo is a low-end handset while Mini is a mid-end (at considered time). I mean with Mini (or Mini Pro), you can install many apps developed for mid-end device at Google Play Store that you can't find with Tipo because of its incompatibility as a low-end device.

For me, I'm still happy with my Mini Pro. I hope Sony won't release any side-slider until next year. :)

  • Jake

Anonymous, 23 Sep 2012This phone is meh... Xperia Minis 2011 >>>>>... moreIt actually replay xperia txt .
Mini had been replaced by xperia U .

  • Anonymous

ram, 23 Sep 2012pl confirm whether tipo is having 16M colours or 256 K..???Its 256k, or less, pretty bad colors. The viewing angle is so bad that its hard to watch a photo, colors become cartoon-like from any angle.

Nokia N900 had 65k colors but it offered great video quality and very acceptable photo quality. So the bad thing about Tipo is not the number of colors but the quality of the display.

I wanted to try Tipo, and i dont regret so much. Its bad compared to Xperia Mini, thats true, but i have no problems using the Tipo, it works and the performance is very acceptable. Im not planning to use this phone for a long time, i lost my Xperia Pro, using Tipo while waiting for a better Sony to become available, TX or V or whatever. Tipo does the job for now, i think it will be a success for Sony.

  • ram

pl confirm whether tipo is having 16M colours or 256 K..???

  • ironyuppy

Definitely agree on this review. I have Xperia Mini and the only advantage of Tipo to Mini is the larger screen and battery life.

Few brand new units of Xperia mini are still available (I guess) but lower price than Tipo.

  • AnonD-12580

boosook, 23 Sep 2012Guys, if you're interested in this phone... I'm a mini (pro... moreI completely agree. Why anyone would waste time and money on this junk is beyond me. The Xperia Mini can be had for less than the Tipo and is better in almost every respect. Flash in a custom ICS/JB rom and the Mini becomes even more appealing. For a bit more money the Ray/Live with Walkman are available.

  • TruthSeekr

I got this phone a week back and I'd like to set the record straight:

1.
This phone DOES come with a headset in the box. Maybe they don't have one on review units or in Europe; but it does in India.


2.
Very unfair of GSMarena to say "mediocre screen" because this is one of the BEST screens at this price point (around INR 9,500). Display is 180ppi which is far better than LG L3 or even XPERIA Go.
Yes I know this is not a retina display quality...but one needs to say good or bad respective to the price.

  • AnonD-44823

AnonD-56158, 23 Sep 2012how much does tipo cost in india? in philippines its more e... moreIt costs something about 9,500 Indian Rupees
( 1 INR = 54.55 USD )