Samsung Galaxy S21 5G
MORE PICTURES

Samsung Galaxy S21 5G

User opinions and reviews

Sort by:

  • Andrew

Whithout SD card I'll stick to the S20. I hope it's not true...

  • Aakash

Without SD card, it would be super flop.

  • SON GOKU

AnonD-973296, 07 Jan 2021no u dont need to go on amazon or any store, we already hav... moreOh yeah, I totally forgot about USB-C. Thanks

The Covid-19 Pandemic forced Samsung to downgrade some features which they believed it won't affect the final experience.

They know how to handle their finances and want to still exist in the future so they had to make compromises. It's just a year on ice.

Alex, 07 Jan 2021I just read a year-old review of S20 tele camera that prove... moreWell, yeah it's a fake zoom. Or rather it's a no zoom.

Hybrid zoom is computational so I wouldn't think it would have nice quality in the first place.

At 3x it should have 7MP source data which is then turned into 12MP image.
At 2x it should have 16MP data which at night should be 4-to-1 joined into 4MP data that is likely again upscaled to 12MP image.
Someone tho has mentioned that in 1-2x zoom range the main wide camera is used for zooming, so the image may have been made from 3MP source data.

To me it seems that a way to use this 2nd wide camera is to
- forget about digital zoom completely
- manually switch to 64MP shooting mode when you need more data, shoot at 1x
- manually crop if you want to have image without any excessive computational changes and upscaling/downscaling
- forget about 2nd 64MP wide camera at night, I guess it will try to upscale 16MP binned image back to 64MP
Quite a hassle.

As for the last part about using real optics,
I think Mi 10 Ultra has the most advanced 12MP 1.4ยตm 2x "zoom" out there. But when the main wide sensor on S20/S21 has 1.8ยตm pixels, you can see that at least part (1.28x) of such "zoom" comes from crop (using smaller sensor). Also Mi10U is +1.6mm thick. This gives them room to put more glass for remaining 1.55 optical zoom.

I wonder if Samsung could have put at least 1.2ยตm 12MP 2x zoom there.

  • Alex

fuantaji, 05 Jan 2021There is nothing wrong with screen on S21. Especially for t... moreI just read a year-old review of S20 tele camera that proves everyone's point here about the "fake zoom". Look at the samples, the hybrid zoom is a complete failure:
There is already a significant loss of detail in the claimed 3x zoom photos in the daylight (grass, tree branches). And low-light zoom is unusable even at 2x: building wall texture and phone booth is a mess on the 2x low-light samples.
That's what you get for "hybrid" zoom by cropping 64M small low-sensitive pixels, instead of using real optics.

  • nah

What? Without sd card? No way

  • AnonD-973296

SON GOKU, 06 Jan 2021Also, people say a 1080p display is a downgrade even though... moreno u dont need to go on amazon or any store, we already have USB-C cables in our homes since we all use phones with USB-C (well most of us) so we don't have to freak out. even when apple took out their charger, apple user already had lightning ports, well idk about android user switching to apple. the thing apple should have done is give first time apple users a lightning cable and that's it. a USB-A to lightning is what they should have given but then again u can just buy third party cables for either lightning or USB-C so very two sided situation

  • Noper

SON GOKU, 06 Jan 2021Guys the S21 is going to have a Headphone Jack! ๐Ÿ˜ƒ๐Ÿ˜ƒ๐Ÿ˜ƒ๐Ÿ˜ƒHahahah xD nice joke

  • SON GOKU

Alex, 06 Jan 2021Don't misinform people with month old news then if you... moreI found this information right here. I can't tell what the prices are going to be in the US. I heard a lot of people saying the price is too high. I still think this phone might have some potential.

https://www.gsmarena.com/belgian_carrier_accidentally_reveals_the_galaxy_s21_familys_pricing-news-47061.php

  • Alex

SON GOKU, 06 Jan 2021Bad News guys, $999 for the S21. ๐Ÿ˜ญ๐Ÿ˜ญ๐Ÿ˜ญ๐Ÿ˜ญ๐Ÿ˜ญ (Not 100% sure but still)Don't misinform people with month old news then if you are not sure.
โ‚ฌ849 price for S21 has been already leaked. Most likely will be $850 in US as well. Samsung looks to be targeting iPhone 12 prices, that's why they degraded S21 to keep their profit margins.
Still too much for a downgraded premium phone. And extra 200 for the identical plus model is insane.

  • SON GOKU

Bad News guys, $999 for the S21. ๐Ÿ˜ญ๐Ÿ˜ญ๐Ÿ˜ญ๐Ÿ˜ญ๐Ÿ˜ญ (Not 100% sure but still)

  • SON GOKU

Guys the S21 is going to have a Headphone Jack! ๐Ÿ˜ƒ๐Ÿ˜ƒ๐Ÿ˜ƒ๐Ÿ˜ƒ

  • SON GOKU

Also, people say a 1080p display is a downgrade even though 75% of people can't tell the difference. I don't really care about optical zoom since I don't really use the telephoto lens. Lastly, not having a charger and headphones in the box isn't the end of the world, you can go on BestBuy or Amazon to get some. I feel like in the future a headphone jack won't be a thing anymore, it's all going to be wireless earbuds.

  • SON GOKU

I know a lot of people are saying the S21 is going to be trash, but I feel like it could have some potential, and Samsung might make the price lower since it has a plastic back and no charger or headphones. Not going to explain a paragraph because I'm not a Super Tech Person, I have the S20, I'm not going to switch to the S21 because I got my S20 yesterday. Stay Safe.

  • Anonymous

AnonD-973296, 06 Jan 2021what do u mean no simcard, i think u mean microSD right?Sorry, my mistake no micro sd.

  • Alex

AnonD-973296, 06 Jan 2021i hope they come out with a fan edition. this is great spec... moreThat's everyone's point here, devil: this is a downgrade to a solid midranger that Samsung is still offering for the premium price.

  • AnonD-973296

Surl, 05 Jan 2021I agree with you, the s10e is a pretty good phone, and upgr... morewhat do u mean no simcard, i think u mean microSD right?

  • AnonD-973296

i hope they come out with a fan edition. this is great specs, but 850 bucks, eeehhh. i hope the FE will bring some of this stuff down in price. this phone is 300 dollars over what it actually costs

  • Anonymous

Samsung Galaxy S21 arrangement VIP pre-booking in India will begin soon, as per another report. Celebrity pre-booking is said to accompany offers that will be material on the three telephones that are required to be essential for the arrangement โ€“ Samsung Galaxy S21, Galaxy S21 Plus, and Galaxy S21 Ultra. Samsung as of late reported January 14 as the date for its Unpacked occasion, where it is relied upon to declare the Galaxy S21 arrangement, alongside the Galaxy Buds Pro, and SmartTag.