Samsung Galaxy S22 5G
MORE PICTURES

Samsung Galaxy S22 5G

User opinions and reviews

Sort by:

NixxxoN, 30 May 2022Xiaomi 12 is definitely larger, thicker and heavier. S22 is... moreI will say 32 things to close this off. S22 is a small phone, unlike S22 Ultra, which is a big phone and can have a lot of cooling space. When you have a small phone, cooling can be hard and complicated, especially with such a power hungry chip. So it's good that Samsung stayed on the safe side with this one and put a smaller battery. We don't want it to explode like the Note 7 from not enough space.

Also, I wish Samsung made a cheaper toned down S22, like Xiaomi 12X, because I don't need this much power, 870 is good enough for me. But I still want a small phone with flat 120Hz display and good camera. And having a less power hungry chip means more space for battery.

    NixxxoN, 30 May 2022Xiaomi 12 is definitely larger, thicker and heavier. S22 is... moreListen bro. I have thought this through. S22 has 8 Gen 1 chip, which only a few months ago was named 'ovendragon', most phones have a huge section of their phone, OnePlus 10 Pro, Realme GT 2 Pro, just to cool that chip, now the S22 is very small and has the same chip and requires the same cooling. I understand that in no way could S22 fit a 4500 mAh battery. The only thing we do now is find out it S22 could only fit 3700 mAh battery, or a bigger 4000.
    The way I think of it, if you can prove that the S21's 4000 battery was big enough, then you can prove that S22's 3700 is justifiable. Because S22 put a faster 8 Gen 1 chip and put a glass back, and is 6mm shorter. The S22 needed to have a battery smaller than 4000, but what we are all asking is how much smaller?
    You see S21 had the same size as S20, but kept the same 4000 mAh, even while having a way faster 888 chip (which may overheat). So even if they put a plastic back, it still had less space for a 4000 mAh. This either means that putting a faster chip costs as much as putting a glass back... Or keeping the same battery is equivalent to S21 increasing its battery (if it was the same size and build as the S20). In my opinion, the S21 should have decreased its battery from the start, (3900mAh) as it really didn't have much space to fit the power hungry chip. It didn't, but the S22 did, when it got 8 Gen 1. So yes, 3700 is the biggest they could put on S22.

      • T
      • TheDizzle
      • 4Gn
      • 01 Jun 2022

      But why doesn't it have a MicroSD slot? Samsung, you're killin' me. Just put a MicroSD on this, and put the fingerprint sensor into the unlock button where it belongs, and this would be the perfect phone.

        • ?
        • Anonymous
        • 0Uh
        • 31 May 2022

        Fconhyea, 31 May 2022Man you are clueless about how phones or computers work in ... moreTry to download 100-200 apps on a android with 6gb ram and then uninstall them.
        Then do the same thing with a phone with 12gb ram .
        It is important what you do with your phone and how much ram do you need or whant. Some people just use for social media and flex for this people 6gb ram is enough.
        But when you play a game with graphics or you give him some tasks the difference is huge.
        Android need more power.

          NixxxoN, 30 May 2022Xiaomi 12 is definitely larger, thicker and heavier. S22 is... moreSorry bro.

            NixxxoN, 30 May 2022Xiaomi 12 is definitely larger, thicker and heavier. S22 is... morePlease excuse me for my bipolarity, I do think that S22 has a big enough battery for its compact size. Keep scrolling down, you will see that I wrote this comment:
            "Listen here, people say the Pixel 6a has a big battery, but the 6a couldn't fit 4500 mAh battery (only 4410 mAh). The S22 is smaller than 6a even though they have the same dimensions (you can check). In fact, hilariously, the 6a's dimensions is bigger than the S21, which has a bigger screen. S22 has wireless charging, which mind you takes up a lot of space. If the Pixel 5 axed wireless charging, they could have put a bigger battery. The S22 has the Snapdragon 8 Gen 1, which is infamous for overheating, hence it needs a big cooling space (something the S22 doesn't have). AND it has a glass back, which is thicker than plastic."

              NixxxoN, 30 May 2022I have an S21 and it lasts easily 3 full days without charg... morecorrect. It doesn't have an ip rating either

                Anonymous, 15 May 20226gb ram android ? Dude what are you smoking ? We are talkin... moreMan you are clueless about how phones or computers work in general

                  RandyRiffin, 30 May 2022Sure, you shouldn't use your phone that much, but havi... moreNo matter what, I am going to charge my phone once a day. And that is at night while I'm sleeping. Unless it's the few times a year I leave the phone off the charger, to see how long it will last. And this weekend was one of those.

                  I haven't used my S22 SD much this weekend, and it's gone two days, so far, without charging. I thought I would be able to run the battery down to zero, but Samsung has improved the efficiency of the battery with the updates. So I'll put it on the wireless charger tonight, To make sure it's fully charged in the morning, when I go back to work.

                    • J
                    • JH
                    • gLZ
                    • 30 May 2022

                    NixxxoN, 30 May 2022I have an S21 and it lasts easily 3 full days without charg... moreI know my S21 FE doesn't have a small battery, but when it first started out with it's 93h endurance rating, it didn't feel like it was ever gonna get better. It did! The Samsung software has learnt what I use and when I use it and the android software has become more efficient. Most phones these days will have bigger batteries than this. What uses most of your battery? The screen! The bigger the screen the more power it'll use so the bigger the battery HAS to be.

                      • N
                      • NixxxoN
                      • Q@P
                      • 30 May 2022

                      RandyRiffin, 30 May 2022Xiaomi 12 has glass back, wireless charging coil, 8 Gen 1 c... moreXiaomi 12 is definitely larger, thicker and heavier. S22 is the smallest android flagship on the market and 3700mah is very reasonable for its size, so please stop bashing small phones, they are a rare thing nowadays. If you want a huge battery buy a huge phone, it is that simple

                        • N
                        • NixxxoN
                        • Q@P
                        • 30 May 2022

                        RandyRiffin, 30 May 2022Sure, you shouldn't use your phone that much, but havi... moreI have an S21 and it lasts easily 3 full days without charging. S22 is 95% as good. Stop saying this dont have good battery, otherwise you are lying. If you want to play games in a crazy manner (many hours a day) you don't buy a compact phone, period.
                        The xiaomi you mentioned is not as complete as the Samsungs, for example, it doesnt have a real triple camera.

                          Boban70, 30 May 2022https://youtu.be/Na2CElqC2wk Where did so much criticism o... moreBasically, if your use the S22 lightly, it will last longer than S21. But if you use it heavily for games or camera, it eats through like crazy. This is a trend with phones with small batteries and powerful chipsets.

                            LMF5000, 30 May 2022Recently got this phone, and a few days in I'm very di... moreWell get your $200 Redmi Note 11 Pro. It's battery life is amazing and has headphone jack with charger in the box

                              NixxxoN, 30 May 2022It's not that he's a light user, its you that are... moreSure, you shouldn't use your phone that much, but having good battery life still has its benefits. You can use your phone for 2 days instead of one, and won't have to charge it as often. Just because you don't need to use your phone as much, that's not an excuse for poor battery life of a phone (whether it be optimisation or the lack of effort to put a large enough a battery).

                                Furkan, 29 May 2022I have read that there may be 4500 mah for Samsung S23 hope... moreXiaomi 12 has glass back, wireless charging coil, 8 Gen 1 cooling, 6.28 inch screen with a 4500 mAh. Sure, the S22 might have a smaller 6.1 inch screen, but it should still have 4100 mAh.

                                  • N
                                  • NixxxoN
                                  • Q@P
                                  • 30 May 2022

                                  Boban70, 30 May 2022https://youtu.be/Na2CElqC2wk Where did so much criticism o... moreAlso take a look at S21 in the video... It has a sim card! So it automatically consumes more battery for the signal. The S22 hasn't.

                                    • N
                                    • NixxxoN
                                    • Q@P
                                    • 30 May 2022

                                    Boban70, 30 May 2022https://youtu.be/Na2CElqC2wk Where did so much criticism o... moreMost of those comments are anti samsung trolls that work for a competition brand.
                                    They dont own the phone and they don't know what they are talking about, just trash talk and bad commenting, as simple as this.
                                    Also, like, people complaining about lack of audio jack or microSD tray are nonsense, because thats the trend of the vast majority of flagships and the specs show it perfectly.

                                    Having said that, the video may be deceptive since the older S21 modelrs may have one year of usage so the battery doesnt last as much as when they were new.
                                    I know several people who owned both (S21 and S22) and all of them say S22 battery is marginally worse than S21, but still not bad.

                                      https://youtu.be/Na2CElqC2wk
                                      Where did so much criticism of the s22 battery come from if this test shows that it is better than the s21 fe and even the praised s21?

                                        • L
                                        • LMF5000
                                        • 35d
                                        • 30 May 2022

                                        Recently got this phone, and a few days in I'm very disappointed. The box contents were very bare - just the phone, a USB-C to USB-C cable, and a metal pin to release the SIM tray. No charger and no USB-to-3.5mm audio adapter. Quite skimpy for a supposed flagship phone costing €930. There are phones half the price that come with a full complement of accessories. To add insult to injury, the 3.5mm adapter I bought separately doesn't work - the phone just says USB accessory unsupported and no audio comes out. I hope I won't have to buy the overpriced Samsung-branded ones.

                                        But the biggest disappointment is the battery life. It eats through battery like a laptop from the 1990s. Fresh out of the box, no apps installed, just going through the settings menus and doing light browsing, the phone was getting hot and losing 2% battery life every minute. It's calmed down a little now that I've turned on battery saver mode, losing 1% maybe every two minutes during use, but still barely makes it through the day. It even loses almost 10% sitting idle overnight.